We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Ausgezeichnet”
other travelers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
18 reviews
Main bedroom
Front garden from cottage
Twin bedroom
Kitchen looking towards dining room
Bathroom - shower over bath
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 4
Fordingbridge, New Forest National Park Hampshire, Hampshire, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 18 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
English first
German first
Any
English first
Eduard Te...
1 review
“Ausgezeichnet”
Reviewed October 8, 2018 for a stay in September 2016

Everything was perfect.
Hosts was very friendly and helpful with our car problem
The accommodation was exellent.

We had a very nice Holiday and a lot of apples

Thank you and good bye
Edward and Beatice

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Henry U
Epsom, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Home from Home”
Reviewed September 3, 2018 for a stay in August 2018

This is our third stay at Garden Cottage. Had it not met our expectations we would not have been back three times. All things being equal we shall return again next year.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Sep 4, 2018
Many thanks for your kind review.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hannahlis...
Eaton Socon, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
“Beautiful cottage in stunning village”
Reviewed August 11, 2018 for a stay in August 2018

Garden Cottage literally has everything you need. We were a party of five; myself, my husband, 2 boys aged 9 and 6, and my daughter aged 2. The cottage provided a travel cot and high chair for my daughter, along with a much needed (for a wriggly 2 year old!) bathmat to stop her slipping. We've just returned home from a fabulous week away and we've wanted for nothing. The kitchen is probably better equipped than my own! You could smell the freshly laundered sheets and towels as soon as you went upstairs. It's clean and tidy, and very cosy without feeling small. There is a library of books, board games and books for the kids, DVDs, and freeview TV for the few periods of downtime we had whilst not out exploring. The back garden allowed ample playing space for the children, as did the front garden. The cottage is sat well back from the road so we felt safe that the children were not going to be in any danger.
The village of Rockbourne is very picturesque and we spent a few evenings wandering around it admiring the pretty cottages. There is a lovely pub in the village although we didn't make use of it as they don't serve children's meals. There are plenty of other gastro pubs nearby however, The Compasses being our favourite and one we ate in twice as there was a lovely beer garden where the children could run freely.
We were greeted on arrival by Sarah and Charles who were very friendly and welcoming.
Garden Cottage is ideally located for access to The New Forest and beaches such as Mudeford, and I would certainly recommend staying here to friends and family.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Aug 12, 2018
Thank you very much for your lovely review and we are so glad you enjoyed your holiday. It makes it all worthwhile!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FionaGlyn...
Pickering, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Very comfortable, well equipped cottage”
Reviewed July 25, 2018 for a stay in July 2018

Garden Cottage was a great place to stay for myself and my two girlfriends. The accommodation was very comfortable especially the beds. The shower was powerful and everywhere was clean. The WiFi was good and because there wasn’t any mobile signal there was a pay phone which shows you that everything was thought of to make sure guests had a pleasant stay. The kitchen was the best stocked of any holiday property I have stayed in and a small dishwasher and fridge/freezer made it a home from home.

Adele and Sarah had also thoughtfully provided lighter duvets as it was very hot! They also brought us some courgettes from their allotment- thank you!

We brought my dogs Sam and Daisy with us and the small fenced in garden at the back was adequate although considerably smaller than we had expected from the photos. We found some nice walks around the fields and enjoyed linking up the various footpaths around the village.

We had planned on walking more but it was too hot so even more important that the cottage was so comfortable. We watched the World Cup and Wimbledon so still a very successful visit to Garden Cottage, Rockbourne.

Thank you Sarah and Adele. Highly recommended

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jul 29, 2018
Many thanks for your lovely review. We are glad you enjoyed your stay.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Volker F
1 review
“Super nice cottage, very friendly hosts”
Reviewed June 4, 2018 for a stay in May 2018

The Garden Cottage is a fantastic country getaway close to the beautiful New Forest. We enjoyed our vacation from the very second we arrived. The house was very comfortable and a great place to stay.
Sarah and Adele were very helpful and gave perfect suggestions of places to visit. New Forest, Beaulieu (Spring Jumble, World of Top Gear), Hengistbury Head, Lulworth Cove, Salisbury, HMS Victory and excellent pubs in the area - we wished we had more time.
Thank you Sarah and Adele.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jun 5, 2018
Many thanks Volker for your kind review. We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us and hope to see you again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
leshardin...
Crowborough, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Winter holiday in Spring”
Reviewed April 3, 2018 for a stay in March 2018

Well appointed cottage in beautiful setting and close to Fordingbridge with its ample shops; very friendly owners.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amanda W
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Picture Perfect Cottage”
Reviewed September 26, 2017 for a stay in September 2017
1
person found this review helpful

This holiday was to be the first in this country for a good few years with family members and from the moment we pulled up in front of Garden Cottage we knew we had made a good choice.
The cottage has two bedrooms, one with a double bed and the other with two singles. The bathroom upstairs has a shower over the bath and toilet. There was plenty of towels. There is a second toilet downstairs with a hand basin. The kitchen has a microwave and Sarah had left provisions for a much needed drink once we arrived after our four hour drive.
Sarah also greeted us on arrival (Adele was away) and showed us all around the cottage.
The location of Garden Cottage was great for us, very central allowing us to visit a few tourist hotspots and take some great walks along the many designated New Forest treks.
After each long day it was so nice to return to Garden Cottage and relax , we even played some of the board games in the lounge.
There are many personal touches in the cottage (vases of fresh cut flowers which I think came from the garden) which made our stay so perfect.
Thank you Sarah and Adele.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Sep 28, 2017
Thank you for your lovely review - I am sorry I didn't meet you but maybe another time! Like many of our guests we hope you will return. Adele
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing