We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Boutique Hotel, Boutique Experience”
Review of Hotel Laguna Mar

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Laguna Mar
Certificate of Excellence
Escazu, Costa Rica
1 review
“Boutique Hotel, Boutique Experience”
Reviewed April 1, 2013

I very much enjoyed my stay at Laguna Mar in Playa San Miguel. I was surprised to be introduced to a beach in Costa Rica yet undiscovered and so long and beautiful! If you are looking for an affordable excelente experience I recommend Laguna Mar hotel. The hotel is tastefully designed with a very comfortable social area. The staff is friendly and helpful, the chef is gourmet, and the owner always enthusiastic and welcoming! Give it a try and you will be telling your friends about it!

Room Tip: Room 9 is on the second floor in the corner so it has more privacy than some of the rest.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Contactira
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

229 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    185
    28
    13
    1
    2
See reviews for
34
96
15
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Clear Lake Shores, Texas, United States
1 review
Reviewed March 23, 2013

I didn't actually stay at this hotel, but while waiting for our puddle jumper the owner, Drew was dropping a client off and was so kind to take us to hit hotel to use the bathroom and grab a coffee and cookies. It was greatly appreciated after being in the car for 2 hours.
I did get to see several guests enjoying breakfast in the shade by the pool. The place has a very serene feeling and if the rooms are anything like the lobby and main gathering place, they are top notch!
Drew told us about some great surf spots nearby which next time down will be on our list.
Hope to visit Costa Rica again soon and stay in this lovely area!
Candace

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Candace M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chevy Chase, Maryland, United States
1 review
Reviewed March 22, 2013

Laguna Mar is a slice of heaven; imagine a white, spacious, art- deco, modern hotel with a flare of South Beach, Florida. The entire Costa Rican staff is gracious and accommodating from the beginning to end of your stay. Prepare to receive a cold, citrus drink upon your arrival followed by assistance with your luggage, delivered to your room. The body care products, towels, bed, room and sheets are top-notch quality! During your stay, you will talk with and make friends with the outstanding chef, Pablo! His meals are fresh, flavorful, creative and delicious. This is not the time to rush – take time to enjoy the food, atmosphere and ‘Ticos’. Drew, the owner treats his guests like VIP; he’s always smiling, delivering for his guests, and providing any resources that are needed. He's an exceptional host.

There is also a strong degree-of networking in Javilla – take advantage of speaking with the Laguna Mar staff, including, the Lovely Angelica and Drew to learn more about ‘Must Do’ while exploring beautiful Guanacaste, San Miguel.

My personal favorite excursions were: visiting Michael’s impressive, outdoor butterfly and honey farm; Ed and Gwen’s bed & breakfast with Costa Rican coffee, homemade hot sticky buns and therapeutic horse back rides overlooking gorgeous scenic views; and experiencing the thrill of zip-lining at Punta Islita.

For an even MORE authentic experience, hire 'Tico' brothers, Milton and Nelson to drive you and your family on the unpaved roads of Guanacaste and explore the area like you’ve never experienced; these brothers are intelligent, funny, friendly and bilingual.

Enjoy your stay at Laguna Mar!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LSByank
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 21, 2013

This was my first stay at the hotel laguna mar and i was very impressed with the hotel.... the layout is amazing it has a very tropical feel with a very modern and attractive design.. the staff and owner are nice and there to help you at any way they can... the food there is deserves an A+ at the least, the chef Pablo is very talented and personable to the customers.. constantly checking to see their food meets the expectations.... there is plenty to do in the area around the hotel and the owner is more then knowledgable of the area in where to go what activities to do, places to go and sights to see there is even a rental car/ transportation business right across the street which is very convenient ... I throughly enjoyed my stay at this hotel and definitely would stop at it again next time I'm in costa rica

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stephen_1856
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blacksburg, Virginia
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 21, 2013

This small boutique hotel is just the perfect place to relax. The staff is attentive without being bothersome. Michael greeted us with a cocktail and took our suitcases to the rooms. The chef, Pablo is a shinning star. I have gluten issues and he pull together a shrimp rice noodle recipe right out of his hat especially for me! I had the penthouse room and the views were spectacular. Alvaro mixed great drinks and my glass was never empty! The hotel was spotless, sheets and towels top of the line. Definitely, I will be back!

Room Tip: I loved the penthouse but some might find it a bit loud. I happened to enjoy waking up to howler mo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank vavisitor53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stamford, Connecticut, United States
1 review
Reviewed March 18, 2013

This has been a wonderful experience and things really connected and started happening when we arrived the the Laguna Mar Hotel in Jabilla. This is absolutely the most friendly and helpful staff and everyone works to make your stay exceptional. World class food by a talented chef. We met several very enjoyable travelers while staying here. The rooms are comfortable, very well maintained, truly good beds and pillows. All you can ask for at a good price. We will return again in the future to this rural setting along the Pacific Ocean.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ray H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 17, 2013

Our trip to Hotel Laguna Mar and Costa Rica surpassed my high expectations in every way. Drew and his staff were nothing but friendly, hospitable and engaging. The hotel was spotless (which is extremely important to me) and the food was gourmet. One afternoon, beers appeared poolside! And, upon arrival, Michael greeted us with a celebratory drink :-)
The hotel itself was truly a gem. Little things that made a difference - clean bedding and sleek decor, great water pressure in the shower, and windows that opened for fresh air and nature sounds and 4 clean, heavy towels that were provided each day.
Drew, specifically, was the most gracious host I've ever met! He left no detail forgotten. He picked my friends and I up from the airport in San Jose (which was a few hours away) and drove us through the country and explained the history, people, the culture and we made numerous interesting stops along the way for food and friendship. He organized horseback riding, ziplining, a howler monkey hike and transported us everywhere. He never let it seem like a burden but a pleasure for him (much gusto). He informed us of local sights, other restaurants to go (although we never wanted to leave his) and nearby beaches. He literally took care of our every need.
There are so many things to love, but my favorite parts of the trip were happy hour at the bar every night (order the lemon martini drink by Alvaro - AH mazing!), meeting new friends from all over the world and feeling like everyday you were hanging out with people you just met that night but were friends before going to sleep. I coudn't have asked for a better experience and will definitely be returning!

Room Tip: Every room appeared to be great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hanniroxy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Playa San Miguel
13.0 mi away
Nammbu Beachfront Bungalows
Nammbu Beachfront Bungalows
#4 of 7 in Playa Carrillo
128 reviews
14.6 mi away
The Hideaway Hotel Playa Samara
The Hideaway Hotel Playa Samara
#1 of 16 in Playa Samara
845 reviews
12.2 mi away
Hotel Leyenda
Hotel Leyenda
#1 of 7 in Playa Carrillo
294 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.8 mi away
Hotel Peace & Lodge
Hotel Peace & Lodge
#2 of 7 in Playa Carrillo
40 reviews
11.7 mi away
El Sueno Tropical
El Sueno Tropical
#5 of 7 in Playa Carrillo
155 reviews
16.0 mi away
Hotel Tropico Latino
Hotel Tropico Latino
#2 of 26 in Santa Teresa
563 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Laguna Mar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Laguna Mar

Property: Hotel Laguna Mar
Address: Between Coyote and Playa San Miguel | Front of the School Javilla, Playa San Miguel 50906, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Guanacaste > Playa San Miguel
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Playa San Miguel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Laguna Mar 3.5*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Javilla's premiere boutique hotel. Located along the Pacific Coast in Costa Rica, Hotel Laguna Mar offers the best of both worlds — an exotic, tropical environment and the service of a fine four star hotel. Visit the real Costa Rica where the ocean water is warm nature completely surrounds you. Hotel Laguna Mar awaits your visit. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline and Hotwire so you can book your Hotel Laguna Mar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Laguna Mar Costa Rica/Playa San Miguel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing