We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Beautiful Cottage in the New Forest”
other travelers have booked this property
Relax in front of the fire in our cosy holiday cottage, logs provided
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Relax in front of the fire in our cosy holiday cottage, logs provided
Lots of lovely local art to admire Cosy sofa to chill out on, or you can relax in the rocking chair
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
25 reviews
Relax in front of the fire in our cosy holiday cottage, logs provided
Lots of lovely local art to admire
Cosy sofa to chill out on, or you can relax in the rocking chair
Love these houses by Snowdrift
Can't beat a rocking chair.  Spot the handmade lampshade
Great to come back to after a day sightseeing
Lovely hand made kitchen fully equipped with everything you need.
Dining for 4, plenty of colourful Orla Kiely crockery to brighten up your meals
Bakehouse 24 bread and Cranbourne cheese, just a 5 minute stroll away at Gourmet Grocer
Colourful Orla Kiely crockery and lots of new funky utensils make cooking a delight.
Full size smeg dishwasher and butler sink.  Lots of sharp knives and utensils
Plenty of space for coats, boots and flip flops by the funky hooks
Spacious main bedroom with very comfy kingsize bed, feather duvet and Scion or John Lewis bedding
More fabulous art and lots of books to relax with
Plenty of wardrobe space for your holiday clothes
Along the landing to the family bathroom and attic den
The attic room, perfect for grown up friends..
Great for couples
A den kids love with lots of toys and books and colourful bedding to suit age
Seaside themed family bathroom, full size bath and powerful shower.  Endless hot water
Love the huts
Great shower, and fab fluffy fresh John Lewis towels provided
Colourful crockery and shiny cutlery for those who like to cook
Ideal for family meals
Fordingbridge High Street, pretty and sells everything you need
The Town Hall is listed, a lovely building with lots going on
Great shops to browse in
The bridge with its distinctive  arches.  Perfect when admired from the park or patio of The George
Be a pirate in the riverside park
Lots to play on for kids big and small
Graceful beauty on the river
Don't forget to bring your scooter or skateboard
The Forest is springing into life.  The baby foals are here.
So cute.  Come soon and see for yourself
Fabulous Furzey Gardens in full bloom
Bouncy baby donkeys make you smile
The Forest has a lovely bluebell carpet
The fields are turning sunny yellow
The beautiful gallops on Salisbury downs
Perfect for off road biking
Bluebells and primroses so pretty in the New Forest
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Rental Home -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Fordingbridge, New Forest National Park Hampshire, Hampshire, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 25 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
debhalfor...
Nottingham, United Kingdom
1 review
“Beautiful Cottage in the New Forest”
Reviewed July 11, 2016 for a stay in July 2016

This is a great cottage, very comfortable and welcoming. Felt right at home. On arrival we found flowers on the mantel piece and wine in the fridge.

The fixtures and fittings are of a very high standard and the owners have thought of absolutely everything. Milk, sugar, tea, coffee - perfect for when you first arrive.

We loved the bird lightshade and cushion and the sofa was very comfortable, as were the beds! The bathroom here is quite large and had a very nice nautical theme - lovely.

We brought our two dogs and the enclosed garden was perfect for them, there was no way of them escaping.

The cottage is well place for exploring every part of the new forest and coast. Within 5 mins drive you can be in the forest. Go see the Donkey's at Godshill car park! There is a lovely park in the town with a great view of the famous bridge.

We had a great stay here and Sue the owner has been so helpful. Nothing is too much trouble and communication with her has been fantastic through out.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The bed!
Liked least: The road outside could be a little noisy at times.
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jul 12, 2016
I am delighted you had a good time and felt at home in our lovely cottage. The wild donkeys with their foals are so cute, it is a great time of year to enjoy the animals in the New Forest. Thanks for the review and for looking after Amble Back for us. Sue
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
barbie162
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“home from home”
Reviewed June 5, 2016 for a stay in May 2016

we received prompt service from sue (the owner) when we had a problem.The cottage was spotlessly clean and well stocked with larder basics in case you forgot something or ran out.The stairs were winding and narrow to the attic bedroom so no good if disabled or have mobility problems but otherwise they are fine .The rooms are furnished to a high standard and a real home from home.Fordingbridge has some good pubs to eat in we liked the ship inn.,the x3 bus runs every half hour to Salisbury and Bournemouth and the park has a great park and play area with paddling pool beside the river. I would recommend this cottage.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: the homeliness feel to the place
Liked least: the smell from the indian restaurant when the bedroom window was open
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jun 7, 2016
Thanks for taking the time to post this review. I'm delighted you had a good time and were able to sample some of the local pubs all within walking distance of Amble Back as well as make good use of the excellent bus service. We hope to see you again one day. Sue
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
murphymum...
Northampton, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“A lovely, convenient place to stay..”
Reviewed April 6, 2016 for a stay in April 2016

We booked this cottage at the very last minute, literally a few days before and despite this, it couldn't have been easier! Sue, the owner was fantastic at keeping in touch and was very kind in letting us access the cottage a little earlier than originally planned.

The cottage is spotlessly clean and has everything you need. We thought the lack of parking might have been an issue but it really wasn't at all. We got parked a few yards from the house every day we were there without any problem at all.

We would happily return!

Traveling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Apr 7, 2016
We are delighted we were able to accommodate your late booking and are always happy to help with different arrival and departure times when we can. We find we can always park nearby too. I am so glad you had a great time, do come back again one day. Sue
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Staverton, United Kingdom
Reviewed March 26, 2016 for a stay in March 2016
1
person found this review helpful

Traveling group: Teenagers
Your age range 65+
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
Mar 27, 2016
Thank you for your kind words. We are delighted you had a good holiday. It was lovely to meet you, hopefully you can return one day so your grandson can enjoy another stay in the attic den, looking at the stars. Sue
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed March 24, 2016 for a stay in March 2016

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: the home from home experience
Liked least: the narrow pavement outside the front door
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
Mar 26, 2016
We were delighted to welcome you to Amble Back following your earlier stay at Little Terraces. Thank you for your kind words. We are so pleased you liked all that the cottage and Fordingbridge have to offer. Hope to see you again. Sue
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Claudatro...
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Perfect anniversary retreat”
Reviewed March 23, 2016 for a stay in March 2016

My husband and I along with our 2 year old son were lucky enough to book this cottage last minute for our wedding anniversary for 3 nights stay. Booking was simple and easy and our late evening arrival time was unstressful thanks to the key safe.
Sue was very thoughtful and gave us a warm welcome via an anniversary note and wine in the fridge! The cottage is beautifully decorated, clean and very comfortable, we very much felt at home. The fire was a bonus on the chilly evenings and the local pub on the river in fordingbridge gave amazing service and really delicious food.
I would certainly recommend staying at this cottage. Dog friendly is a bonus, however we didn't take our collie on this occasion due to visiting peppa pig world at Paultons park! (Also very good, albeit pricey)

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Quirky cottage, lovely decor, comfy bed
Liked least: Was slightly envious of garden terrace at other property
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Mar 26, 2016
Thanks for taking the time to post a review. We are delighted you enjoyed your anniversary break at Amble Back. Do come back and see us again, perhaps when it is warm enough to relax by the river while your son plays in the park. Sue
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dorset, United Kingdom
Reviewed January 19, 2016 for a stay in January 2016

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: the suishy bed, comfy sofa, big bath, open plan, open fire,the art and being colourful/cheerful
Liked least: the fact we only had 2 nights there
Traveling group: Teenagers
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
Feb 4, 2016
Thanks for taking the time to post a review. We are glad you enjoyed your weekend away and it brighten up January. Come again in the Spring when you can see more of the lovely surrounding countryside and perhaps sit outside at The George, next to the river.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing