We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“EXCELLENT INDIAN TAKEAWAY”

Surma Valley Restaurant
Ranked #11 of 25 Restaurants in Fordingbridge
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Indian, Asian, Bangladeshi, Balti
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Families with children, Business meetings, Kids, Romantic, Special occasions, Large groups
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dorchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
“EXCELLENT INDIAN TAKEAWAY”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 14, 2012

We were staying nearby in a holiday cottage at Burgate, near Fordingbridge in the New Forest for a little pre Xmas break and fancied an Indian. As we had our little dog with us, we thought it would be better to get a takeaway (& also it meant we could relax in front of the TV) The food was really really good. It wasn't cheap but was definitely worth it. The restaurant itself looked lovely as it was in a really pretty old thatched premises.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Mary H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

235 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    157
    47
    13
    7
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Salisbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
45 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Good curry, nice place, good staff.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 13, 2012 via mobile

If you want a good curry with decent choice on the menu go here. The chef's specials are usually a safe bet. We live nearby and always feel safe taking friends and family here.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank leaveatrail
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Horley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
276 reviews
212 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
“Very disappointed!”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 25, 2012

Was highly rated my some others, but in reality not that good!!!!
Shame as we was looking forward to a good meal especially as it was my partners birthday.
Certainly wouldn't go again!

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MOJONO1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minster, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Lovely meal”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 24, 2012

This 400 year old thatched restaurant looks the part before even trying the food.We were not dissapointed ,the food was fantastic thankyou Armed and Naz...we were here on holiday and would definitely now reccomend this restaurant to true indian food lovers.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank hungary1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ringwood, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
40 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“RATHER DISAPPOINTED”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 17, 2012

Having read some excellent reviews for this establishment we decided to take my Sister who was staying with us for a few days. We visited on a Friday evening and booked an early table. The food was good and well presented but the downside was we had to wait at least an hour and a half for the main course. Yes, they were extremely busy but there was no apology from the waiting staff. The wine list was poor and rather expensive. The bottle of Rose we ordered was not of good quality and the following day we felt sickly and experienced upset stomach's. All in all we were disappointed and probably won't visit this establishment again.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Highflyer874
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Surma Valley Restaurant also viewed

Fordingbridge, New Forest National Park Hampshire
Fordingbridge, New Forest National Park Hampshire
 
Fordingbridge, New Forest National Park Hampshire
Fordingbridge, New Forest National Park Hampshire
 

Been to Surma Valley Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing