We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“awesome experience” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Cristal Azul

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Cristal Azul
Certificate of Excellence
Princeton, New Jersey
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“awesome experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 3, 2013

I had picked Cristal Azul because of the great reviews. I had never been to Costa Rica before so really had no idea where to stay. I had definitely made the right choice. After being there for a few days I checked out some of the other places we were maybe going to stay. Nothing really compares. Cristal Azul gives you a very personal experience and you really get a chance to feel like you are part of Costa Rica not just a tourist in a hotel. You wake up and walk out your door to the best ocean view and the jungle. The host and staff were so great and made you feel like family. Great food as well! Cristal Azul offers you an authentic experience that is really hard to get anywhere else.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank J M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

198 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    191
    6
    0
    0
    1
See reviews for
48
108
6
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
mapleville
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 1, 2013

Cristal Azul is a quiet retreat, high on a hillside over Playa San Miguel. Views from Nosara to Punta Coyote are amazing.
With only four rooms, it was not crowded. Dinning in the ranchito and bar area with wonderful food and service is peaceful and romantic. Yoga deck is perfect for meditation and expercise, while over looking the blue Pacific, and beaches below. Floating lazily at the infinity edge of the large pool and watching the sun go down is spectacular. Often we sit at home in the frigid north country and dream about a tropical paradise like this one. Often those dreams and reality never quite meet. After visiting Cristal Azul in Playa San Miguel, Cost Rica, we now have an even better dream, and an address we can actually return to for a repeat performance. This place IS what heaven looks like.

Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank charles h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, Costa Rica
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 8, 2012

I had a great trip up to cristal azul with my two friends over Columbus day week end. Over all it was a great time. We ate mountains of sushi and hung out at the spectacular pool table there. The amazing infinity pool sure didn't hurt either. I would recommend this place to anyone who wants to have a great time in paradise!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Darley R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harvard, Massachusetts
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 24, 2012

Cristal Azul was our favorite place we visited in our two week trip to Costa Rica. The infinity pool over looking the ocean and the jungle, the monkeys, geckos, puzzles and games, and access to beautiful Playa San Miguel all make this a phenomenal place to stay for awhile. It is off the beaten path and requires a lot of time on dirt roads to get there, but it was well worth it. Our three young children had a great time - playing games, swimming, boogie boarding, helping release baby turtles, visiting Mike's butterfly farm, and much more. They had boogie boards and beach umbrellas for us to use and were incredible hosts with advice on what to do and help getting around. The food was absolutely delicious! This is an amazing B&B that we hope to return to some day.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pam G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, New York, United States
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 19, 2012

What an amazing little pocket of paradise! My boyfriend and I went for a week and we can't stop talking about it and wondering when we can go back! It's hard to choose a favorite memory at Cristal Azul: the infinity pool on top of the world looking out at the ocean, the Rancho full of fun, great company, and delicious beer, the comfy cabinas secluded away complete with an outdoor shower, (so incredible) or the monkeys and toucans playing in the jungle-type landscape surrounding you while you bath in the sun enjoy fresh fruit? "Pura Vida" is sort of the motto in Costa Rica, and if anything lives up to this "pure life" lifestyle, it's Cristal Azul. Zene and Henner (the owners) really have something special here. They make you feel completely at home, with your every need tended to in the heavenly tropical getaway. It's a perfect romantic getaway or a fun, adventures family trip. Words can't describe this paradise and it's absolutely not to be missed!!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sarah M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 18, 2012

What struck me was when looking out from the Costa Rican mountains over the infinity pool at the pacific coastline.. That the owner distracted me by saying-- 'over here is the bar, make what you want whenever you want; just pencil it on your tab-- it's the honor system here,, when your here you're family..'
It really is like staying with relatives that happen to own a resort.. And the service is unrivaled. The owners literally make all the phone calls and drive you to where you want to be. I also found it very cool to not feel like a tourist,, this place is much off the beaten path which adds greatly to the character and romance of Cristal Azul. Amazing value and trip.
Oh and the food is spectacular!!

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jeffg26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, Costa Rica
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 13, 2012

"Cristal Azul" provides you with an ambience of peace and relaxation very difficult to find elsewhere. The sight of the ocean, together with the jungle that surrounds the place creates a frame of a masterpiece scenario! As soon as you start climbing the mountain to reach this wonderful resort, you start feeling something magical and adventurous...The flora and fauna, the winding road, the welcoming smiles are clear clues of great things to come… The ranch has a deck, a bar, hammocks, sofas, pool table, kitchen and bathroom. Here you can spend hours just watching the spectacular ocean view, listening to music, taking a nap, playing board games, chatting with friends, and/or enjoying first class food. The infinity pool is just what the doctor ordered! Wow, you can spend hours and hours just daydreaming.....while getting a suntan. Sunsets are pure gifts, a marvelous miracle to experience… Henner and Zene are a perfect match, and the cherry on top! Both are passionate about the paradise they live in. They take care of every little detail and beyond...personalized menus, candle light dinners, music selection, sightseeing recommendations, interesting conversations, helpful tips for traveling around Costa Rica... A+ hospitality! It's a hotel that feels as home! The cabins are a mix of romance, simplicity and good taste. They have comfortable beds with delicate linings, air conditioning, wall to floor windows that allow an incredible view of San Miguel beach, and an outdoor shower that makes you feel totally integrated with nature. During the day you can spend the time at the San Miguel beach, drive to other nearby beaches and towns, go horseback riding, mountain bike(if you have your bikes with you), visit a Butterfly Farm or Pretoma to watch the turtles, an if you are lucky, you can even watch a bullfight. “Cristal Azul” is a place to return again and again…

Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank SMM1962
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Playa San Miguel
0.7 mi away
Hotel Laguna Mar
Hotel Laguna Mar
#1 of 1 in Playa San Miguel
4.5 of 5 bubbles 224 reviews
13.9 mi away
The Hideaway Hotel Playa Samara
The Hideaway Hotel Playa Samara
#1 of 15 in Playa Samara
5.0 of 5 bubbles 793 reviews
11.5 mi away
Hotel Leyenda
Hotel Leyenda
#1 of 8 in Playa Carrillo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 271 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
21.8 mi away
Tango Mar Beachfront Boutique Hotel & Villas
12.3 mi away
Nammbu Beachfront Bungalows
Nammbu Beachfront Bungalows
#3 of 8 in Playa Carrillo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 102 reviews
7.0 mi away
Hotel Punta Islita, Autograph Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cristal Azul? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cristal Azul

Property: Cristal Azul
Address: 1KM Norte Entrada de Residencias San Miguel, Playa San Miguel 50906, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Guanacaste > Playa San Miguel
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Playa San Miguel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Cristal Azul 3*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cristal Azul offers discerning travelers the chance to enjoy barefoot luxury off the beaten path. Stunning views and simple elegance await adventurous spirits in search of the ultimate in privacy, comfort, & tranquility. Set in a pristine and natural setting with only four ocean view cabinas and no public roads to reach us nor signs to point the way, we guarantee there is never a crowd at this private hilltop hotel. Take a step back to a quieter time and enjoy what Costa Rica was like before the world arrived. Join us for lunch and dinners at LocosCocos, our surfside Cevicheria serving catch of the day fresh fish and seafood. 4WD and love of adventure required to reach this area! Private chef dinner service in the Rancho available for groups. Reservations required-gated entrance for guests only! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity and Hotels.com so you can book your Cristal Azul reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cristal Azul Hotel Playa San Miguel
Cristal Azul Costa Rica/Playa San Miguel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing