We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful setting, lots of character”
Review of Balbirnie House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Balbirnie House
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Markinch
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 26, 2011

I stayed at the hotel for one night on a dinner, bed and breakfast rate.

The hotel is beautiful. The best thing is definitely the staff that work here, they really do go out their way to make the experience special and individually bespoke to each guest.

It is clearly within the culture of the hotel that all staff are encouraged to act and deal with customers in such a manner. Very impressed by this.

The rooms were lovely; they had a lot of character, were well appointed and very clean. The bed was especially comfortable.

Prices for the hotel were also reasonable and the food was of good quality. Particularly enjoyed the seting of the restaurant and lounge area.

Bathroom was very clean and had a powerful shower and bath combined.

Would definitely stay here again and was very pleased with the whole experience; the service levels are difficult to beat.

Only thing that wasn't present was WIFI which may put off business customers as there is also a very poor, intermittent mobile phone signal in most of the hotel. There is wired internet access at a small charge if you wish to connect using a laptop.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank elninomagico
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rosemary S, Owner at Balbirnie House, responded to this reviewResponded February 29, 2012

Many thanks for taking the time to write about your Christmas stay, all of us at Balbirnie House very much appreciate and value your comments, and the time which you have taken to provide your feedback. I will arrange to circulate your comments to the entire team at Balbirnie.

We were delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay. That is so very kind of you to mention, especially set against the backdrop of such a special time of year.

I am personally, as a hotelier, additionally so very appreciative of the comments which you have passed about members of our team, it is special to know when we have exceeded guest expectations.

As regards WiFi- I mention in passing that this is fully installed (and is Complimentary) in all Public areas.

Best wishes, Nicholas Russell/ Hotel Manager/ Balbirnie House/ 1992 - Present

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (852)
There are newer reviews for Balbirnie House
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

769 - 775 of 853 reviews

Reviewed December 26, 2011

Fantastic stay here at Balbirnie over Christmas. Pity there are not more here for the latter part of the stay. WE booked the suite, which has really suited us, but bedroom huge anyway. Food excellent staff attentive and surroundings beautiful. Went for a walk in the grounds this morning.
Recommended.

Room Tip: No swimming pool or spa yet. Wifi worked in room as well as public areas, although not guaranteed...
  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MytripsLincolnshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rosemary S, Owner at Balbirnie House, responded to this reviewResponded February 29, 2012

Many thanks for taking the time to write about your Christmas stay, all of us at Balbirnie House very much appreciate and value your comments, and the time which you have taken to provide your feedback. I will arrange to circulate your comments to the entire team at Balbirnie.

We were delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay. That is so very kind of you to mention, especially set against the backdrop of such a special time of year.

Best wishes, Nicholas Russell/ Hotel Manager/ Balbirnie House/ 1992 - Present

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 23, 2011

My wife and I stayed for one nights DB&B in December 2011. The hotel staff and the ambience of the place made it an enjoyable stay as did the excellent food. We will visit again.

The hotel built in the 1770's is privately owned with a great deal of effort being evident on guest comfort. There are several great lounges for guests, a bar as well as a top class restaurant and a bistro. Our room was large, well decorated and had a nice bathroom, lots of character. The bar adjacent to one of the lounges is like a library with nice chairs and sofa's.

Although the hotel has a ballroom we found that the Christmas party night that was in full swing in it did not impinge in us in any way with the noise levels from it being at zero within other parts of the establishment.

Well worth a stay if you want to come to Fife

Room Tip: Get a room facing the gardens
  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sheena59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rosemary S, Owner at Balbirnie House, responded to this reviewResponded February 29, 2012

Hello Sheena59,

Many thanks for taking the time to write, all of us at Balbirnie House very much appreciate and value your comments, and the time which you have taken to provide your feedback. I will arrange to circulate your comments to the entire team at Balbirnie.

We were delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay. That is so kind of you to say.

Best wishes, Nicholas Russell/ Hotel Manager/ Balbirnie House/ 1992 - Present

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 16, 2011

Yet again Balbirnie does not fail to impress. The staff are delightful, a few new faces that are all very helpful and pleasant. Balbirnie is an escape from the world.

  • Stayed: October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tourist00708
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rosemary S, Manager at Balbirnie House, responded to this reviewResponded February 29, 2012

Well then Tourist 007,

Many thanks for taking the time to write, all of us at Balbirnie House very much appreciate and value your comments, and the time which you have taken to provide your feedback. I will arrange to circulate your comments to the entire team at Balbirnie.

An escape from the world? That is so kind of you to convey such a lovely comment.

Best wishes, Nicholas Russell/ Hotel Manager/ Balbirnie House/ 1992 - Present

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 3, 2011

Our son and now daughter-in-law chose this hotel for a wedding, including a night before meal for 35, wedding day for 140 and breakfasts for those staying over. Excellence was promised and delivered, in a lovely elegant setting which was comfortable and unintimidating. Staff were slick and efficient in seeing 100 day guests fed with lovely hot food - my personal favourite was the light crispy apple pie with ice cream.
When problems arose, staff owned them and sorted them out quickly and pleasantly, and responded well to the very limited suggestions for improvement. They even managed to deliver dry sunshine which meant lovely photos in the autumnal grounds. Hard to see how the day could have been better.

Stayed: September 2011, traveled with family
1  Thank 345Susan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rosemary S, Owner at Balbirnie House, responded to this reviewResponded February 29, 2012

Hello Susan,

Many thanks for taking the time to write, all of us at Balbirnie House very much appreciate and value your comments, and the time which you have taken to provide your feedback. I will arrange to circulate your comments to the entire team at Balbirnie.

We are absolutely delighted to hear that the wedding went as planned. Lovely that you made it outside too for the photos, we are blessed when the sun shines for a wedding.

To read a further selection of our monthly guestbook comments and reviews, from guests known to have stayed in our hotel, or who have visited as a guest, please do take just a few moments to visit our web site.

From the many lovely emails, cards and letters which we receive, and in tandem with our guestbook records, every month we take a selection of those additional comments and place them on our latest news sections. As always, our thanks to Donna Reid from our reception team, who takes the time every month to collate all of those very lovely comments and reviews. These can of course be fully trusted, and accepted as reality.

If there is ever any element of guest dissatisfaction whatsoever, then I would always ask please that any guest with any complaint, no matter how small, contacts me personally to discuss. My email- nicholas@balbirnie.co.uk Should you wish to personally discuss- My mobile 07768 958041

Best wishes, Nicholas Russell/ Hotel Manager/ Balbirnie House/ 1992 - Present

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 20, 2011

Much as expected for the price.lovely big room.staff very polite and efficient.good selection of breakfast food.the bistro was quite small, and not as up market as expected, but good non the less. Nothing was too much trouble, and enjoyed my stay there.

  • Stayed: August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mofurum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rosemary S, Owner at Balbirnie House, responded to this reviewResponded February 29, 2012

Hello Moforum,

Many thanks for taking the time to write, all of us at Balbirnie House very much appreciate and value your comments, and the time which you have taken to provide your feedback. I will arrange to circulate your comments to the entire team at Balbirnie.
To read a further selection of our monthly guestbook comments and reviews, from guests known to have stayed in our hotel, or who have visited as a guest, please do take just a few moments to visit our web site.

From the many lovely emails, cards and letters which we receive, and in tandem with our guestbook records, every month we take a selection of those additional comments and place them on our latest news sections. As always, our thanks to Donna Reid from our reception team, who takes the time every month to collate all of those very lovely comments and reviews. These can of course be fully trusted, and accepted as reality.

If there is ever any element of guest dissatisfaction whatsoever, then I would always ask please that any guest with any complaint, no matter how small, contacts me personally to discuss. My email- nicholas@balbirnie.co.uk Should you wish to personally discuss- My mobile 07768 958041

Best wishes, Nicholas Russell/ Hotel Manager/ Balbirnie House/ 1992 - Present

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 10, 2011

Driviing up the tree lined entrtance to Balbirnie house my expectations for this hotel were raised. I wasn't disppointed, It is an old georgian mansion House surrounded by parhland and golf course. Very secluded. I got a very good deal for double at single rate of 65 pounds from hotels.com.
Huge vaulted ceilings and old furniture, VERY comfortable beds. The bar is the old drawing room and library. While the hotel excels in decor the service doesn't quite keep up. Although the bar was very quiet it should still have been staffed instead of having someone occasionally look in to see if anyone needed service. I loved the old books, though.
I did not sample the food but the menu looked appealing. Would I go back? Oh-yes!

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Neil5kye
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BalbirnieAdmin, Owner at Balbirnie House, responded to this reviewResponded September 12, 2011

Hello Vacman, and great to see that you were able to take advantage of one of our random late minute special offers, phenomenal value I am sure you will agree.

Sorry that you felt a little let down for bar service. All you have to do though is ask at reception, and we page the member of staff who is on duty. I hope you'd agree that it does not make economic sense to have someone permanently in the Library Bar on occasions which are relatively quiet.

Many thanks for taking the time to write, all of us at Balbirnie House very much appreciate and value your comments, and the time which you have taken to provide your feedback. I will arrange to circulate your comments to the entire team at Balbirnie.
Like any hotel, we’ll never be able to say that we get things 100% right all of the time, given the complex logistics of operating one of the most truly vibrant hotels of its size in the UK, but we certainly try, and it is most encouraging to hear about it when do deliver exactly as envisaged and planned. Our lives at Balbirnie certainly revolve around looking after guests, and it is so nice to hear about it when nice feedback arrives.
To read a further selection of our monthly guestbook comments and reviews, from guests known to have stayed in our hotel, or who have visited as a guest, please do take just a few moments to visit our web site.
From the many lovely emails, cards and letters which we receive, and in tandem with our guestbook records, every month we take a selection of those additional comments and place them on our latest news sections. As always, our thanks to Donna Reid from our reception team, who takes the time every month to collate all of those very lovely comments and reviews. These can of course be fully trusted, and accepted as reality.

If there is ever any element of guest dissatisfaction whatsoever, then I would always ask please that any guest with any complaint, no matter how small, contacts me personally to discuss. My email- nicholas@balbirnie.co.uk Should you wish to personally discuss- My mobile 07768 958041
Best wishes, Nicholas Russell/ Hotel Manager/ Balbirnie House/ 1992 - Present

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Markinch
1.9 mi away
Best Western Balgeddie House Hotel
2.7 mi away
Lomond Hills Hotel
Lomond Hills Hotel
#1 of 1 in Freuchie
575 reviews
1.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Glenrothes
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.1 mi away
Old Manor Hotel
Old Manor Hotel
#1 of 1 in Lundin Links
530 reviews
1.8 mi away
Travelodge Glenrothes
Travelodge Glenrothes
#2 of 9 in Glenrothes
201 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Gilvenbank Hotel
The Gilvenbank Hotel
#8 of 9 in Glenrothes
131 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Balbirnie House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Balbirnie House

Address: Balbirnie Park, Markinch, Glenrothes KY7 6NR, Scotland
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Fife > Glenrothes > Markinch
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Markinch
Price Range: $160 - $276 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Balbirnie House 4*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Balbirnie House is a quite unique multi-award winning country house hotel which combines understated luxury with superb service and outstanding value. Widely acknowledged as one of the finest of the privately owned small luxury hotels in Scotland, Balbirnie offers a wonderful experience, whatever the occasion of your visit. Fine food, lovely surroundings and above all a real sense of friendly Scottish hospitality combine to create quite a unique setting for today’s house guests to enjoy. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Orbitz, Hotwire, Agoda, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Balbirnie House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Balbirnie House Hotel Markinch
Balbirnie House Markinch, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing