We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The perfect country break”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Fordingbridge
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Feather Down Farms at Midgham Farm
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“The perfect country break”
Reviewed November 3, 2012

A much needed peaceful break in the wonderful New Forest. Everything you want from the great outdoors but without the pain and inconvenience that sometimes comes with camping! Midgham Farm is the perfect setting, not too remote that you can't nip into Fordinbridge for pub lunch or a supermarket run but remote enough to lose yourself from the rat race and feel like you're in the middle of nowhere. The excellently set up Feather Down farm tents set in the most magical woodland on the friendliest of farms. Cannot fault the services, a fantastic honesty farm shop full of essentials and great local produce and the shower facilities make camping with a toddler so much easier. The owner Sammy works her socks off to make you happy, extremely friendly and helpful, I suggest they bottle her energy and sell it in the honestly shop!

We spent a week there with a 19 month old who loved the horses, the pigs, the alpaca, the chickens, the cows, the rabbit, the pheasants and the lovely farm dogs Toffee & Twinkle. We ate great food cooked on the wood burning stove and outside on the open fire, the local beef stew cooked in a cauldren over the open fire is a must! Can't recommend it highly enough, we'll definitely be going back.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Dave B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

47 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    37
    5
    5
    0
    0
See reviews for
36
1
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Sevenoaks, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed September 17, 2012

We are the Ruddle family, comprising two adults and two kids - one aged 3.5 yrs and one aged 4.5 yrs. We have never camped/glamped before so emotions were mixed and the thought of not having a light switch or DVDs on demand had us (ie. me ... the mum) filled with slight trepidation.

The journey was ghastly ... M25 and M3 torture. However all was forgotten when we arrived at Midgham Farm and warmly welcomed by Sammy.

We quickly stocked up with our firewood, food from the honesty shop and pre-ordered breakfast hamper and drove down into the forest, to our tent, called 'Willow'.

We didn't have much daylight left so Sammy made absolutely sure we knew where everything was, what to do with the wood stove (warned the kids about the heat etc), how to keep the cool box larder cool and made sure we were set to start cooking dinner.

All the cooking utensils, cutlery etc. were there, and it was really easy to cook a simple meal of pasta on the stove ... one thing I learnt is fill the huge meta tea-pot provided on the stove after cooking, and you have hot water to do the washing up with afterwards. The husband made a fire outside on the BBQ/firepit and we sat down, listened to the owls, watched the rooks nest and starred at the stars coming out. Sammy came back to check on us and arranged the farm tour for the next day. We can report the kids slept like logs and we actually had to wake them up !

We had the best bacon and eggs for breakfast. All produced on the farm by Sammy and Henry. Eating the delicious, salty bacon and rich, yellow yolked eggs actually felt like it was doing us the power of good rather than feeling guilty for eating such a decadent breakfast !

We met Sammy for the tour, where she took us on the back of her 4x4. We fed her wood-dwelling-happy-as-Larry black spotted pigs, alpacas, show ponies and foals. My two were besides themselves with all the animals. The foals were a delight and in such beautiful surroundings. We were told we were more than welcome to see the animals any time we wanted to.

For any family with a pony-mad child (or parent, like me), this is the place for you. Sammy has produced award winning HOYS show ponies and her dedication is plain to see.

Some of the things that we did during our two day stay:

Went for a ride at Arniss Equestrian. Fantastic hacks in the New Forest.
Went to the Royal Oak for lunch
Played with the dogs (Twinkle and Toffee)
Went to look for the wild black cat who lives in the forest (spotted and chased by Twinkle a number of times)
Kids groomed Sammy's show pony, Minnie (who was BRILLIANT with the kids)
Collected eggs from friendly hens every morning
Looked after the the bunny rabbit
Made walking sticks
Devoured home-reared sausages, bacon and eggs and the neighbour's aberdeen angus fillet beef. Our 5-a-day fruit/veg rule wasn't obeyed but watching our daughter massacre a steak was great to see.


If you plan to come to Midgham Farm (in fact any Feather Down farm), here are our suggestions:

Definitely bring another lamp (ie. torch 'lamp'). Torches are a must-have, but then that goes without saying.
Definitely get there with a good couple of hours of daylight so that you can set up camp and get the wood burning stove lit and hot (we got stuck on the M25 and had a tough half hour sorting our tent out because we arrived late).
Definitely have the 'ready bed' service & the breakfast hamper ... the farm sausages, bacon and eggs are a winner and cook divinely on the top of the wood burning stove.
Bring hand wash.

If you forget anything, the honesty shop has just about anything. However there is also a Spar at Fordingbridge if you need anything else.

Sammy and Henry (and Twinkle, Toffee, Bobby, Chloe, the sheep and chickens to name but a few) were amazing hosts. They made our first camping experience a very positive one. At least we have some sausages in the freezer to remind us of our wonderful weekend away. And when they are gone we will just have to come back to restock - sooner rather than later !
We can't wait to visit again :)))

Room Tip: We had the Willow tent, so the furthest away. Sammy very kindly put us there based on the other ten...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Polly W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 20, 2012

Just spent 4 nights at midgham farm with my wife and 4 young children. Sammy and the girls were very welcoming and the tents were situated in an ideal location. This was our first camping trip with our kids who are 9,5,4 years and 6 months so we did anticipate some issues. Ultimately though, staying in the woods meant that come late afternoon/early evening our 3 eldest were happy to play in a safe and beautiful environment. And with no screens!! Such a pleasure to see them making their own fun and making new friends rather than the usual cravings for modern technology.

Some things to bear in mind though. You are obviously camping and the want for simple things takes some time such as lighting the fire to make a cup of tea or prepare our default 'quick' meal at home of pasta and tomato sauce. You'll need to pick up necessary supplies from the superbly stocked honesty shop daily but the whole experience is one that makes you and your kids appreciate that things don't always come at the snap of fingers!

The tents themselves are spacious even for a family of 6 and the showers, which are a short walk from the tents themselves are as good as you could expect from any campsite I'm sure. Being camped in the forest itself rather than a flat field was a big plus for us, initially I thought it would be too dark but actually, seeing the kids enjoy the woodland made us realise that camping in a flat field would not have been ideal no matter what the views. In fact, thanks to the good weather, waking up in the morning to the sunlight bursting through the trees was pretty special.

I would highly recommend the farm tour, and also like to thank sammy and her team for a wonderful break that my kids were asking me when they would be going back to before we had even left!
Lastly, the fillet steak from the farm shop was as good as I've had for some time and very reasonably priced. All in all a great camping experience and lovely staff and proprietor. Thanks again Sammy and co.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Benbeth2008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level 5 Contributor
37 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
Reviewed July 6, 2012

We recently stayed at Midgham farm with our two kids (aged 4 and 2). We all thoroughly enjoyed our week. The tent was so spacious and very well equipped. The kids loved every minute of it and slept so well in the "cupboard" that we are tempted to see if they'd like to sleep in a cupboard at home too! The tour of the farm was great fun and helped us get our bearings. The honesty shop is well stocked and the shower block is lovely & clean. There's lots to do in the area. We'd highly recommend The New Forest, Featherdown and Midgham Farm for a great holiday.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cailin-11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bradford, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 4, 2012

This was our first featherdown experience but will definately not be our last. We travelled down from Yorkshire especially to stay at Midgham Farm as our daughter is horse mad! Yes, it was a long way but worth it.

Sammy was an excellent host, dealing with all the guests personally as they arrived. She had also rung before we left home to go through a few things which we felt was a really nice touch. There was another little girl about the same age as ours who had been put in the tent next door which was great as they hooked up together soon after arriving.

The farm tour was great fun and not something we had expected but showed us all the highlights and gave us our bearings too. The night the pizza oven was lit was great as it brought everyone out to have a chat whilst the pizza cooked.

Our daughter loved the fact she could pet the rabbits, collect eggs, feed the lambs, muck out the stables! feed the horses. The two new foals were just an added bonus. Sammy made her feel very special and a big help (not always easy with 8 year olds!)

The highlight to me was to watch her wander down the lane leading a miniature pony into a new field.

Plenty of places to visit - Moors Valley is great fun with lots to do, Seaside not too far, New Forest beautiful and Monkey World (near Poole) brilliant.

Can't think of a single down side to the experience. Well done and thank you Sammy, I am sure we will be back again in the future.

Mark, Rita and Gracie.

Room Tip: We stayed in Willow which was the last in the row and very private. Most of the tents are set in th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rita S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hereford, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed June 1, 2012

Have just returned from a Mon-Fri stay at Midgham Farm and honestly can't fault any part of our stay. Sammy was delightful and extremely helpful. She always seemed to be on hand (whilst also running the farm). The location was lovely in the woods. We had hot weather, so the woods provided welcome shade (and a few degrees cooler). I suppose it could also keep the rain away if you weren't so lucky. The streams, river, den-building in the woods and looking after the animals was perfect for us and our boys (4 and 2). The sense of freedom that the children had was priceless and we felt completely relaxed and safe at all times. The boys loved the cupboard bed which easily slept both. Not much of a view in the evening from the comfort of the chairs at the front, so if you want to gaze at the countryside and hills, then probably not the best for you. However, if you like the idea of sleeping in the woods (which is very good fun) then this is the perfect spot. The honesty farm shop is well-stocked and the showers were lovely. We didn't get bitten once by any mosquitos, but citronella candles will keep the other flies away. I loved our stay, slept well (better than at home, but that may have been the fresh air and the evening glass of wine on the deck!) All the families had children of a similar age, so we never once worried about the noise or behaviour (although, obviously our boys are angels). We'll be going back at our next opportunity. The location is great on the edge of the New Forest, so if you can drag yourself away, there's a disused railway track at Burley for cycling, Ringwood for your waitrose shopping if you do glamping with a capital G, and the beaches near Christchurch for sea and sandcastles. Don't hesitate in booking this.

Room Tip: Phone the host and ask about the location of each of the tents. Some may be better positioned than o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank EeH12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed May 13, 2012

We've just returned from a great weekend at Midgham Farm. It was our first Featherdown Farm experience and we had a fabulous time. The facilities were great, there was plenty to do and the sun shone! The children thoroughly enjoyed collecting eggs, feeding the lambs and brushing the horses and they disappeared into the woods for hours at a time to make dens and dam streams. They also enjoyed the rope swing and trampoline. The farm tour was a real highlight and Sammy made us all feel very welcome. We'll definitely be back again!

Room Tip: We stayed in Chestnut which got lots of afternoon sun.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BritneySW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Fordingbridge hotels
2.6 mi away
Cypress Log Cabins
Cypress Log Cabins
#1 of 14 in Fordingbridge
275 reviews
0.8 mi away
Augustus John
Augustus John
#2 of 12 in Fordingbridge
130 reviews
2.6 mi away
The Compasses Inn
The Compasses Inn
#1 of 1 in Damerham
120 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
The Three Lions
The Three Lions
#1 of 1 in Stuckton
118 reviews
1.1 mi away
The Ship Inn
The Ship Inn
#10 of 12 in Fordingbridge
52 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hill Cottage Farm Camping & Caravan Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Feather Down Farms at Midgham Farm? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Feather Down Farms at Midgham Farm

Property: Feather Down Farms at Midgham Farm
Address: Midgham, New Forest National Park Hampshire, Fordingbridge, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > New Forest National Park Hampshire > Fordingbridge
Amenities:
Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 14 Specialty Lodging in Fordingbridge
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ever wanted to stay in a bluebell wood? Or camp out by the New Forest? Well you can do both at this gorgeous addition to the Feather Down stable. Talking of horses, Midgham is a Chiddock pony stud farm, so it is the ideal farm for young horse lovers. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Feather Down Farms At Midgham Farm Fordingbridge, New Forest National Park Hampshire, Hampshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing