We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful and fun!”
Review of Cristal Azul

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Cristal Azul
Certificate of Excellence
oregon
1 review
“Beautiful and fun!”
Reviewed March 23, 2010

We had such a fantastic time at Crisal Azul. The property is gorgeous, situated on a hillside with an infinity pool overlooking the ocean. Our room was immaculate and the floor to ceiling windows made waking up to the fabulous views delightful. Zene and Henner are the most gracious hosts and they did a great job arranging adventures for our entire group. The food was plentiful, incredible and we can't find ceviche back home that comes close to Zene's. An awesome experience, we can't wait to go back!

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FrankiH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

201 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    194
    6
    0
    0
    1
See reviews for
48
109
6
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Vermont, USA
1 review
Reviewed March 15, 2010

Get ready for an adventure finding the place- we used Zene's directions, a map and a GPS- but once you get there you wont want to leave. There are only 4 rooms, very clean with amazing views, air conditioning and a private outdoor shower. The bar/pool area is where you'll spend your days, getting tan, drinking beers, listening to music, playing pool and swimming in the beautiful infinity pool! It was truly an amazing place to unwind. You can walk down to the beach but it is a bit of a hike- we did it one day, and then drove down the next.
Breakfast was delicious (and huge) every morning, and we opted to have dinner in one night which was a real treat. Fresh sashimi and guacamole, lobster and tuna. We ate by the pool under the stats- super romantic. Our hosts Zene and Henner were very helpful and not overbearing. There are not a ton of options for surrounding restaurants or activities, but if you are looking for a place to just chill out and truly get away from it all in a breathtaking setting, this is your place.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ClaireGF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
1 review
Reviewed February 22, 2010

We flew into San Jose and chose to drive through the Costa Rican country side instead of hop the other short flight to the resort. Along the drive I thought I was seeing the most beautiful views Central America had to offer...until I reached Cristal Azul. Not only is the natural scenery surrounding this resort breathtaking, the resort itself is artistically manicured and freckled with gorgeous accents artistically placed by someone who obviously has a knack for ambiance. The only thing that rivals the beauty of this resort is the beautiful nature of the staff and hosts. Zene and Henner are the most accommodating and gracious people I have ever had the pleasure of meeting on vacation and they ensured our trip was perfection from beginning to end. Fresh seafood daily, endless cold cervezas and a atmosphere that made the thought of leaving seem about as delightful as a root canal. The breezy, tropical atmosphere sails in perfect equilibrium with the exotic unknown that waits around the corner. When I had enough siestas in the hammocks and sun soaking by the infinity pool, I spent some time down at the beach where the waves beckon surfers, fishing is an adventure in itself and the beach bar does not disappoint. I intend to spend many vacations there and encourage anyone who has a desire for an extraordinary location, indigenous congeniality, views that would make your screensaver green with envy and and the opportunity to visit the Costa Rican coast like few ever do, visit the Cristal Azul. *Tip: ask for Henner's special Rum Punch - sip, relax and repeat.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mandypalm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwalk, CT
1 review
Reviewed September 25, 2009

I have been there numerous times and am looking forward to going there next week. The location is beautiful and the views of the ocean are spectacular. A place to relax and enjoy nature. Good food and wonderful hospitality.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jollyr58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new york
1 review
Reviewed September 12, 2009

I have stayed here on 2 occasions. the rooms are great the views are even better. Both Zene and Henner are eager to please everyone. Doris is also an incredible cook. You won't be disappointed.

  • Stayed January 2007, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank briansNewYork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
long island
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 25, 2009

Crystal Azul is not only the most beautiful place at the Beach at San Miguel but it's owners are the most wonderful peopel I know! The cabinas are clean and comfortable, the pool has the most amazing views especially when you are relaxing with a nice cold local beer in hand! Go on a fishing trip with the owners for the time of your lives!!! 5 Star rating I give Crystal Azul!! Will go back again and again!!!!

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank crbound4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
costa rica
1 review
Reviewed August 20, 2009

You will be impress with the ocean views, in front the cabins you will have a 180º view from the beach and it is only at 5 minutes from you!

Zene is a great great person, always happy and friendly, you can rest and forget about the city and all things in that wonderfull place.

;)

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank raschidt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Playa San Miguel
0.7 mi away
Hotel Laguna Mar
Hotel Laguna Mar
#1 of 1 in Playa San Miguel
4.5 of 5 bubbles 228 reviews
13.9 mi away
The Hideaway Hotel Playa Samara
The Hideaway Hotel Playa Samara
#1 of 16 in Playa Samara
5.0 of 5 bubbles 828 reviews
21.8 mi away
Tango Mar Beachfront Boutique Hotel & Villas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.5 mi away
Hotel Leyenda
Hotel Leyenda
#1 of 8 in Playa Carrillo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 286 reviews
4.5 mi away
Casa Caletas
Casa Caletas
#2 of 8 in Nicoya
4.0 of 5 bubbles 42 reviews
0.3 mi away
La Colina Pura Vista
La Colina Pura Vista
#2 of 4 in Playa San Miguel
5.0 of 5 bubbles 45 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cristal Azul? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cristal Azul

Property: Cristal Azul
Address: Norte Entrada de Residencias San Miguel 1KM, Playa San Miguel 50906, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Guanacaste > Playa San Miguel
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Playa San Miguel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Cristal Azul 3*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cristal Azul offers discerning travelers the chance to enjoy barefoot luxury off the beaten path. Stunning views and simple elegance await adventurous spirits in search of the ultimate in privacy, comfort, & tranquility. Set in a pristine and natural setting with only four ocean view cabinas and no public roads to reach us nor signs to point the way, we guarantee there is never a crowd at this private hilltop hotel. Take a step back to a quieter time and enjoy what Costa Rica was like before the world arrived. Join us for lunch and dinners at LocosCocos, our surfside Cevicheria serving catch of the day fresh fish and seafood. 4WD and love of adventure required to reach this area! Private chef dinner service in the Rancho available for groups. Reservations required-gated entrance for guests only! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets and Agoda so you can book your Cristal Azul reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cristal Azul Hotel Playa San Miguel
Cristal Azul Costa Rica/Playa San Miguel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing