We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“One of the nicest places we have ever stayed....”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Cristal Azul

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Cristal Azul
Certificate of Excellence
Cologne, Germany
1 review
“One of the nicest places we have ever stayed....”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 10, 2011

My family travel quite a bit - asia, brazil -and I have to say this was one of the nicest places we have ever stayed. The resort sits on top of a cliff that overlooks the ocean. Each guest gets their own villa which is made up of one big bedroom with a bathroom and private outdoor shower. And the villas boast floor to ceiling glass sliding doors that overlook the ocean and land below. The pool area and cabina, which sits above the pool hosts a kitchen, pool table, dining table and couches/hammocks to lie in. The pool is absolutely breathtaking. The views are fantastic and are unlike any I have ever seen. Zene and Henner (the owners) have really make a perfect job. This place is really amazing!! Cristal Azul - we definitly came back! Thank you for this fantastic stay at Zene & Henner!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wolfgang S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

199 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    192
    6
    0
    0
    1
See reviews for
48
109
6
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Playa Samara, Costa Rica
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 24, 2011

Cristal Azul is a fantastic upscale boutique property located in Playa San Miguel. The owners, Zene adn Heiner, are wonderful hosts....pouring cocktails and serving delicious appetizers, such as baby white clams! They are super friendly and knowledgeable about San Miguel and Costa Rica in general.
This serene setting overlooks the most breathtaking view up and down the beach. You can sit for hours in their infinity pool gazing off into the distance of the ocean. They have birds, monkeys, and tons of wildlife right onsite...in fact, a pizote came to share breakfast with us from the banana tree right near by! The rooms are charming and cozy...great bedding and a wonderful private outdoor shower for cooling off. Again, the view takes it away...
We had such a wonderful time getting to know Zene and Heiner, and would recommend Cristal Azul to anyone looking for a top notch experience with great service and reasonable pricing.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Colleen L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heredia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 4, 2011

I could say a lot of things about Cristal Azul such as the amazing warmness of Henner and Zene, the incredible fresh and gourmet sea food, the unforgettable smile of my 3 years old kid playing at the breathtaking infinity pool, the speechless view of the ocean and surrounding areas, the unexpected luck of watching some whales playing in the deep ocean, the cozy and homey rooms or the sole enjoyment of the trip to Cirstal Azul, but any word that I use wont describe the place, so far the most beautiful spot of his kind in Costa Rica that I’ve ever visited in Costa Rica and as a Costa Rican, I’ve visited a lot of places

Room Tip: Just Contact Zene and Henner at Cristal Azul, their incredible skills as hostess are bullet proof
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RZamoraH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 27, 2011

Our family (two boys aged14 years) stayed at Cristal Azul for 4 nights during a ten day stay in Costa Rica. We had travelled to beautiful Manuel Antonio and Arenal at the beginning of our trip, but Cristal Azul hosts, Henner and Zene, and the fabulous San Miguel countryside and beach made this last part of our trip everyone's favourite! Both Henner and Zene went above and beyond to ensure that our stay was memorable. Zene contacted us the day of our arrival to ensure we had good driving directions and provided some much needed support enroute. When we arrived in the dark, a fabulous meal was waiting for my insatiable boys and a drink for the adults. Throughout our stay, the cooking was so good we chose to eat at Cristal Azul each night (great appetizers and main dishes). Our hosts were extremely knowledgable about the area and provided much needed advice about activities for the kids and sightseeing for the adults. Ziplining in nearby Samara, boogy boarding on the deserted beach with just the right amount of waves, horseback riding through the jungle, and teasing the monkeys in the forests surrounding the beautiful hotel grounds were enjoyed by all. Best of all was relaxing by the pool in the evening overlooking the Pacific Ocean and enjoying the great conversation with Zene and Henner. We loved our stay!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LorraineCooper018
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chicago, united states
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 22, 2011

My wife and I stayed at the Cristal Azul for four nights in April 2011 and had such a wonderful time that we didn't want to leave. The vacation was one of the most relaxing and peaceful I've ever enjoyed -- the lovely Cristal Azul and our hosts Zene and Henner compliment perfectly the serenity of Playa San Miguel.

You don't go to this small beachfront town for the shopping district or the nightlife -- it's a small, quiet village of friendly people with a diverse enough offering of things to do. But you should approach your stay here with the attitude that you're going to spend your time relaxing without needing a lot of the stimulus you'd expect from a bigger town. And it was for just that reason we enjoyed our stay at the Cristal Azul so much.

The hotel sits atop a hill (very privately, there's nothing else crowding the space) with a breathtaking, jaw-dropping view of the Pacific ocean. From the bar, the infinity pool, or one of the Cristal Azul's hammocks, you see the full horizon line and it's very easy to get lost for great stretches of time watching the waves roll in. It's one of the loveliest sights I've ever taken in.

As hosts, Zene and Henner have struck on the right mix of being friendly, helpful hosts on the one hand and, on the other, allowing their guests the space to feel that the hotel is really someone's dream house that you're lucky enough to visit. Guests are issued walkie talkies with far-ranging reception so that if you're down the hill on the beach (a 4x4 is a must to navigate the gnarly hill leading up to the hotel) you're never out of touch. Zene and Henner join the guests for sunset cocktails and it always feels like a lovely occasion to sip a Cuba Libre and talk to the hosts and other guests.

I've never been so relaxed and felt so welcome in a hotel. The feeling is much more akin to being welcome guests in paradise. My wife and I whiled away hours by the pool or in the bar playing Jenga without a care in the world. I recommend the Cristal Azul without reservation and would LOVE to return!

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank will_fletcher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jersey City, New Jersey
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 15, 2011

My boyfriend and I spent a week at Cristal Azul and fell in love with Costa Rica. The staff was extremely welcoming, the facilities were amazing (we never expected it to be as spectacular as it was), the food was delicious and the amenities were superb. We couldn't have asked for anything more. Playa San Miguel is a great beach town, just a short walk from Cristal Azul. We are already planning our next trip to this special place and highly recommend it to anyone who is interested in traveling to Costa Rica.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EBPaquet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 10, 2011

I've been to more countries than states in the US and I can say, hands down, this is my new favorite destination. Cristal Azul Resort gave me the luxuries of home without losing a very real costa rican experience. Beautiful ocean front villas, vanishing edge pool with an 180-degree view, and authentic costa rican meals (fresh calamari? Yes, please.) make this the only place I will stay when I come back. And I will absolutely come back. Great people (Zene and Haynard, you're the best!) and a beautiful resort...thank you again for everything!!

  • Stayed January 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hodgesusd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Playa San Miguel
0.7 mi away
Hotel Laguna Mar
Hotel Laguna Mar
#1 of 1 in Playa San Miguel
4.5 of 5 bubbles 228 reviews
13.9 mi away
The Hideaway Hotel Playa Samara
The Hideaway Hotel Playa Samara
#1 of 16 in Playa Samara
5.0 of 5 bubbles 819 reviews
21.7 mi away
Tango Mar Beachfront Boutique Hotel & Villas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.5 mi away
Hotel Leyenda
Hotel Leyenda
#1 of 8 in Playa Carrillo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 282 reviews
4.5 mi away
Casa Caletas
Casa Caletas
#2 of 7 in Nicoya
4.0 of 5 bubbles 42 reviews
0.3 mi away
La Colina Pura Vista
La Colina Pura Vista
#2 of 4 in Playa San Miguel
5.0 of 5 bubbles 44 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cristal Azul? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cristal Azul

Property: Cristal Azul
Address: 1KM Norte Entrada de Residencias San Miguel, Playa San Miguel 50906, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Guanacaste > Playa San Miguel
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Playa San Miguel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Cristal Azul 3*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cristal Azul offers discerning travelers the chance to enjoy barefoot luxury off the beaten path. Stunning views and simple elegance await adventurous spirits in search of the ultimate in privacy, comfort, & tranquility. Set in a pristine and natural setting with only four ocean view cabinas and no public roads to reach us nor signs to point the way, we guarantee there is never a crowd at this private hilltop hotel. Take a step back to a quieter time and enjoy what Costa Rica was like before the world arrived. Join us for lunch and dinners at LocosCocos, our surfside Cevicheria serving catch of the day fresh fish and seafood. 4WD and love of adventure required to reach this area! Private chef dinner service in the Rancho available for groups. Reservations required-gated entrance for guests only! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Cristal Azul reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cristal Azul Hotel Playa San Miguel
Cristal Azul Costa Rica/Playa San Miguel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing