We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful wedding - such great staff!”
Review of Balbirnie House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Balbirnie House
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Markinch
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 9, 2012

My husband and I live in Edinburgh and when we started looking at wedding venues, never really imagined that we'd end up getting married in Fife - we started our search in the Borders and East Lothian. However, so many venues that we viewed either couldn't accommodate our numbers (110) or were just too over the top - we wanted something special with aspects of gradeur but also something with an intimate feel. Balbirnie had everything we were looking for - the ballroom was grand yet not too over the top plus its huge windows gave a wonderful lightness to the room, even though we got married in November.

We were married on the Saturday in the Orangery, had our reception in the Long Gallery and Bar and our wedding breakfast and evening party in the ballroom. We also had a private dinner for 30 friends and family on the Friday evening. Whilst I initially preferred the Long Gallery as a ceremony venue, it couldn't accommodate our numbers - at first, I was reluctant to have the ceremony in the Orangery, having only ever seen it set up as a restaurant - however, when I went to one of the hotel's wedding open days, it was transformed and so lovely - very classic look. We decorated the room with candles from Ikea - so many guests voluntarily commented on how nice the candles and the room were, many never even realising that it was a restaurant most of the time.

Whilst the venue and the food were fantastic and commented upon by so many of our guests, by far and away the best thing about the venue was the staff. Staff on reception were so helpful and pleasant throughout the wedding and the banqueting manager was superb on the day - so friendly and yet professional; I totally trusted her. The real star, however, was Meghan, our Wedding Co-ordinator - she was great; lovely to deal with, realiable, prompt at responding, happy to be flexible and work to our requirements, happy to meet our ever-changing and last minutes requests and had such attention to detail. Having organised dozens of events at work, I can be a bit of control freak and yet totally trusted Meghan with our wedding. Even when Meghan was out of the office, someone else from the hotel was sure to respond to our emails and help. They really were a pleasure to deal with.

This is my first Trip Advisor review and it probably sounds a bit gushing - however, it really is a great hotel for weddings and would highly recommend it!

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sarah C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rosemary S, Owner at Balbirnie House, responded to this reviewResponded February 29, 2012

Hello Sarah,

Many thanks for taking the time to write, all of us at Balbirnie House very much appreciate and value your comments, and the time which you have taken to provide your feedback about your Special Day at Balbirnie House. I will arrange to circulate your comments to the entire team at Balbirnie.

As I always say with regard to weddings especially – ‘Today is not a dress rehearsal for tomorrow’ – it is heartening therefore to hear that we have achieved what we set out to do.

I would certainly have to also especially agree about all of your comments about the very lovely Meghan Davies, who is an absolute star at Balbirnie!!! Thank you so much for your kindness, it really is a reward to the entire team here at Balbirnie, to hear that we have delivered the goods.

To read a further selection of our monthly guestbook comments and reviews, from guests known to have stayed in our hotel, or who have visited as a guest, please do take just a few moments to visit our web site.
From the many lovely emails, cards and letters which we receive, and in tandem with our guestbook records, every month we take a selection of those additional comments and place them on our latest news sections. As always, our thanks to Donna Reid from our reception team, who takes the time every month to collate all of those very lovely comments and reviews. These can of course be fully trusted, and accepted as reality.

If there is ever any element of guest dissatisfaction whatsoever, then I would always ask please that any guest with any complaint, no matter how small, contacts me personally to discuss. My email- nicholas@balbirnie.co.uk Should you wish to personally discuss- My personal mobile 07768 958041

Best wishes, Nicholas Russell/ Hotel Manager/ Balbirnie House/ 1992 - Present

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (904)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

818 - 824 of 904 reviews

Reviewed December 26, 2011

I stayed at the hotel for one night on a dinner, bed and breakfast rate.

The hotel is beautiful. The best thing is definitely the staff that work here, they really do go out their way to make the experience special and individually bespoke to each guest.

It is clearly within the culture of the hotel that all staff are encouraged to act and deal with customers in such a manner. Very impressed by this.

The rooms were lovely; they had a lot of character, were well appointed and very clean. The bed was especially comfortable.

Prices for the hotel were also reasonable and the food was of good quality. Particularly enjoyed the seting of the restaurant and lounge area.

Bathroom was very clean and had a powerful shower and bath combined.

Would definitely stay here again and was very pleased with the whole experience; the service levels are difficult to beat.

Only thing that wasn't present was WIFI which may put off business customers as there is also a very poor, intermittent mobile phone signal in most of the hotel. There is wired internet access at a small charge if you wish to connect using a laptop.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank elninomagico
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rosemary S, Owner at Balbirnie House, responded to this reviewResponded February 29, 2012

Many thanks for taking the time to write about your Christmas stay, all of us at Balbirnie House very much appreciate and value your comments, and the time which you have taken to provide your feedback. I will arrange to circulate your comments to the entire team at Balbirnie.

We were delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay. That is so very kind of you to mention, especially set against the backdrop of such a special time of year.

I am personally, as a hotelier, additionally so very appreciative of the comments which you have passed about members of our team, it is special to know when we have exceeded guest expectations.

As regards WiFi- I mention in passing that this is fully installed (and is Complimentary) in all Public areas.

Best wishes, Nicholas Russell/ Hotel Manager/ Balbirnie House/ 1992 - Present

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 26, 2011

Fantastic stay here at Balbirnie over Christmas. Pity there are not more here for the latter part of the stay. WE booked the suite, which has really suited us, but bedroom huge anyway. Food excellent staff attentive and surroundings beautiful. Went for a walk in the grounds this morning.
Recommended.

Room Tip: No swimming pool or spa yet. Wifi worked in room as well as public areas, although not guaranteed...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MytripsLincolnshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rosemary S, Owner at Balbirnie House, responded to this reviewResponded February 29, 2012

Many thanks for taking the time to write about your Christmas stay, all of us at Balbirnie House very much appreciate and value your comments, and the time which you have taken to provide your feedback. I will arrange to circulate your comments to the entire team at Balbirnie.

We were delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay. That is so very kind of you to mention, especially set against the backdrop of such a special time of year.

Best wishes, Nicholas Russell/ Hotel Manager/ Balbirnie House/ 1992 - Present

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 23, 2011

My wife and I stayed for one nights DB&B in December 2011. The hotel staff and the ambience of the place made it an enjoyable stay as did the excellent food. We will visit again.

The hotel built in the 1770's is privately owned with a great deal of effort being evident on guest comfort. There are several great lounges for guests, a bar as well as a top class restaurant and a bistro. Our room was large, well decorated and had a nice bathroom, lots of character. The bar adjacent to one of the lounges is like a library with nice chairs and sofa's.

Although the hotel has a ballroom we found that the Christmas party night that was in full swing in it did not impinge in us in any way with the noise levels from it being at zero within other parts of the establishment.

Well worth a stay if you want to come to Fife

Room Tip: Get a room facing the gardens
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sheena59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rosemary S, Owner at Balbirnie House, responded to this reviewResponded February 29, 2012

Hello Sheena59,

Many thanks for taking the time to write, all of us at Balbirnie House very much appreciate and value your comments, and the time which you have taken to provide your feedback. I will arrange to circulate your comments to the entire team at Balbirnie.

We were delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay. That is so kind of you to say.

Best wishes, Nicholas Russell/ Hotel Manager/ Balbirnie House/ 1992 - Present

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 16, 2011

Yet again Balbirnie does not fail to impress. The staff are delightful, a few new faces that are all very helpful and pleasant. Balbirnie is an escape from the world.

  • Stayed: October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tourist00708
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rosemary S, Manager at Balbirnie House, responded to this reviewResponded February 29, 2012

Well then Tourist 007,

Many thanks for taking the time to write, all of us at Balbirnie House very much appreciate and value your comments, and the time which you have taken to provide your feedback. I will arrange to circulate your comments to the entire team at Balbirnie.

An escape from the world? That is so kind of you to convey such a lovely comment.

Best wishes, Nicholas Russell/ Hotel Manager/ Balbirnie House/ 1992 - Present

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 3, 2011

Our son and now daughter-in-law chose this hotel for a wedding, including a night before meal for 35, wedding day for 140 and breakfasts for those staying over. Excellence was promised and delivered, in a lovely elegant setting which was comfortable and unintimidating. Staff were slick and efficient in seeing 100 day guests fed with lovely hot food - my personal favourite was the light crispy apple pie with ice cream.
When problems arose, staff owned them and sorted them out quickly and pleasantly, and responded well to the very limited suggestions for improvement. They even managed to deliver dry sunshine which meant lovely photos in the autumnal grounds. Hard to see how the day could have been better.

Stayed: September 2011, traveled with family
1  Thank 345Susan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rosemary S, Owner at Balbirnie House, responded to this reviewResponded February 29, 2012

Hello Susan,

Many thanks for taking the time to write, all of us at Balbirnie House very much appreciate and value your comments, and the time which you have taken to provide your feedback. I will arrange to circulate your comments to the entire team at Balbirnie.

We are absolutely delighted to hear that the wedding went as planned. Lovely that you made it outside too for the photos, we are blessed when the sun shines for a wedding.

To read a further selection of our monthly guestbook comments and reviews, from guests known to have stayed in our hotel, or who have visited as a guest, please do take just a few moments to visit our web site.

From the many lovely emails, cards and letters which we receive, and in tandem with our guestbook records, every month we take a selection of those additional comments and place them on our latest news sections. As always, our thanks to Donna Reid from our reception team, who takes the time every month to collate all of those very lovely comments and reviews. These can of course be fully trusted, and accepted as reality.

If there is ever any element of guest dissatisfaction whatsoever, then I would always ask please that any guest with any complaint, no matter how small, contacts me personally to discuss. My email- nicholas@balbirnie.co.uk Should you wish to personally discuss- My mobile 07768 958041

Best wishes, Nicholas Russell/ Hotel Manager/ Balbirnie House/ 1992 - Present

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 20, 2011

Much as expected for the price.lovely big room.staff very polite and efficient.good selection of breakfast food.the bistro was quite small, and not as up market as expected, but good non the less. Nothing was too much trouble, and enjoyed my stay there.

  • Stayed: August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mofurum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rosemary S, Owner at Balbirnie House, responded to this reviewResponded February 29, 2012

Hello Moforum,

Many thanks for taking the time to write, all of us at Balbirnie House very much appreciate and value your comments, and the time which you have taken to provide your feedback. I will arrange to circulate your comments to the entire team at Balbirnie.
To read a further selection of our monthly guestbook comments and reviews, from guests known to have stayed in our hotel, or who have visited as a guest, please do take just a few moments to visit our web site.

From the many lovely emails, cards and letters which we receive, and in tandem with our guestbook records, every month we take a selection of those additional comments and place them on our latest news sections. As always, our thanks to Donna Reid from our reception team, who takes the time every month to collate all of those very lovely comments and reviews. These can of course be fully trusted, and accepted as reality.

If there is ever any element of guest dissatisfaction whatsoever, then I would always ask please that any guest with any complaint, no matter how small, contacts me personally to discuss. My email- nicholas@balbirnie.co.uk Should you wish to personally discuss- My mobile 07768 958041

Best wishes, Nicholas Russell/ Hotel Manager/ Balbirnie House/ 1992 - Present

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Markinch
1.9 mi away
Best Western Balgeddie House Hotel
2.7 mi away
Lomond Hills Hotel
Lomond Hills Hotel
#1 of 1 in Freuchie
590 reviews
7.1 mi away
Old Manor Hotel
Old Manor Hotel
#1 of 1 in Lundin Links
560 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Golden Acorn Hotel
Golden Acorn Hotel
#6 of 9 in Glenrothes
217 reviews
13.6 mi away
Balmule House
Balmule House
#4 of 12 in Dunfermline
138 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Gilvenbank Hotel
The Gilvenbank Hotel
#8 of 9 in Glenrothes
136 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Balbirnie House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Balbirnie House

Address: Balbirnie Park, Markinch, Glenrothes KY7 6NR, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Fife > Glenrothes > Markinch
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Markinch
Price Range: $131 - $286 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Balbirnie House 4*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Balbirnie House is a quite unique multi-award winning country house hotel which combines understated luxury with superb service and outstanding value. Widely acknowledged as one of the finest of the privately owned small luxury hotels in Scotland, Balbirnie offers a wonderful experience, whatever the occasion of your visit. Fine food, lovely surroundings and above all a real sense of friendly Scottish hospitality combine to create quite a unique setting for today’s house guests to enjoy. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Balbirnie House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Balbirnie House Hotel Markinch
Balbirnie House Markinch, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing