We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Coyote”

Restaurant Laguna Mar
Price range: $20 - $50
Cuisines: International, South American, Central American, Costa Rican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Families with children, Romantic
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Description: Full Service Restaurant Y Lounge 7 Days a week Breakfast - Lunch - Dinner - Bocas - Deserts and Snacks. Full Bar
Ghent, Belgium
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Coyote”
Reviewed August 5, 2013

Hotel Laguna Mar is not on the beach (though only a short drive away) and is situated in a little village about 1/2 block off the main (dirt) road. The architecture is unique from anything I've seen in Costa Rica. The pool is L-shaped, with cool water, and there is a jacuzzi as well. Lighting in the courtyard at night is enhanced by large cubes that change between soft, gentle, soothing (not glaring) colors. The rooms are spotlessly clean, with very appealing lighting, high quality bedding, dependable wifi, large showers, quality bath products, and we saw no bugs.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Portna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

69 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    52
    13
    3
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Best Seafood Ever!”
Reviewed June 5, 2013

There is nothing to dislike! Ask Pablo what's on the menu that night and listen to the man's recommendations. Five dinners at Laguna Mar, five amazing meals in a row. Food and drinks - top notch!

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank PascarellaAbdel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“I can't put my finger on it, but something's missing.”
Reviewed May 13, 2013

Maybe it was the overly Californian modern contemporary black and white design, maybe it was such professional photographs of the place making it look more pretentious than it really is... I can't put my finger on it, I'm gonna take a big leap here and say I question the validity of some reviews here. I encourage you to check this place out in person, compare it with other places around this area, before booking it. The concept and design, I can dig it as a fan of modern design myself, however, perhaps it doesn't scream Costa Rica, the pool also seems to be narrow and small (5' wide by 35' maybe).

For the price though, it is justifiable. The food is decent, the service is okay, I only say okay only because once this other gentleman has showed up to this place in his land rover and sat down 20 minutes after I had ordered, his burger combo came out before mine, from what I could see in terms of how the staff were around him, he must've either been a relative of the owner or an investor that funded the place perhaps. All in all, the wait time was 40 minutes, but cold beer definitely helps, and unless you're really hungry, what's the hurry?

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank YYZ2zZzZz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Drew C, Owner at Restaurant Laguna Mar, responded to this review, June 15, 2013
YYZ2zZzZz,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review, we really appreciate it. I invite you to come back to our restaurant and give us a second try. We pride ourselves in having the best food, drink and service in the area. If you would like to return to Laguna Mar for dinner, I will offer you a complimentary chef's tasting and a beverage of your choice.

Each day we strive to improve our quality and service , we want our guests to be 100% satisfied at all times. I am sorry to learn you were not completely satisfied, and I want to make it right!

Please contact me directly drew@lagunamarhotel.com, to make a reservation for your complimentary tasting, and if you would like to stay with us I will offer you a complimentary upgrade (subject to availability and advance reservations required)

Thanks again for taking the time to write a review it helps us continue to improve and understand the needs of our guests.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
toronto canada
Level Contributor
22 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Gourmet meals in laid back Costa Rican paradise”
Reviewed February 25, 2013 via mobile

Chef Pablo goes the extra mile to make sure you enjoy his food. Small restaurant with friendly service - often by the chef himself. Wonderful food in a quiet backwater.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank canadianCRlover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kelowna, Canada
Level Contributor
181 reviews
87 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
“Great food!”
Reviewed February 13, 2013

This restaurant is delicious! Great food, service and a great happy hour, 2 for 1 beers. You won't regret eating here!

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank AngelCanada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Restaurant Laguna Mar also viewed

Playa San Miguel, Province of Guanacaste
Playa San Miguel, Province of Guanacaste
 
San Francisco de Coyote, Province of Guanacaste
Playa San Miguel, Province of Guanacaste
 
Playa San Miguel, Province of Guanacaste

Been to Restaurant Laguna Mar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing