We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Lovely homely well equipped cottage”
other travelers have booked this property
Relax in front of the fire in our cosy holiday cottage, logs provided
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Relax in front of the fire in our cosy holiday cottage, logs provided
Lots of lovely local art to admire Cosy sofa to chill out on, or you can relax in the rocking chair
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
26 reviews
Relax in front of the fire in our cosy holiday cottage, logs provided
Lots of lovely local art to admire
Cosy sofa to chill out on, or you can relax in the rocking chair
Love these houses by Snowdrift
Can't beat a rocking chair.  Spot the handmade lampshade
Great to come back to after a day sightseeing
Lovely hand made kitchen fully equipped with everything you need.
Dining for 4, plenty of colourful Orla Kiely crockery to brighten up your meals
Bakehouse 24 bread and Cranbourne cheese, just a 5 minute stroll away at Gourmet Grocer
Colourful Orla Kiely crockery and lots of new funky utensils make cooking a delight.
Full size smeg dishwasher and butler sink.  Lots of sharp knives and utensils
Plenty of space for coats, boots and flip flops by the funky hooks
Spacious main bedroom with very comfy kingsize bed, feather duvet and Scion or John Lewis bedding
More fabulous art and lots of books to relax with
Plenty of wardrobe space for your holiday clothes
Along the landing to the family bathroom and attic den
The attic room, perfect for grown up friends..
Great for couples
A den kids love with lots of toys and books and colourful bedding to suit age
Seaside themed family bathroom, full size bath and powerful shower.  Endless hot water
Love the huts
Great shower, and fab fluffy fresh John Lewis towels provided
Colourful crockery and shiny cutlery for those who like to cook
Ideal for family meals
Fordingbridge High Street, pretty and sells everything you need
The Town Hall is listed, a lovely building with lots going on
Great shops to browse in
The bridge with its distinctive  arches.  Perfect when admired from the park or patio of The George
Be a pirate in the riverside park
Lots to play on for kids big and small
Graceful beauty on the river
Don't forget to bring your scooter or skateboard
The Forest is springing into life.  The baby foals are here.
So cute.  Come soon and see for yourself
Fabulous Furzey Gardens in full bloom
Bouncy baby donkeys make you smile
The Forest has a lovely bluebell carpet
The fields are turning sunny yellow
The beautiful gallops on Salisbury downs
Perfect for off road biking
Bluebells and primroses so pretty in the New Forest
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Rental Home -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Fordingbridge, New Forest National Park Hampshire, Hampshire, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 26 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
sally r
Felixstowe, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
66 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Lovely homely well equipped cottage”
Reviewed November 2, 2017 for a stay in October 2017

Amble Back is a clean, cosy cottage perfectly situated on the edge of the New Forest.
There is everything in there that you could possibly need and it is all very good quality.
The kitchen is really well equipped and all cleaning products are provided. The lounge is very comfortable and there is an amazing selection of tourist information leaflets, maps and guides. Also lots of books to chose from if you fancy a relaxing read.
The bathroom is spacious and is spotlessly clean like the rest of the property.
The main bedroom is lovely with a very comfy bed, ample storage and extras, even a hot water bottle.
The top bedroom is adorable and little ones would love it!
As the weather was mild we did not need to light the wood burner and as it was Autumn couldn't have a BBQ but it is all there for you.
In Fordingbridge itself there is a good range of shops and some good restaurants and pubs.
In the New Forest there are several interesting walks and it is lovely to see all the animals roaming freely.
Lots of tourist attractions around such as Beaulieu, Buckler's Hard etc and it's not far to the coast either.
I can highly recommend the cottage and know that short breaks are sometimes available which is handy to know.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Nov 7, 2017
We are delighted you had such a good time and enjoyed the cottage and Fordingbridge. Another great shop has just opened, The Gourmet Grocer, 5 minutes walk and our guests can buy fresh local produce. What more could you want!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ann h
Chester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Fairytale cottage in Fordinbridge”
Reviewed September 9, 2017 for a stay in September 2017

Amble Back cottage is a short walk from all the main shops. Everything you need is at hand, lots of places to eat and drink. Lymington, Lyndhurst and Salisbury are places we visited and found really lovely. Plenty of walks for the dog as well. The New Forest is a real walkers and doggies delight, so much to see, lots of horses, donkeys, cows and pigs. I would definitely recommend Amble Back cottage, all you need inside the cottage, Sue provides a lot and if you have any problems she comes straight round, thanks Sue, we had a brilliant time, see you again soon xxx

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Sep 11, 2017
Thanks for your kind words. We are so glad you had a good time and even saw the pigs, they are such a treat to see snuffling around at this time of year. We would be delighted to welcome you back again. Sue
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lisachalk
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“Amble Back”
Reviewed September 2, 2017 for a stay in September 2017

Lovely, comfortable and very well equipped cottage. Just a couple of minutes walk into Fordingbridge which has all the amenities you need and five minutes drive into the fabulous New Forest.
Would definitely recommend for couples or families with small children. We stayed with our two five year olds and they loved it!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Sep 5, 2017
Thanks for the review Lisa and thanks for being star guests during the roadworks. We are so glad you enjoyed your stay and that your boys loved Fordingbridge, particularly the park with its play area and paddling pool. We hope to welcome you again one day. Sue
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sue T
Chippenham, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Perfect location 5 mins from town and county”
Reviewed August 24, 2017 for a stay in July 2017

Edge of town property that provides quality fixtures and furnishings that made our holiday stay easy and very enjoyable. Level walking into town and easy access to woodland walks along disused railway tracks, perfect for exercising the dog, both only 5 mins in either direction.
Fordingbridge is a good base to explore, coast, forest, riversides and heathland. The town has a little of everything and plenty of independent shops for browsing.
Weather on this holiday 'Mixed' but cottage provided a haven for late starts or early returns. Sheltered garden was lovely for alfresco breakfasts.
Enjoyed archery and axe throwing in the woods at nearby insight activities, Breamore House and countryside museum (undercover) and if there are engineers/builders in family try Bursledon Brick Museum, near Southampton. fascinating. 2 adults, 1 teen and a dog had a great week.
Owner made booking and arrival easy. Would definitely stay again.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Aug 28, 2017
We are so pleased you had a great holiday despite the dodgy weather. As you found there is always lots to do and masses to see. We would be delighted to welcome you back again. Sue
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ellengeur...
Delft, The Netherlands
2 reviews
“Excellent stay: comfortable cottage, well-equipped, lovely kiddies room and loved the 'private' tourist info”
Reviewed August 13, 2017 for a stay in July 2017

Great basis to explore Fordingbridge and New Forest. Convenient for public transport to Ringwood and Salisbury. There is lots to do. And what we enjoyed is that we could enjoy our own private 'tourist info' in the house, with lots of brochures, guides books and (walking) guides and maps. Contact with Sue, the owner (who we did not meet) was very pleasant and efficient.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Aug 15, 2017
We are delighted you had a good time using lots of the information that is in the cottage to help you get the most out of your stay in this beautiful area. Thanks for choosing us and we hope to see you again one day. Sue
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joanna W
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Mrs”
Reviewed July 21, 2017 for a stay in April 2017

A lovely house with everything you need for it to be a home from home. We especially enjoyed the bottle of wine in the fridge and chocolates on arrival and our children loved the toys and books in the attic bedroom. The house is situated in an ideal position for visiting the New Forest and surrounding area.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jul 22, 2017
We are delighted you enjoyed your family holiday at Amble Back. We like to offer a few extras as a surprise to get the holiday started. Come back and see us again soon.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alison D
Peacehaven, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Wonderful cottage central location”
Reviewed May 29, 2017 for a stay in May 2017

Lovely cottage very clean everything you could wish for, 5 minutes walk from Fordingbridge, lots of places to eat , lovely little shops, many walks straight from door, cottage immaculate delightful fenced garden. excellent park for children of all ages.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
May 30, 2017
It was lovely to meet you both and Daisy. I am glad you had a good time and enjoyed your many walks from the cottage. We hope to see you again one day. Sue
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing