We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“New Year Gala Ball - Customer service”
1 of 5 bubbles Review of Balbirnie House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Balbirnie House
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Markinch
Certificate of Excellence
Falkland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“New Year Gala Ball - Customer service”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 27, 2013

If you like an elegant venue and a New Year Ball with great food and a good band then Balbirnie is for you.
However, if like us you believe £110 per person entitles you to make both positive and critical comment where due and do not want to be spied upon (sorry, observed) then avoid at all costs.
The New Year count down to midnight is the main feature at parties and events the world over but was missed by close to two minutes at this event. Some time later I commented on our disappointment to the Master of Ceremonies and advised I would e-mail accordingly but when I did I was astounded at the reply in which I was advised that our party had been 'observed' for the rest of our time there.
Our party was 'observed' to:
use mobile devices at the table between 12.15 and 1.15 - we sent text New Year greetings to friends and family as did many others, network congestion meant several re-sends.
did not partake of the dancing - dancing was indeed limited, one of our party had had open heart surgery, one a recent hip replacement and one a foot injury
depart well before the evening concluded - we had to be elsewhere
The champagne and canapes reception was poor as mentioned in another review, champagne service stopped because 'some' guests put hands over glasses and the canapes ran out.
I remain stunned by the response to the e-mail comments on our experience and believe the co-owners who involved themselves in an e-mail exchange on my them should learn to accept the critical with the positive comments and not use terms such as "an individual brimming with seasonal ill will" to a guest whose experience was lacking.
We will not be paying guests at the Balbirnie House Hotel in the future.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank NS_at_AP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

789 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    531
    136
    73
    32
    17
See reviews for
187
361
5
61
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (138)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Uttoxeter
Level Contributor
117 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 26, 2013

First of all: The hotel is old.
Once that's borne in mind, the hotel takes on a whole new bunch of potential positives.
The grandeur is I guess the biggest pull for this hotel. The wide drive, doorways and corridors hark back to a more splendid time.
The service is good, but doesn't quite match the hotel's grandness. It looks as though the owners are trying to save costs.

The restaurant is better than good and the downstairs Bistro is cosy and suitable for small groups, with excellent food and a bar.

Room Tip: Accept the point that the hotel is old and don't expect the floors not to creak a little. It'...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank UttoxeterPedro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nicholas R, Owner at Balbirnie House, responded to this review, March 13, 2013
Hello Pedro, and many thanks for your 4 star review, very happy indeed with the overview and generalities, especially highlighting that The Orangery is more than good! On behalf of all at Balbirnie, our sincere gratitude.

However, your comment about cutting costs seems rather mis-placed. Especially in the context that over recent weeks we have made the largest introduction of antiques, new furniture, and fine artwork that we have ever made, in over 20 years!!!??? Additionally, during 2012 we maintained a really good program of re-upholstering and refurbishing, decorating and re-painting., I can say myself that the house is currently looking better than it ever has in history.

That program of investment continues, maintaining Balbirnie as is, is a labour of love!

We have never ever had to close for a refurbishment, as we have always maintained a constant program of investment.

It may well stagger you Pedro, but I can happily inform that over the last 15 years or so, we have very proudly written cheques for such constant investment into maintaining and improving the very fabric of our assets at Balbirnie, to the tune of somewhere circa 5 million pounds.

To read a further selection of our monthly guestbook comments and reviews, from guests known to have stayed in our hotel, or who have visited as a guest, please do take just a few moments to visit our web site.

From the many lovely emails, cards and letters which we receive, and in tandem with our guestbook records, every month we take a selection of those additional comments and place them on our latest news sections. As always, our thanks to Donna Reid from our reception team, who takes the time every month to collate all of those very lovely comments and reviews. These can of course be fully trusted, and accepted as reality.

If there is ever any element of guest dissatisfaction whatsoever, then I would always ask please that any guest with any complaint, no matter how small, contacts me personally to discuss.

Best wishes, Nicholas Russell/ General Manager/ Balbirnie House - 1992 – Present
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
37 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 25, 2013

Stayed here as we were at a wedding. Was brilliant, from the wedding,food and the room. It was all to high standard.
My room (203) was bigger than some of the flats I've had and the breakfast in the morning was excellent.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Brian7381
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nicholas R, Owner at Balbirnie House, responded to this review, March 13, 2013
Hello Brian, many thanks for taking the time to post your 5 Star review. On behalf of all at Balbirnie, our sincere gratitude.

Room 203 is certainly one of our favourites, delighted to read your comments. (We've only just recently added that lovely dark mahogany antique cupboard in the hall, together with the antique rug in the room itself, all is looking really just lovely.)

The room itself is frequently requested by many brides and bridesmaids for 'the night before', as it has wonderful natural daylight from south and east, and also - if we are in the short lead-up to an in-house ceremony, the bridesmaids (but usually not the bride) can be waving to arriving guests from the east windows!

Many thanks, all the best.

To read a further selection of our monthly guestbook comments and reviews, from guests known to have stayed in our hotel, or who have visited as a guest, please do take just a few moments to visit our web site.

From the many lovely emails, cards and letters which we receive, and in tandem with our guestbook records, every month we take a selection of those additional comments and place them on our latest news sections. As always, our thanks to Donna Reid from our reception team, who takes the time every month to collate all of those very lovely comments and reviews. These can of course be fully trusted, and accepted as reality.

If there is ever any element of guest dissatisfaction whatsoever, then I would always ask please that any guest with any complaint, no matter how small, contacts me personally to discuss.

Best wishes, Nicholas Russell/ General Manager/ Balbirnie House - 1992 – Present
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
62 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 24, 2013

We were about to pass on our way towards St Andrews, but it was getting towards lunchtime and we were both hungry so we turned in. The Bistro was closed so (in our gardening clothes) we wandered along to The Orangery Restaurant where we were accorded a friendly and polite welcome, and shown to a table by the window - lovely view of golf course and Firth of Forth with Edinburgh in the distance.
A most varied menu, which you would expect to be expensive, but no! I chose fish and chips, and it was unusually good with a generous helping of cod, expertly cooked to the "just right" stage; and the chips were crisp, fluffy inside, and dry - perfect! I hhad a glass of "house white" which, as often nowadays, proved very good.
My wife had a mushroom risotto and pronounced it very tasty, and an adequate helping.

Room Tip: Plenty of south-facing rooms with the wonderful view (weather permitting ! )
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gm8apx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nicholas R, Owner at Balbirnie House, responded to this review, March 13, 2013
Hello GM8Apx, and many thanks indeed for your 5 Star review. This review is thoroughly well deserved by the look of things, however I am afraid it is not ours, unless you have visited the premises whilst under the influence of hallucinogenic drugs!!!!!!!!!!! Blimey, maybe it was magic mushroom risotto you had?

We do not have a view of The Firth of Forth, or indeed Edinburgh!!!!!!!!!!
We are located as the centrepiece of a 400 acre country park, (landscaped in the style of Capability Brown!), we do have stunning views (with something very different in each season), however our views are out to the stunning parkland vista, over manicured lawns and flowering borders!

Over the years I've read a few interesting comments on TripAdvisor, but this tops the lot!!!

Best wishes, and on behalf of whichever establishment should have received the review, much gratitude for your kind comments!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
scotland
Level Contributor
34 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 15, 2013

My daughter and I stayed on Friday 13th January (not for the first time) We had a fantastic room with great views. Afternoon cream tea was delicious. Dinner was superb. Plenty to choose from at breakfast. If you are looking for a nice quiet time this is the place for you.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank EFBScotland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nicholas R, Owner at Balbirnie House, responded to this review, March 13, 2013
Hello EFB Scotland, and we are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay. On behalf of all at Balbirnie, our sincere gratitude for your 5 Star Review.

Noted as well, you stayed on Friday 13th, a night which can sometimes be a tricky one with which to guarantee consistency :-) !!!

Thank you so much. And you are right, these occasional more peaceful nights at this time of year can be just lovely...

To read a further selection of our monthly guestbook comments and reviews, from guests known to have stayed in our hotel, or who have visited as a guest, please do take just a few moments to visit our web site.

From the many lovely emails, cards and letters which we receive, and in tandem with our guestbook records, every month we take a selection of those additional comments and place them on our latest news sections. As always, our thanks to Donna Reid from our reception team, who takes the time every month to collate all of those very lovely comments and reviews. These can of course be fully trusted, and accepted as reality.

If there is ever any element of guest dissatisfaction whatsoever, then I would always ask please that any guest with any complaint, no matter how small, contacts me personally to discuss.

Best wishes, Nicholas Russell/ General Manager/ Balbirnie House - 1992 – Present
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson, Arizona
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 11, 2013

What a perfect place to stay when in the Fife area. Easy to get to, fantastic seating areas and library bars throughout. Multiple dining choices on site.

This is a beautiful and delightful 18th century Georgian mansion nestled amidst acres of rolling parkland in the heart of Fife. It's a small luxury country house hotel which combines fine food, lovely surroundings and sense of friendly Scottish hospitality.

With 2 restaurants and 8 different private rooms seating small to large groups. Balbirnie offered a wonderful experience.

Room Tip: Corner suites are larger
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fcord
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nicholas R, Owner at Balbirnie House, responded to this review, March 13, 2013
Hello FCord, and our gratitude for such a lovely and kind set of comments, noted from a Senior Reviewer. Thank you so much for your 5 Star review.

'Fabtastic' you say. Well that is totally our new favourite word for 2013!!! Fabulous!

To read a further selection of our monthly guestbook comments and reviews, from guests known to have stayed in our hotel, or who have visited as a guest, please do take just a few moments to visit our web site.

From the many lovely emails, cards and letters which we receive, and in tandem with our guestbook records, every month we take a selection of those additional comments and place them on our latest news sections. As always, our thanks to Donna Reid from our reception team, who takes the time every month to collate all of those very lovely comments and reviews. These can of course be fully trusted, and accepted as reality.

If there is ever any element of guest dissatisfaction whatsoever, then I would always ask please that any guest with any complaint, no matter how small, contacts me personally to discuss.

Best wishes, Nicholas Russell/ General Manager/ Balbirnie House - 1992 – Present
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ireland
Level Contributor
28 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 4, 2013

I was at this hotel for a family wedding along with family. The hotel was set of the main road in a very quiet setting making you think you were in the country. The staff could not have done any more for us, they were fantastic. Food was of a high quality and the hotel left us all feeling very relaxed. I would stay at this hotel again if visiting this part of the world

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Irishrambler7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nicholas R, Owner at Balbirnie House, responded to this review, March 13, 2013
Hello Irish Rambler, many thanks indeed for your kind comments. Delighted to hear that you enjoyed the wedding.

I would mention in passing, it is always lovely for anyone to visit Balbirnie when we are unusually 'Tranquill' - that can happen sometimes, but as a hotel we can also very routinely be catering for 300 to 400 in-house guests on any given evening, using multiple areas, Bistro, Orangery, Ballroom, private Special Event rooms etc

To read a further selection of our monthly guestbook comments and reviews, from guests known to have stayed in our hotel, or who have visited as a guest, please do take just a few moments to visit our web site.

From the many lovely emails, cards and letters which we receive, and in tandem with our guestbook records, every month we take a selection of those additional comments and place them on our latest news sections. As always, our thanks to Donna Reid from our reception team, who takes the time every month to collate all of those very lovely comments and reviews. These can of course be fully trusted, and accepted as reality.

If there is ever any element of guest dissatisfaction whatsoever, then I would always ask please that any guest with any complaint, no matter how small, contacts me personally to discuss.

Best wishes, Nicholas Russell/ General Manager/ Balbirnie House - 1992 – Present
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Markinch
2.0 mi away
BEST WESTERN Balgeddie House Hotel
2.7 mi away
Lomond Hills Hotel
Lomond Hills Hotel
#1 of 1 in Freuchie
4.5 of 5 bubbles 534 reviews
1.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Glenrothes
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.5 mi away
Rufflets Hotel
Rufflets Hotel
#2 of 18 in St. Andrews
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,100 reviews
1.9 mi away
Premier Inn Glenrothes Hotel
7.1 mi away
Old Manor Hotel
Old Manor Hotel
#1 of 1 in Lundin Links
4.5 of 5 bubbles 488 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Balbirnie House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Balbirnie House

Property: Balbirnie House
Address: Balbirnie Park, Markinch, Glenrothes KY7 6NR, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Fife > Glenrothes > Markinch
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Markinch
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Balbirnie House 4*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Balbirnie House is a quite unique multi-award winning country house hotel which combines understated luxury with superb service and outstanding value. Widely acknowledged as one of the finest of the privately owned small luxury hotels in Scotland, Balbirnie offers a wonderful experience, whatever the occasion of your visit. Fine food, lovely surroundings and above all a real sense of friendly Scottish hospitality combine to create quite a unique setting for today’s house guests to enjoy. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Balbirnie House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Balbirnie House Hotel Markinch
Balbirnie House Markinch, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing