We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotel Laguna Mar
Nearby Hotels
Casa Caletas Hotel(Punta Arenas)
$99
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Hotel Punta Islita, Autograph Collection(Punta Islita)(Great Value!)
$289
$249
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Leyenda(Playa Carrillo)(Great Value!)
$93
$86
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Nammbu Beachfront Bungalows(Playa Carrillo)(Great Value!)
$150
$114
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$100
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
El Sueno Tropical(Playa Carrillo)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Peace & Lodge(Playa Carrillo)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Guanamar(Playa Carrillo)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (238)
Filter reviews
238 results
Traveler rating
189
32
13
2
2
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
189
32
13
2
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscosta ricaboutique hotelsmall hotelnicoya peninsulaa bit overpricedstaff was very friendly and helpfulsea bassexcellent chefpizzaby accidentpool area islong driveget awaybeautiful poollittle gempablobeaches
Filter
Updating list...
132 - 137 of 238 reviews
Reviewed August 22, 2012

My husband and I stayed there for a "kids free" long weekend in late July and absolutey LOVED it! We stayed in the top floor room, and it was perfect. Beautiful views and just the right amount of privacy. The bathrooms were beautiful with tiled showers and floors. The beds were comfortable too. We apprecaiated all the outlets so we could plug in our phones, tablets etc. and the complimentarty wifi was especially nice. More than the room, it was the people who work at Hotel Laguna Mar that made it such a special weekend. Andres, the hotel manager, is fabulous. So inviting, gregarious and aways willing to help with whatever we needed. He helped us plan activities (I would highly reccomend visiting Mike's Butterfly Farm!) and dinner reservations (dinner at Punta Islita is worth the trip!) and we enjoyed them all! While Hotel Laguna Mar is a bit remote and takes a while on very rugged roads to get there...once you are there you wont regret you came!

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 5xfuninMD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 22, 2012

Hotel Laguna Mar is a gem. Located in a pristine area of Costa Rica, near beautiful beaches and fine dining. Proprietor Drew Callahan has established a wonderful boutique hotel. We had a great time at the hotel and surrounding area. Services included a very nice pool area, bar and dining. His staff is amazing. Ask for Michael. Michael was always available and ready with a nice Rum beverage, soda and other provisions for a trip to the beach or trek through the rainforest.

I highly recommend Hotel Laguna Mar for your next trip to Costa Rica. I will be coming back for a return visit soon!

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Brianleslie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 13, 2012

Just spent 4 days at the Hotel Laguna Mar with my wife... wonderful experience! All I can say every morning felt amazing, the food was great, the drinks were great and the staff is amazing. The service is very personal and everyone is very positive and happy!!!! Coming from NYC that's a plus!!! I also liked that you can call the states free of charge from the room. THe rooms are modern and very comfortable. Love the decor.

The only thing to keep in mind is that you have to drive to get here from liberia (airport). It's a 2 hour and very scenic drive, so have you camera at the ready as you will stop a few times due to all the beauty. We rented a Toyota rav4 from the Thrifty in Liberia (ask for Berlis) and had an amazing time. The GPS will get you anywhere in Costa Rica which is awesome. The beaches surrounding the hotel are beautiful and there are a few local bars and restaurants that we enjoyed. Our favorite beach is a 45 minute drive away called Samara Beach. Amazing!

Simply put, this is a "MUST DO" for everyone! The hotel is excellent! Everywhere you look is paradise. We will be going again!!!

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alfredo H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 26, 2012

I just returned from 4 days at Hotel Laguna Mar where two great friends and I had an incredible time. Not only is Costa Rica a beautiful country in and of itself, but Laguna Mar is a hotel that showcases the amazing cliff side views of the many beaches, mountain ranges, valleys and farming villages along the Pacific Coast.

--LOCATION--
Hotel Laguna Mar is located on the south/western part of Costa Rica, on the Nicoya Peninsula. Approximately 2.5 hours south of Liberia. There are many fine beaches within a hour drive fro the hotel--including: Playa Coyote, Playa San Miguel, Playa Islita and our personal favorite Playa Samara. The drive is a bit challenging as there are many non-paved roads enroute to Laguna Mar, however, if you spring for a heavy duty 4x4 you will be just fine. We rented a 4x4 RAV4, but now thing it would've been a more comfortable ride to have rented a Prado, Jeep, Land Rover, etc. The hotel is located on a corner lot, that is about a 5 five minute drive from Playa San Miguel.

--AMENITIES--
This hotel has 12 rooms, with air conditioning, hot/warm showers, free wi-fi, satellite cable--and one very cool perk--free international calling. I think via VoIP capabilities. But very nice for foreign tourists to be able to stay in touch with family and friends during their stay.

The hotel has a pool right in exposed/outdoor lobby of the hotel, that includes a cabana, four lounge chairs, a jacuzzi and lighting for late night swimming/hanging out by the water.

There is a fully stocked bar steps from the pool along with a kitchen that has a staff to make pretty much anything you could want at any time of night. Their menu is fresh, has plenty of healthy options, and changes based on 'catch' (or delivery) of the day.

There is on-site laundry service, and the staff did a great job on all our clothes.

Communication was key for us as we are on a Central American roadtrip, so a steady high-speed wi-fi connection and phone were key to stay informed and to be able to plan for our next few stops.

All rooms were most recently fitted with wi-fi capable A/C units and thermostats. This means the reception desk can have your room cooled the moment you show up in the lobby. You program it to go off/on whenever you're in the room, away, sleeping etc.

I stayed in the top floor suite with amazing views of the country side all around (Suite # 9). This place had one queen sized bed, another twin size bed, a desk, minibar and plenty of shelf/storage place for all our things during our stay. In addition, this suite had it's own private balcony with ceiling fan. Great for grabbing a drink from the bar and inviting your friends up to your own private meeting place with great views of the sunrise and sunset over the cliffs.

--STAFF--
The staff is Laguna Mar's greatest strengths. Some of the most genuine, friendly and welcoming people work here. And it shows they love it. They really want to show off Costa Rica's beauty, but also want to showcase their hospitality and ability to host you. They seem truly happy to have guests visit their hotel.

Starting with their on-site manager, Michael, they are a great group of people that are ready and willing to cater to your needs. You can reach Michael as he patrols the hotel grounds to make sure everything is perfect by dialing #111 from your room phone. Because the hotel is relatively small, you simply give him a quick call and he's up at your room in no time. Michael has no qualms about doing everything from handling laundry, to helping in the kitchen, manning the bar at night and even providing recommendations for what to do in the area. He's up when you leave the bar to go to sleep, and up early before you wake up. He's a great manager who does what's necessary to ensure a pleasant and relaxing stay.

The hotel owner, Drew, is also one of the hotels greatest assets. He is on-site all the time and makes sure your stay is perfect. Always has great recommendations for restaurants, beaches, and other recreational activities even in areas that are 1-2 hours away from Playa San Miguel. He is very friendly and always willing to come visit, have a drink with the hotel guests and give you the inside scoop on all things Costa Rica.

The rooms and bathrooms are always kept clean, fresh linens and towels are always available as well.

--OVERALL--
We had a great stay at Hotel Laguna Mar. Enough modern to keep us connected, but remote and quaint enough that we were able to unplug, relax and really feel like we were on vacation--ready to tackle our next off-roading adventure. Some sights we were able to take in while at the hotel were the beautiful Playa Samara (1 hr.), Jicaral, a small town about (1 hr.), Playa Naranjo/Naranjo Ferry to Punta Arena beaches (1 hr.), Playa Coyote (30 mins.), among others.

I would have no hesitation recommending this hotel to any one considering visiting Costa Rica. Staying in Liberia, San Jose or any big beach town is fun--but come see the real Costa Rica, take the road less traveled and come down to Javilla--Hotel Laguna Mar is beautiful. I have amazing memories and even better pictures from the country and the area surrounding the hotel.

I can't wait to come back. My friends and I are considering spending more time in Javilla, possibly even before the year is over. Do yourself a favor and contact Drew at drew@lagunamarhotel.com--he'll def. take care of you.


--PHOTOS--
Also, here are some photos I took with my iPhone: http://tinyurl.com/czqkykx

Enjoy!

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Josue P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 25, 2012

Some friends and I were invited here for lunch. We were served some delicious food and an drinks. Afterwards we relaxed by the pool and just wasted away the hours. This location is in a great location (short distance to the beach) and near a local road. I can't wait to stop by again and have my family/friends stay here when they visit San Miguel.

Room Tip: Ask for the 3rd floor. Great views!
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TmanVic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews