We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Balbirnie House - is there a word for better than perfect?”
Review of Balbirnie House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Balbirnie House
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Markinch
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 20, 2011

We had our daughter's wedding at the Balbirnie and had the most perfect day imaginable. This hotel has taken weddings to a new level. Their attention to detail from beginning to end ensures that everything goes to plan and their wedding coordinators are so friendly and helpful that they almost become a part of the family.

This is an old hotel that is being looked after so well by its present owners and provides pleasantly comfortable and stunning rooms. Like most old hotels there are so many nooks and crannies that that allow you to find a quiet space if you need it.

We had a meal for the extended family the night before the wedding and the food and hospitality were outstanding. The attention to detail extends to every member of staff and their friendliness obviously reflects the overall management of the hotel.

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jimbop81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BalbirnieAdmin, Owner at Balbirnie House, responded to this reviewResponded July 18, 2011

Hello Jim,
Many thanks for taking the time to write, all of us at Balbirnie House very much appreciate and value your comments, and the time which you have taken to provide your feedback. I will arrange to circulate your comments to the entire team at Balbirnie.
In my 20 years spent thus far personally running and administering the operations within this beautiful old house I can recall many lovely comments from guests, but your own perspective has actually made me feel rather emotional. Frankly it is comments such as these which guide us all in our trade, and which motivate us to try and do even better tomorrow. Sir, on behalf of our entire brigade I thank you sincerely.
We are simply over the moon to hear your comments.
Like any hotel, we’ll never be able to say that we get things 100% right all of the time, given the complex logistics of operating one of the most truly vibrant hotels of its size in the UK, but we certainly try, and it is most encouraging to hear about it when do deliver exactly as envisaged and planned. Our lives at Balbirnie certainly revolve around looking after guests, and it is so nice to hear about it when nice feedback arrives.
To read a further selection of our monthly guestbook comments and reviews, from guests known to have stayed in our hotel, or who have visited as a guest, please do take just a few moments to visit our web site.
From the many lovely emails, cards and letters which we receive, and in tandem with our guestbook records, every month we take a selection of those additional comments and place them on our latest news sections. As always, our thanks to Donna Reid from our reception team, who takes the time every month to collate all of those very lovely comments and reviews. These can of course be fully trusted, and accepted as reality.

If there is ever any element of guest dissatisfaction whatsoever, then I would always ask please that any guest with any complaint, no matter how small, contacts me personally to discuss. My email- nicholas@balbirnie.co.uk Should you wish to personally discuss- My mobile 07768 958041
Best wishes, Nicholas Russell/ Hotel Manager/ Balbirnie House/ 1992 - Present

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (871)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

799 - 805 of 871 reviews

Reviewed February 16, 2011

We had small and intimate wedding at Balbirnie House at the end of October last year. To say our day was special is obviously an understatment but I cant understate enough how, this was in large part, thanks to the staff at Balbirnie House Hotel. Not only did our day go smoothly and as we'd wanted, they exceeded our expectations with attentive service from the staff, help with last minute bridal dilemmas and wonderful food and drink. Our friends and family are still talking about the day and what a wonderful venue Balbirnie proved to be. I would recommend Balbirnie to any bride to be. Exceptional quality in lovely surroundings and with an amazing staff who look after you so very well.

  • Stayed: October 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank HeatherV733
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BalbirnieAdmin, Owner at Balbirnie House, responded to this reviewResponded July 18, 2011

Hello Heather,
Many thanks for taking the time to write, all of us at Balbirnie House very much appreciate and value your comments, and the time which you have taken to provide your feedback. I will arrange to circulate your comments to the entire team at Balbirnie.
We are simply overjoyed to hear that your special day was indeed so special. You say ‘Exceptional quality in lovely surroundings’, well that is just so nice to hear.
Like any hotel, we’ll never be able to say that we get things 100% right all of the time, given the complex logistics of operating one of the most truly vibrant hotels of its size in the UK, but we certainly try, and it is most encouraging to hear about it when do deliver exactly as envisaged and planned. Our lives at Balbirnie certainly revolve around looking after guests, and it is so nice to hear about it when nice feedback arrives.
To read a further selection of our monthly guestbook comments and reviews, from guests known to have stayed in our hotel, or who have visited as a guest, please do take just a few moments to visit our web site.
From the many lovely emails, cards and letters which we receive, and in tandem with our guestbook records, every month we take a selection of those additional comments and place them on our latest news sections. As always, our thanks to Donna Reid from our reception team, who takes the time every month to collate all of those very lovely comments and reviews. These can of course be fully trusted, and accepted as reality.

If there is ever any element of guest dissatisfaction whatsoever, then I would always ask please that any guest with any complaint, no matter how small, contacts me personally to discuss. My email- nicholas@balbirnie.co.uk Should you wish to personally discuss- My mobile 07768 958041
Best wishes, Nicholas Russell/ Hotel Manager/ Balbirnie House/ 1992 - Present

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 7, 2011

Shoddy housekeeping. Cheap toiletries. Hotel more interested in taking wedding bookings it seems. The food was lukewarm and undercooked. Paid £300 for dinner bed & Breakfast and certainly was not worth it. Have stayed here before and would say that it has gone downhill. Having spoken to others since my visit, it seems I am not the only one with this opinion.

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Gemma025
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BalbirnieAdmin, Owner at Balbirnie House, responded to this reviewResponded February 9, 2011

To read a selection of our actual monthly guestbook comments and reviews, from actual guests known to have stayed in our hotel, or who have visited as a guest, please do take just a few moments to visit our web site.

From the many lovely emails, cards and letters we receive, and in tandem with our guestbook records, every month we take a selection of those comments and place them on our latest news sections. As always, our thanks to Donna Reid from our reception team, who takes the time every month to collate all of those very lovely comments and reviews. These can of course be fully trusted, and accepted as reality.

Nicholas Russell

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 4, 2011

Looking through the reviews I can see why some people are disappointed. This is a nice hotel, but it is not the Ritz. Balbirnie House is a Georgian Mansion converted to a hotel. This is a blessing and a curse. Balbirnie maintains that old style charm, but at the same time the building and the location both limit the availability of the amenities and services expected of a modern hotel. On the upside the building is lovely, the beds outstanding, and the food amazing. If you are somebody who likes hiking and country living; the grounds are amazing, with many kilometres of walking trails and the golf course stunning. On the other hand Balbirnie is isolated. It is most closely adjacent to Markinch, which has basically no services and Glenrothes which has a small mall and some local shopping, but still is very much rural Scottish living. On the other hand the hotel is convenient to buses, trains and the motorway, making it an excellent base of operations for exploring this little corner of Scotland.

We were at Balbirnie to attend a wedding, and it is clear to me that the hotel staff take their weddings seriously. The ballroom was stunning, the food divine, and the staff very attentive. All in all the event could not have been better.

The hotel probably is a bit pricey for what you get, and the rooms a little more cramped than a modern hotel, but it is worth a day or two if you like the rural living.

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank NamedePlumes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 25, 2011

We stayed recently and although the hotel is beautiful it is horrendously pricey. You could get lucky and be in one of the rooms in the lower part of the house or you could get unlucky and be on the top floor (300 and up) where the rooms are a lot smaller (some are real B&B size). The decor is fairly outdated and if you're looking for state of the art bathrooms etc you'll be disappointed I'm afraid. The most high tech thing in the room is the telly.

Bar is mighty pricey also. But on a positive note, our breakfast was nice and the public rooms are absolutely beautiful. The staff are very friendly too.

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SquidAndBeans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 27, 2010

We both really enjoyed our visit to attend a wedding at this grand manor house hotel. We were lucky to be allocated the belltower suite on arrival which would normally cost £250 a night but we paid only £100 b&b and it was huge with a separate living room and a great bathroom and huge comfy bed. The staff we met were all friendly and mehmet from turkey who worked the residents night bar was so patient. The wedding meal was very nice and the band great! The setting is idylic and really added to the overall enjoyment of our night.

  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dougie1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 13, 2010

I went here for a friend's wedding and it was the perfect setting. The staff were really friendly and were able to help me with all my questions. They were welcoming too

The decor may be a little old fashioned and not to everyone's taste, but it is a Country House Hotel! Our room was huge and immaculate and the bed fantastic. It wouldn't do it harm to have a little moderinsation around the edges, but I also don't think this distracts from what is a lovely hotel.

The communal areas were very relaxing too, especailly the Library bar.

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jessiclees
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Markinch
1.9 mi away
Best Western Balgeddie House Hotel
7.1 mi away
Old Manor Hotel
Old Manor Hotel
#1 of 1 in Lundin Links
547 reviews
1.8 mi away
Travelodge Glenrothes
Travelodge Glenrothes
#3 of 9 in Glenrothes
207 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Glenrothes
14.5 mi away
Rufflets Hotel
Rufflets Hotel
#2 of 17 in St. Andrews
1,199 reviews
2.7 mi away
Lomond Hills Hotel
Lomond Hills Hotel
#1 of 1 in Freuchie
584 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Balbirnie House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Balbirnie House

Address: Balbirnie Park, Markinch, Glenrothes KY7 6NR, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Fife > Glenrothes > Markinch
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Markinch
Price Range: $123 - $268 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Balbirnie House 4*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Balbirnie House is a quite unique multi-award winning country house hotel which combines understated luxury with superb service and outstanding value. Widely acknowledged as one of the finest of the privately owned small luxury hotels in Scotland, Balbirnie offers a wonderful experience, whatever the occasion of your visit. Fine food, lovely surroundings and above all a real sense of friendly Scottish hospitality combine to create quite a unique setting for today’s house guests to enjoy. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Orbitz, Hotwire, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Balbirnie House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Balbirnie House Hotel Markinch
Balbirnie House Markinch, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing