We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Perfect in every way!”
other travelers have booked this property
Lovely bright and comfortable double bedroom with built in wardrobe.
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Lovely bright and comfortable double bedroom with built in wardrobe.
The New Forest, right on your doorstep!
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
12 reviews
Lovely bright and comfortable double bedroom with built in wardrobe.
The New Forest, right on your doorstep!
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
1 Bedroom, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 8
Fordingbridge, New Forest National Park Hampshire, Hampshire, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 12 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Dutch first
English first
Any
English first
KentLoveB...
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Perfect in every way!”
Reviewed September 23, 2017 for a stay in September 2017

From the warm welcome and lovely bottle of wine on arrival to the cosiness of the property, we cannot fault this mini-break in The New Forest. The Tack Room overlooks the Forest itself, and we enjoyed watching deer graze in the meadow while we ate breakfast each morning. The Tack Room was immaculately clean. It is rare to find a holiday property that matches our cleanliness standards at home, but this one did. The cottage was spacious, beautifully and practically furnished and decorated and in a superb location for brilliant walks and pubs just a short drive away. Astrid and Mark were charming. Everything we needed was supplied. We give The Tack Room ten out of ten, and we would not hesitate to rush back. Absolutely loved it! So did our beautiful little miniature schnauzer!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marilyn M
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great Place”
Reviewed July 12, 2017 for a stay in July 2017
2
people found this review helpful

Have just got back from a 2 night stay in the Tack Room, everything was excellent. The bed was very comfortable with lovely bedding and pillows, the kitchen is very well equipped and to have our own pretty garden was a real bonus. We had our dog with us and it was great to just be able to go across the road to take him for a walk. We visited 3 local pubs that were all recommended by Astrid and had lovely meals in all of them. A terrific, quiet, relaxing place to stay. Definitely recommend it.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrea H
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Beautiful space and welcoming host.”
Reviewed June 30, 2017 for a stay in June 2017

We booked this property for three nights whilst in England picking up dogs from Heathrow Airport we had rescued, we wanted to stay outside of London, somewhere quiet with beautiful environment and welcoming dog friendly hosts.

We found that in Redlynch at this property, which was a great price, esp given how great the property/area was. As we drove into the area it was beautiful and we were greeted by a wonderful host in Astrid who is very friendly and just around corner if needed. She was great about our dogs staying at the property too.

The property was lovely, clean, had everything you'd require and the hosts had thought of everything that may be needed, including providing spare bedding and a hairdryer (saving us girls luggage space).

The area was beautiful (we had two beautiful sunny days, followed by a rainy one, yet was still a lovely area to be in) and great for walking in the new forest which we did. The deer and wild horses roaming was also a lovely sight. As was seeing the area and horses being protected.

There wasn't broadband but 4g on my phone network worked fine, and it was actually great being somewhere without wifi if honest. You can find somewhere if needed though.

It was a good area to explore, and there were plenty of places within a good radius to eat etc, especially for vegetarians like us. Infact the lovely staff at The Kings Head nearby even made food that wasn't on the Sunday menu for me, being a picky vegetarian.
Very friendly people, and lots of dog friendly places to eat and drink.

We sadly had to leave very early in the morning (after getting our dogs sorted) to get back to Scotland in time, so didn't get proper time to get things as sorted as we'd like and give our thanks again to the hosts.

Overall, I'd highly recommend this property to others. Glad to have visited here.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
06Anna06
Maidstone, United Kingdom
1 review
“Lovely stay at the Tack Room - will definitely be visiting again!”
Reviewed February 20, 2017 for a stay in February 2017

Stayed at the Tack Room for two nights - Astrid was very welcoming when we arrived and the cottage had everything we could have wanted. We enjoyed some lovely walks with our dog - our only regret is not booking for longer!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashleigh...
Hampshire, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“5star holiday home”
Reviewed December 31, 2016 for a stay in December 2016

The tack room was a perfect holiday cottage, the cottage was spotless on arrival and smelt clean and fresh. The cottage is well equipped, plenty of kitchen utensils so was able to prepare meals with ease. The bathroom was lovely and big with a huge shower cubicle and again it was very clean. The main bedroom was spacious, bed and bedding very comfortable and plenty of space in wardrobe for hanging clothes. Our son slept on the sofa bed in the lounge and he said it was very comfortable it was also very easy to put away so it didn't interfere with living space during the day. Cross over the road and you are in the woods and you might be lucky to see the deer. I would highly recommend this cottage and will book to go back again.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jan 1, 2017
Thank you Stuart and Ashleigh for your wonderful review. We look forward to welcoming you again soon. Astrid
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 13, 2016 for a stay in September 2016

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Wanli S
1 review
“Great holiday rental”
Reviewed September 5, 2016 for a stay in August 2016

We had a wonderful stay here with our two 6y/o kids. We love this place. It has everything we needed, there is even a laundry room for clothes wash. Garden is huge, extended into the forest. We saw some deer munching grass at the end of the garden. The information pack the owner left in the house is detailed, covering all aspects we could think of for holiday. Overall it is great and we would definitely like to come again.

Only the sofa bed is more for one adult than two as the extended parts do not seem to fit properly to the sofa itself. We let two kids sleep on the sofa without the extended part and the sofa is big enough for them, so we don't really mind.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Garden
Liked least: Sofa bed
Traveling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing