We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Unforgettable!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Laguna Mar

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel Laguna Mar
Certificate of Excellence
Gaithersburg, Maryland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Unforgettable!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 10, 2012

TThis was a hidden pleasure in rural CR! If you want to leave it all behind, but be able to plug back to the “world” upon occasion this is the place!! The hotel, with all of the amenities will remind you of a South Beach Boutique hotel; step out of the hotel and you are immersed in the beauty and simplicity of the country.

Room Tip: -no elevator -room 9 is on the 3rd floor, offers the best views and seclusion
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Roropa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

227 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    184
    27
    13
    1
    2
See reviews for
34
94
15
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Rockville, Maryland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 7, 2012

This hotel is beautiful and the staff is very attentive. Had a little trouble not speaking Spanish. My room was clean and simply designed. Wonderful shower. The lighting in the bathroom was a little dim - especially for applying makeup! Food and service was good and will get better when the full time chef arrives! Loved the pool area and it was a short walk to one of the most beautiful beaches (even had hammocks hanging from palm trees)! Getting to the hotel was more of a challenge than I expected. When I go back, I plan to arrive in Costa Rica early enough in the day to take a Nature Air flight. The hotel is in a fairly remote area - perfect for those who want to unwind and relax! Can't wait to go back!

Room Tip: My room was right outside the bar/pool area. Could be loud if guests decide to party all night!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Babydoll1984
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Drew C, Manager at Hotel Laguna Mar, responded to this review, June 10, 2012
Thank you for your review.
We have reviewed the lighting concerns and have decided to add additional lighting in the bathroom. We appreciate your time sending us your comments!
Hotel Laguna Mar SA
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rockville, Maryland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 7, 2012

If you like vacationing where you can unplug & chillax, treated like royalties by the staff, just hang out at the beach (there are few beaches and one is only walking distance), or go on tours to see what Costa Rica offers – Hotel Laguna Mar SA is the place to stay at while you visit.
Spent this past Memorial Day weekend at Hotel Laguna Mar SA with a great group of folks who I didn’t know going there but had a blast and made friends. Although the travel to get to the hotel was long but the destination was just gorgeous. Van ride from the airport on gravel roads (some parts muddy), that were not well lit and some not lit at all, and travelling at night was an adventure. Nature Air can fly you from the Liberia airport in fraction of the time driving to the hotel. We didn’t take it because we got in late – a must do next time. As soon as we arrived at the hotel, we were so relaxed and had forgotten about the travel. The area is just so beautiful. I had a great stay at the hotel, met some great people, ate good foods, had drinks, and enjoyed the beaches and views. I hope to come back soon with hubby (he’s been here before and had the same great experience).
The hotel is located in a remote area near the beach. It has beautiful artistically designed rooms (even has a family connecting room which not many hotels offer), offers the necessary amenities (such as hot water, cable & internet), the pool is not big but the water is warm all the time (which I really like a lot), there’s a Jacuzzi, the bar is near the pool so your drinks are only a few steps away which they can bring to you, and the staff are just the best there is (not only very accommodating but also pleasant even when we get too demanding). Just a warning, the roosters/chickens nearby will be your wake up call. The hotel didn’t have their chef while we were there so only got to try breakfast prepared by the cook which was still delicious. Fresh fruit is so good, incomparable to the states’. I even special ordered their local rice and beans with breakfast (they laughed at the request the first time) every morning. Our friend & owner whipped up some amazing array of cocktail food (one of the nights was with fresh tuna caught just that morning by folks from our group). There are surrounding local restaurants within car rides that serve freshly caught seafood.

Room Tip: Expect to be in a very remote part of Costa Rica. May was an off season month so there weren't...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank milliefk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gaithersburg, Maryland
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 7, 2012

We just returned from Luguna Mar and you can't say enough about this exquisite property. The rooms are beautifully decorated, the pool area is five star and the staff can't do enough to keep you happy. I personally don't think the owners right hand man Michael ever sleeps because if you think to say his name he is already standing next to you. You will not find a hotel of this character for the price they are asking anywhere around. Most of the larger properties near by are $300 dollars and above with food/drink price to match.

If you plan to drive from the airport rent a full size 4 wheel drive SUV and be prepared for the last hour of the drive to be dirt roads up and down mountains on a VERY bumpy road. I personally didn't mind it because you really get to see the true landscape of Costa Rica, it may not be for the timid at heart. We will probably take Nature Air next time which drops you twenty minutes from the hotel since that cuts five hours of round trip drive time off.

The beach is five minutes from the hotel and they will shuttle you to and from if you don't have a car. There is a full restaurant/bar at the beach so you don't have to leave once you are there for food. Out the back door of the hotel is Pizza in a Tree which you can sit at for your food or they will bring it to the hotel. The owner is a delightful Canadian man that has been in the area fro twenty one years. If you want to unwind and he has time to sit with you it may be hours before you leave.

I would also recommend the Butterfly farm, Mike the owner from New York can tell you anything you could ever imagine about butterflies, bugs, bats you name it he knows. They also produce rare honey that you can't find anywhere else for purchase.

We will be returning most likely for New Years because the rain season will be done and the weather is supposed to be beautiful. Basically if you have a desire Drew and his staff can find a way to get you to the location.

Room Tip: The top floor room has private everything along with a great view. You will hear more of the sounds...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Shawn T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jaco
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 30, 2012

We recently had three employees visit La Javilla for a 3 day "team building" experience. The time spent in the Laguna Mar Hotel was exceptional.

The owner and his staff took great care of our team. There was no detail overlooked in preparation of our stay, or attending to the needs of the team during the stay.

The hotel easily qualifies as "boutique" in that the level of personal attention is superior to that of other hotels in Costa Rica. But they go far beyond the realm of boutique hotel with technologies that make this property easy to enjoy/relax while being productive. Great wifi services and great voice services allowed our team to be productive during their stay. All critical systems have backup power to insure uninterrupted productivity and communications with the outside world. Everywhere on the property they have added a "unique touch of sound/music" to add to the Costa Rica experience.. including the bathrooms by the bar/pool.

The grounds are well kept, and secure. The rooms are comfortable and do not leave you "wanting" for anything. The onsite amenities are perfect and add to the overall personalized ambiance of the property. The staff is beyond compare.

We will use this hotel for all future requirements in that area, and will most definitely recommend this hotel to our friends/colleagues that are visiting the area.

Bottom line: Great hotel, great service, great location, great amenities and great price. We look forward to our next visit.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sean M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, District of Columbia, United States
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 26, 2012

I couldn't believe how remarkable this boutique hotel was in the tropics of Costa Rica. The staff was incredibly friendly and they catered to every one of our needs. The rooms were by far the cleanest I had ever stayed in in Central American. I have been recommending Hotel Laguna Mar to all my friends. I can't wait to go back again.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Roxie A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Potomac, MD
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 22, 2012

This hotel is absolutely gorgeous...from the beautiful pool to the super clean rooms and the friendly staff...I was finally able to relax and enjoy all the beauty this part of Costa Rica has to offer. This area is remote and absolutely breathtaking. There is definitely enough to do and great food is all around you...yummy pizza near the hotel, a hip restaurant/bar just a few minutes away and the freshest shrimp fried rice I have ever eaten cooked by a local woman just for us for lunch...those were my three favorites but there is more to explore!

The staff is extra friendly and so willing to help you plan excursions and explain how to see and do all this area has to offer. I had a fabulous time! This hotel is a small boutique hotel and you will get personalized attention if that is what you want...or you can wander to a quiet spot on the beach and read an entire book while listening to the waves...

Loved every moment of my week at Hotel Laguna Mar!

Room Tip: Views are better if you are on the second floor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TchrwhoLuvs2Travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Playa San Miguel
14.6 mi away
The Hideaway Hotel Playa Samara
The Hideaway Hotel Playa Samara
#1 of 16 in Playa Samara
5.0 of 5 bubbles 804 reviews
12.2 mi away
Hotel Leyenda
Hotel Leyenda
#1 of 8 in Playa Carrillo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 276 reviews
17.6 mi away
Hotel Moana
Hotel Moana
#4 of 9 in Mal Pais
4.5 of 5 bubbles 413 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
21.1 mi away
Tango Mar Beachfront Boutique Hotel & Villas
3.9 mi away
Casa Caletas
Casa Caletas
#2 of 7 in Nicoya
4.0 of 5 bubbles 41 reviews
11.7 mi away
El Sueno Tropical
El Sueno Tropical
#5 of 8 in Playa Carrillo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 154 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Laguna Mar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Laguna Mar

Property: Hotel Laguna Mar
Address: Between Coyote and Playa San Miguel | Front of the School Javilla, Playa San Miguel 50906, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Guanacaste > Playa San Miguel
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Playa San Miguel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Laguna Mar 3.5*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Javilla's premiere boutique hotel. Located along the Pacific Coast in Costa Rica, Hotel Laguna Mar offers the best of both worlds — an exotic, tropical environment and the service of a fine four star hotel. Visit the real Costa Rica where the ocean water is warm nature completely surrounds you. Hotel Laguna Mar awaits your visit. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Laguna Mar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Laguna Mar Costa Rica/Playa San Miguel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing