We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very nice!”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of The Fighting Cocks

The Fighting Cocks
Ranked #15 of 25 Restaurants in Fordingbridge
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Scenic view, Kids, Families with children
Dining options: Brunch, Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Drinks, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
37 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Very nice!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 24, 2013

Met friends here for Sunday lunch. The restuarant ara was all fully booked so we grabbed a table in the bar area.
Lovely atmosphere with fire roaring in the grate and dogs laid quietly on the floor.
Good selection of beers and cider.
Food was quick, surprisingly with so many people eating. Delicious roast dinner, venison pie and seafood spaghetti. Smaller portions were made available for the children.
Will definitely return.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank nessnessness
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

671 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    206
    156
    124
    80
    105
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Fordingbridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
103 reviews
62 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Good but basic pub food”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 17, 2013 via mobile

The Fighting Cocks is just inside the boundary of the New Forest in Hampshire. Food is varied and locally sourced but is typical pub fayre. Portions are large but quality is variable. It's hard to get a table in the peak tourist season so it's best to book. Worth a visit but don't expect too much.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank ChallengerSRT8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taunton, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“GREAT PLACE, GREAT FOOD GREAT HOSTS”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 15, 2013

just returned from a 4 day mid week break at sandy balls holiday centre with another couple, vist at least 3 times a year with different people and each visit we eat at least 2-3 times at the fighting cocks easily walked from sandyballs and not once have i or any of the people i am with ever been disappointed with any of our meals, in fact deciding what to eat from the very varied menu is the only problem!! i can honestly say that the homemade steak n ale pie is the best i have EVER tasted, the meat is plentiful and very tender and the pastry is so light,enjoyed every bit of it and very highly recommend it, we cannot fault the friendly welcome extended to both humans and dog, a great place to eat whether you are soaked through wearing wet clothes and muddy wellies after a lovely forest walk or arrive by car you are made to feel welcome, see you in Nov 2013 for my pie fix!!!

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank anne-mariesomerset
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
56 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 121 helpful votes
“:-D”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 13, 2013

The basic menu is supplemented with a wide choice of options on the specials board. The pub has a great location, but we did not find the seating or atmosphere to be exceptional. It was a cold Saturday lunchtime though and not overly busy, so whilst there was space to sit in the restaurant area, as we had been cycling and were a little mud splattered, we chose to sit in the much smaller dog friendly area - complete with gnawed chairs :o) The staff were friendly, and the FOOD was EXCELLENT. I would recommend the steak and ale pie which was delicious with lots good quality tender meat- the best I have had in a long time!! I can imagine that this pub can cater for all tastes and now know why it is so crowded in summer.
We will go again!

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jenny000000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fordingbridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“OK Pub Food”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 12, 2013

Pretty crowded from a nearby holiday centre and full of kids treating it like a playground. They were wheeling out burgers and fish and chips by the barrowload. It was a plateful, and it was ok. We'd go again at a quiet tme.

Helpful?
1 Thank Espeesix
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Fighting Cocks also viewed

Fordingbridge, New Forest National Park Hampshire
Fordingbridge, New Forest National Park Hampshire
 
Fordingbridge, New Forest National Park Hampshire
Fordingbridge, New Forest National Park Hampshire
 
Fordingbridge, New Forest National Park Hampshire
Stuckton, Fordingbridge
 

Been to The Fighting Cocks? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing