We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Almost Paradise”
Review of Cristal Azul

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Cristal Azul
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 12, 2010

My husband and I had a great time at this place, on the top of a mountain with a stunning view. The pool area is so beautyful, you feel like in a movie about the life of a hollywood star! It is really peaceful here and the food was great! We felt so very welcome and the hosts did everything to make us happy. The shower is open air - but in the sleepingroom you cannot keep the door/window open for the night.

Stayed: November 2010, traveled as a couple
Thank AnjaT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (212)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

163 - 169 of 212 reviews

Reviewed December 6, 2010

I was fortunate to stay at Cristal Azul with my family and friends. We enjoyed the amenities and location of the resort. This included a rancho with unlimited food/beverage, billiards, and room to mingle throughout the day. The villas with outdoor showers and vast overlooking views of the ocean. And lastly a short trips down to the beach to body surf and partake in beach activities.

  • Stayed: January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank aftherapist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 6, 2010

We stumbled across this "B&B" on the recommendations of some world traveling friends. It was an absolute gem. The view's were amazing, the rancho (pool and bar) were so relaxing, and the service was exactly what you want in Costa Rica. It did not over power you, but whenever you needed something it was seconds away. Zene and Henner(the owners) offered tons of help in regards to local activities and had endless recommendations. Regardless of the type of trip, I would insist that anyone looking into Costa Rica visit Cristal Azul.

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bfr656
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 9, 2010

Wonderful and friendly staff. Everything was beyond my expectation. Super simple but just the place to get away for some RR. Zene and Henner take care of your every need :-)!

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sexydeelite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 2, 2010

Meeting up with Henner down at the beach bar to guide us the last mile of the road didn't really feel like checking in to a hotel, it was more of meeting up with an old friend. From the minute we set foot on the Cristal Azul property we just knew that we found the perfect spot for our wedding. The fantastic view, romantic cabinas and the excellent service from the staff made our stay a memory that will last a lifetime. Zene and Henner are the best hosts we met during our stay in Costa Rica, their attention to detail and level of service is of highest standard. Their involvement made the planning of our wedding a real treat and our wedding day was perfect in every sense.

We got several good recommendations about restaurants in the area but we really recommend to stay in to enjoy the cooking of Marco, the house chef. Marco will set you up with an amazing barbecue with fresh meats and seafood prepared Tico-style and Flory will make you a delicious breakfast enjoyed with the best view in the area.

If you are looking for a place to kick back and relax, there is no better place than Cristal Azul. The breathtaking view, fantastic nature, and excellent service and care of Zene and Henner will ensure that you can leave all your worries behind and just enjoy the solitude of paradise.

  • Stayed: March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Henkesthlm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 23, 2010

We had such a fantastic time at Crisal Azul. The property is gorgeous, situated on a hillside with an infinity pool overlooking the ocean. Our room was immaculate and the floor to ceiling windows made waking up to the fabulous views delightful. Zene and Henner are the most gracious hosts and they did a great job arranging adventures for our entire group. The food was plentiful, incredible and we can't find ceviche back home that comes close to Zene's. An awesome experience, we can't wait to go back!

  • Stayed: January 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FrankiH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 15, 2010

Get ready for an adventure finding the place- we used Zene's directions, a map and a GPS- but once you get there you wont want to leave. There are only 4 rooms, very clean with amazing views, air conditioning and a private outdoor shower. The bar/pool area is where you'll spend your days, getting tan, drinking beers, listening to music, playing pool and swimming in the beautiful infinity pool! It was truly an amazing place to unwind. You can walk down to the beach but it is a bit of a hike- we did it one day, and then drove down the next.
Breakfast was delicious (and huge) every morning, and we opted to have dinner in one night which was a real treat. Fresh sashimi and guacamole, lobster and tuna. We ate by the pool under the stats- super romantic. Our hosts Zene and Henner were very helpful and not overbearing. There are not a ton of options for surrounding restaurants or activities, but if you are looking for a place to just chill out and truly get away from it all in a breathtaking setting, this is your place.

  • Stayed: March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ClaireGF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Playa San Miguel
0.7 mi away
Hotel Laguna Mar
Hotel Laguna Mar
#1 of 1 in Playa San Miguel
237 reviews
16.5 mi away
Hotel Tropico Latino
Hotel Tropico Latino
#3 of 27 in Santa Teresa
607 reviews
13.9 mi away
The Hideaway Hotel Playa Samara
The Hideaway Hotel Playa Samara
#1 of 16 in Playa Samara
886 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7 mi away
Hotel Punta Islita, Autograph Collection
0.4 mi away
La Colina Pura Vista
La Colina Pura Vista
#2 of 4 in Playa San Miguel
58 reviews
20.7 mi away
Mar y Sol Ecotel
Mar y Sol Ecotel
#1 of 5 in Tambor
55 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cristal Azul? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cristal Azul

Address: Norte Entrada de Residencias San Miguel 1KM, Playa San Miguel 50906, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Guanacaste > Playa San Miguel
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Playa San Miguel
Price Range: $158 - $253 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Cristal Azul 3*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cristal Azul is the perfect destination for those looking to step off the beaten path and experience what Costa Rica was like before the world arrived. A totally private property with no public access, guests enjoy 180’ panoramic ocean views and the ultimate in barefoot luxury in a rustic setting. Prepare to unplug, unwind, and get lost in paradise! Great times are had here and memories of a lifetime are created! Four cozy "cabinas" guarantee there is never a crowd; each is equipped with AC, ceiling fans, screened doors that let in the ocean breeze and sound of the surf below, hot water, outdoor garden showers, fine linens, Raw Botanicals organic bath products, and the most impressive views in the area. An oversized, open air Rancho provides a luxe “Glamping” experience with an honor bar and billiards table as well as dining and lounge area ample enough for all guests. The vanishing edge pool overlooks six miles of undeveloped beach and provides a front row seat to the most amazing stargazing under the canopy of the Milky Way! A full typical Costa Rican breakfast is served daily and a chef prepares dinner nightly for guests in the Rancho upon demand. The only Costa Rica owned and operated hotel in San Miguel, your hosts also own LocosCocos (#1 Restaurant in area, #1 Beach Bar in Costa Rica; Lonely Planet)which is a guest favorite for sunset dinners on the beach. It is also a great place to spend the day steps from the surf with cold beers and catch of the fresh fish and seafood ready at your beck and call! 4WD and love adventure required too reach this area! Reservations required-gated entrance for guests only. For best rates, book direct! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline and Hotwire so you can book your Cristal Azul reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cristal Azul Hotel Playa San Miguel
Cristal Azul Costa Rica/Playa San Miguel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing