We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good local based food”

Windmill Restaurant
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $14 - $30
Cuisines: Contemporary, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Reservations
Description: Open all year round. Set in the beautiful village of Burgh-Le-Marsh, Award Winning Windmill Restaurant offers you a fantastic opportunity to sample some of Lincolnshire's finest culinary delights. With the beautiful back drop of the Windmill of Burgh-Le-Marsh, food is home cooked by Chris who is the husband of the team whilst Sharon or Louise works in the restaurant along with their friendly staff who will make you feel welcomed and your visit an individual and special one., the restaurant is open lunch times & early evenings from 5.30 offering a special Two Course Meal for £14 along with the full a La Carte menu , Sunday Lunch is Three courses for £17.95 offering at least 5 starters 5 main courses and a selection of homemade desserts. the restaurant has just introduced a new GIN MENU & WINE LIST . Afternoon Tea is Served daily , so if your looking for somewhere to eat fresh seasonal food, have a pre dinner gin and tonic & a bottle of nice wine then book your table today , functions and parties also catered for. See the web site for full menus
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Very good local based food”
Reviewed August 6, 2012

Haven't eaten here for a while now but have enjoyed the occasions when we have. The food is based on regional and british classics, using fresh local food to make it with. It is all homemade which we love - can't be doing with a frozen dessert! Nice mix of ingredients making it interesting enough to attact different guests but not scare anyone away with haute cuisine. You need to book for weekends, it does get busy as it's definately the best restaurant in the area. Could maybe do with stepping up the menus now, they've been quite samey each time we've been. We'll be back again though and hope to see something new and even more interesting!!

  • Visited December 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Kasia_p86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

182 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    131
    30
    14
    3
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Lincolnshire
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Excellent in every way.”
Reviewed June 18, 2012

We have been visiting Sharon and Chris since they started their little cafe by the canal in Louth. The food and service has always been excellent, the food is sourced locally, cooked well, presented well and is good value for money. The menu is varied and has something for everyone. Lovely decor, always spotless.
The staff are always attentive without being overbearing, friendly and thoughtful, everyone desrves the many awards they have won. We visit as a family or as couples, and never feel rushed along however busy the restaurant is.
Love the themed food nights and the various special deals and menus. If you love someone, buy them a Windmill voucher.

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank lakelovers5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worksop, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“We'll Keep Coming Back For More”
Reviewed June 10, 2012 via mobile

Have been to the Windmill half a dozen times now and always leave thinking "we can't wait to visit again". Latest trip was for Sunday lunch - opted for home made Pate to start & have to say this is amongst the best we have ever tasted (which makes us choose it on almost every visit!). Pork & Beef main courses were both very tasty and accompanied by well cooked vegetables. Finished this lunch with 2 excellent desserts. Where the Windmill really out scores many other places is on service...from the moment you enter until you leave the whole team are friendly & professional. Shame another highly enjoyable visit had to come to an end, but we did re-book prior to leaving!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Mosschops27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincolnshire
Level 6 Contributor
172 reviews
77 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 134 helpful votes
“Quite noisy”
Reviewed May 14, 2012

Although we had a lovely dinner, we are afraid to say we couldn't relax and make conversation as there were some large tables which over powered the restaurant and also the bar area as it is all open planned. But we intend to try it again but we will hope to go when it is quieter. I must also point out that the desserts are quite heavy and full of cream so be warned and be careful in your choice.

  • Visited May 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank sugaraunty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Tasty, Tasty, Tasty!”
Reviewed April 14, 2012

Great varied menu, amazing fillet steak. I had the small 5oz Fillet for £10. It didn't seem that small, and it was big on flavour, just melted in your mouth. Nice atmosphere, friendly, attentive staff, Could recommend highly, its a must if your heading to lincolnshire.

  • Visited April 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank summer05holidays
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Windmill Restaurant also viewed

Skegness, Lincolnshire
Burgh le Marsh, Skegness
 
Burgh le Marsh, Skegness
Skegness, Lincolnshire
 

Been to Windmill Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing