We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful, nearly perfect. Not overly wheelchair friendly though.”
Review of Breamore House

Breamore House
Certificate of Excellence
Christchurch
Level Contributor
23 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Beautiful, nearly perfect. Not overly wheelchair friendly though.”
Reviewed July 19, 2014

Visited last week with a wheelchair-bound friend. Although we could park near all the attractions with ease, trying to push a 14+ stone gentleman over gravel to the house, tea rooms and museum is not a walk in the park. Having said that, everything else was lovely. The museum surpassed all expectations, lunch was delightful and the house itself was wonderful. I liked the fact that it was not perfect; a little bit of damp here, some peeling wallpaper there, a trace of rotting wood both here and there! It has a lived-in and well-loved feel about it. Bob, the tour guide, was a real character; he knew just about everything there is to know about the estate. I only live some 20 miles away and will make sure I make a return visit.

Purely for selfish reasons, I wonder whether the estate would consider investing in a Tramper Buggy? Further details from Countryside Mobility, Living Options, Devon.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Tolcarne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

103 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    55
    34
    7
    4
    3
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Market Lavington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“A fascinating glimpse into the past”
Reviewed July 16, 2014 via mobile

We had a most enjoyable visit to this gracious old Elizabethan manor house, set in beautiful surroundings.The guided tour was informative, knowledgeable and humourous, with snippets of information which will "stick" in the mind. The museum comprised a wonderful collection of artefacts and machinery - not all of which looked unfamiliar! The cafe and shop complemented the manor and museum and even our dog was spoilt with biscuits! Thank you Breamore House staff and congratulations on providing a lovely day out.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Liz T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
365 reviews
160 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 196 helpful votes
“Lovely Building in a Gorgeous Setting - "Lived in" Feel”
Reviewed July 8, 2014

The weather was appalling and this house seemed very dark so we will return on a sunny day (and explore the gardens) - however the house really does have a great atmosphere and the guide gave an interesting insight into the families that have owned the property.

It also has a slightly sad aspect as the damp is causing them major problems so many rooms have damage - such a shame but I can guess how significant repair costs will be.

The visit includes an excellent museum - a mini village with historic machinery, shops, signs and all sorts.

Plus the saxon church - a treat even with the rain hammering down.

Well worth the £19 admission price for 2 people and worth a return visit.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank IanandGilly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fordingbridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Living history”
Reviewed July 1, 2014

a privilege to visit such a beautiful historic house still lived in by the owners, who are obviously struggling to conserve the fabric and contents against the onslaught of years, finance and the weather. Not the polish of the National Trust, but perhaps more realistic.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank Anthony P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Day out in the countryside.”
Reviewed June 29, 2014

Nothing to dislike really,peaceful, relaxing,nice place to be.All the people came across as being very friendly,I guess we were all here for the same things.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank david m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Breamore House also viewed

Milford on Sea, Lymington
Fordingbridge, New Forest National Park Hampshire
 
Lyndhurst, New Forest National Park Hampshire
Ringwood, New Forest National Park Hampshire
 

Been to Breamore House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing