We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantástica Experiecia” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of El Artesano Wine and Cheese Restaurant

El Artesano Wine and Cheese Restaurant
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: European, Wine Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Punta Uva, Costa Rica
Level Contributor
119 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
“Fantástica Experiecia”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 26, 2013

Reservations here really are recommended as El Artisano is only open for lunch on weekdays. I tried showing up on one occasion and no one answered the gates even though a guide and tourists went in just ahead of me. On my second try I had success – so do try to telephone ahead to reserve one of only three dining oases available.

I believe the owner trained in Australia and has travelled all over the world. This was my only North American restaurant meal since arriving in San Juan/Pedro la Laguna and a real treat. The prices are 10-30Q higher than what I see quoted here on T.A. but who cares?

This is an absolute paradise on the shore of San Juan. With Italian opera playing quietly in the background, set amidst a lovely garden and place settings reflecting great attention to detail, this venue serves the best wine on Lago Atitlan and I just really needed some cheese and a glass of vino that doesn’t double as paint-thinner.

All of the cuisine at El Artisano is organic and, the owner told me, there is also a spa on site using only natural, chemical-free products for you spa ladies out there.

There is a sauna and pool, additionally, if you happen to bring your swim-suit to lunch!

All of the excellent reviews for this establishment are well earned. San Juan is a hidden gem on Atitlan that is of no interest to the party-crowd and for that reason, I have loved my time here.

El Artisano is a splurge you absolutely will not regret.

Buen provecho to future visitors and thank you to the chef or a lovely luncheon experience after a week spent studying. Excellent work! :)

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank SocklessJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

92 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    85
    4
    0
    1
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Mind blowing by the water”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 9, 2013 via mobile

I have lived at Lago for 5 months, and this is the diamond of restaurants around the lake. I don't know what I love more-the cheese or the owner's commitment to keeping a quality and small establishment while treating his customers as well as his cheese. Take a right on the footpath along the water from the dock for 5 minutes, it will be on your left. Don't miss this amazing, sweet little gem.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Mariajackson90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dayton, Ohio
Level Contributor
27 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Absolutely Wonderful”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 9, 2013

Artesano is a gem. If you love good food and you visit Lago Atitlan, you must stop by for some wine and cheese. Prices are reasonable and after savoring the 17 different types of amazing cheese, you may even want to pay more than the listed price. It's that good!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Michael M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Panajachel, Guatemala
Level Contributor
20 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Fabuloso!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 17, 2013

We dined today with a freguent visitor and friend of Dietrich. Ted, quided us with careful choices from the menue. We started with the cheese plate and a lovely Chilean cabernet. We followed with the three of us selecting the tuna plate, the salmon plate and the anchoy, artichoke, roasted peppers, olives, capers fondue as it comes warming over a candle. I could not finish that, my meal of choice, and thought to take it home and pour it over pasta. Voila! Truly a Tuscan treat. Sensational! Dietrich, please consider adding pasta to compliment your imaginative creations. A dining treat you will not believe available in Lago Atitlan area.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank larry B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Pedro La Laguna, Guatemala
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Perfection in rural Guatemala...”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 2, 2013

The sweetest family, the best cheese, good wine, incredibly reasonable prices, (90quetzales/$13 for a giant platter for two, stuffed with 20 different cheeses, delicious honey, fig marmalade, an assortment of nuts, etc) - this place really is a delightful surprise.

Bookings recommended, and when full, (and that can mean just around 15 people), service may be a bit slow, but relax, enjoy the garden, and be grateful you've found this gem of a restaurant.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Doron K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed El Artesano Wine and Cheese Restaurant also viewed

San Juan la Laguna, Lake Atitlan
San Juan la Laguna, Lake Atitlan
 
San Juan la Laguna, Lake Atitlan
San Pedro La Laguna, Lake Atitlan
 
San Pedro La Laguna, Lake Atitlan
 

Been to El Artesano Wine and Cheese Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing