We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic food” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Rose and Thistle

Rose and Thistle
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Bar scene, Families with children, Large groups
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wine and Beer
Description: The Rose and Thistle a beautiful 16th Century thatched pub is nestled in the picture postcard village of Rockbourne on the outskirts of the New Forest. Outside is a lovely cottage garden to while away sunny days and watch the world go by. Inside is the perfect place to spend any time of year with the traditional interior of beamed ceilings, carved wooden benches and cosy log fires in the winter. Colin Beck our head chef works with local suppliers to create a traditional menu sourced locally and seasonally where possible. Our beef and pork come from the New Forest and our game is from the village, with Manor farm pheasant, pigeon and rabbit together with venison from the local game keeper. Fish is delivered directly from the south coast and vegetables are from local suppliers. The menu changes regularly but always includes favourites such as our famous home made steak and kidney pudding and slow cooked pork belly along side seasonal specials. We also offer a good range of bar snacks and lighter meals including Welsh Rarebit, Sausage and Mash as well as The Rose and Thistle sandwiches including rare roast beef, smoked salmon with watercress and the famous RAT burger with smoked bacon, emmental and hand cut chips! The Rose and Thistle, built around 1580, was originally 3 cottages and became a bakers which then later started to retail liquor. The first listed landlord was Richard Pope in the early 1890's whose photo can still be found on the gentleman's toilet door. The pub has had several colourful landlords over the years one of whom is rumoured to still haunt the building. In the 1970's the place was made famous for its seafood by Pete and Pam Reid and people flocked from all around to taste the lobster. A consortium of villagers then purchased the pub who later sold to Tim Norfolk all who maintained the places great reputation for food over the last 20 years. Tim retired in June 2008 when Kerry arrived, taking the pub from strength to strength. In late 2014 Chris took over the reins, with his friendly attitude and fantastic team you can always be guaranteed a warm welcome and delicious freshly prepared food.
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Fantastic food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 18, 2014

Visited this evening for our anniversary and were very pleased with our choice. Staff were really friendly,food fantastic the steak and pork melts in your mouth. Lovely surrondings will definately visit again

  • Visited July 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank kareypitkin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
roseandthistle2011, Owner at Rose and Thistle, responded to this review, August 8, 2014
Thanks for taking the time to write such a nice review. We are delighted you enjoyed your experience and especially the pork belly which as you say is a "melt in the mouth" treat! Look forward to seeing you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

459 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    361
    72
    11
    11
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Reading, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Gem of a find”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 11, 2014

We found this pub via tripadvisor... interesting route from Southampton. Just lovely! Food was brilliant... carefully prepared and well presented. If you expect quick service, give this a miss. Lovely, friendly staff. All food freshly prepared, hence not quick but well worth it! oh.. and free wifi! :-)

  • Visited July 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Ellamental66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
roseandthistle2011, Owner at Rose and Thistle, responded to this review, August 8, 2014
Thanks for writing a lovely review. As you say we don't offer fast food - but rather freshly prepared dishes which are cooked to order - I am pleased you see this as a positive! Hope to see you again one day soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dover, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Delightful pub in a beautiful village”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 9, 2014 via mobile

Visited for the second time Saturday night. They have quite a short menu which is always a good sign! Service was prompt and friendly and every course was delicious! We will definitely be back when we are in the area again. And spare some time to look around the village as it really is lovely.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Badger1950
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
roseandthistle2011, Owner at Rose and Thistle, responded to this review, August 8, 2014
Thanks for your great review. We are really pleased you have enjoyed yourself on both of your visits and look forward to welcoming you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ringwood
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“cycle stopoff”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 9, 2014

Stopped for lunch when out on a day cycling.Kerry the landlady made us very welcome and explained the specials to us. The pub is beautifully preserved and there is tons of history.
The food was fantastic, the beer well kept and the staff friendly and knowledgeable. Will definitely go back and try more of the menu. Yummy...

  • Visited July 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank StuartRingwood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
roseandthistle2011, Owner at Rose and Thistle, responded to this review, July 10, 2014
Thanks Stuart for your great review - I am pleased you found us on your cycle route and enjoyed your lunch with us. I look forward to seeing you again in the future - hopefully your friend will have his normal bike back on the road by then!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
83 reviews
62 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Old style quality”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 7, 2014 via mobile

No piped music or "themed" decor. Just excellent food served in very traditional village pub. The food takes a little while to arrive so not the place for those in a hurry or those who seek a bustling lively environment.
Possibly the best pub lunch I've had for a decade or more. Small selection if lighter meals so you'll probably be tempted, as we were, to try the main menu at £12+ per dish. Try the steak & kidney pudding. The epitome of "man food".

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Mike N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
roseandthistle2011, Owner at Rose and Thistle, responded to this review, July 9, 2014
Thanks you for taking the time to write such a great review. I love the title you give the review as I believe it sums up everything we strive to achieve here from the standard of food to the atmosphere. Hopefully we will see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Rose and Thistle also viewed

Fordingbridge, New Forest National Park Hampshire
Fordingbridge, New Forest National Park Hampshire
 
Fordingbridge, New Forest National Park Hampshire
Lyndhurst, New Forest National Park Hampshire
 
Lymington, New Forest National Park Hampshire
Fordingbridge, New Forest National Park Hampshire
 

Been to Rose and Thistle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing