We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely spot”
Review of Rose and Thistle

Rose and Thistle
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Late Night, Delivery, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Description: The Rose and Thistle a beautiful 16th Century thatched pub is nestled in the picture postcard village of Rockbourne on the outskirts of the New Forest. Outside is a lovely cottage garden to while away sunny days and watch the world go by. Inside is the perfect place to spend any time of year with the traditional interior of beamed ceilings, carved wooden benches and cosy log fires in the winter. Colin Beck our head chef works with local suppliers to create a traditional menu sourced locally and seasonally where possible. Our beef and pork come from the New Forest and our game is from the village, with Manor farm pheasant, pigeon and rabbit together with venison from the local game keeper. Fish is delivered directly from the south coast and vegetables are from local suppliers. The menu changes regularly but always includes favourites such as our famous home made steak and kidney pudding and slow cooked pork belly along side seasonal specials. We also offer a good range of bar snacks and lighter meals including Welsh Rarebit, Sausage and Mash as well as The Rose and Thistle sandwiches including rare roast beef, smoked salmon with watercress and the famous RAT burger with smoked bacon, emmental and hand cut chips! The Rose and Thistle, built around 1580, was originally 3 cottages and became a bakers which then later started to retail liquor. The first listed landlord was Richard Pope in the early 1890's whose photo can still be found on the gentleman's toilet door. The pub has had several colourful landlords over the years one of whom is rumoured to still haunt the building. In the 1970's the place was made famous for its seafood by Pete and Pam Reid and people flocked from all around to taste the lobster. A consortium of villagers then purchased the pub who later sold to Tim Norfolk all who maintained the places great reputation for food over the last 20 years. Tim retired in June 2008 when Kerry arrived, taking the pub from strength to strength. In late 2014 Chris took over the reins, with his friendly attitude and fantastic team you can always be guaranteed a warm welcome and delicious freshly prepared food.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Lovely spot”
Reviewed July 1, 2013

Service was really excellent and food lovely
Portions on the small side but who cares when it tastes so good and quality in there :-)

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank YorkiePud13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
roseandthistle2011, Owner at Rose and Thistle, responded to this review, July 3, 2013
Thanks for taking the time to write a great review. We are very pleased you thought everything was high quality. Interesting your feedback on the portion size as we have just reduced it due to wastage - back to the drawing board! Hopefully if you ever find yourself back in the New Forest we will see you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

488 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    386
    75
    12
    11
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Salisbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A great place to eat in such a quaint setting”
Reviewed June 29, 2013

We went for lunch to celebrate my husbands birthday. I was looking for somewhere we haven't been before & not too far from home, so decided to try The Rosé & Thistle. It really was superb. Service,quality of food & surroundings we could not fault at all. If there was just one slight negative, it is that the menu isn't very interesting for children. Although most of the menu could be made smaller to suit children, it didn't really appeal to them.
On saying that though, we will definitely be going back there again on special occasions & we would definitely recommend it.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank KandN_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
roseandthistle2011, Owner at Rose and Thistle, responded to this review, July 3, 2013
Thanks so much for your lovely review, myself and the team really enjoy getting such pleasant feedback and knowing that you had a good visit to us - so all the hard work is paying off! Thanks also for the feedback regarding children's options - we can see what we can do with future menus.
Looking forward to seeing you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surrey
Level Contributor
54 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Traditional Good Pub Food (& Dog-Friendly!)”
Reviewed June 24, 2013

We took a jaunt down the New Forest on the early May bank holiday, and never one to leave the eating out experience to chance (one too many disasters!) I researched, and found this little pub for our lunchtime stop.

Dog-friendly, always a winner, and serving really good quality traditional pub food, we were all really impressed. I had steak & kidney pudding, a rare and scrumptious treat, and for a split second I regretted my choice, imagining a not so good effort, but once tasted, all worries were eliminated. A generous side of fresh vegetables were also provided.

A lovely place to visit and eat. How often can you say that about a dog-friendly venue?! I would probably rate this 'good' if there was the option, but that's not a negative, it's just that I would perhaps put a great gastro pub in the 'very good' category. This was good in a traditional way.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank woodpa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
roseandthistle2011, Owner at Rose and Thistle, responded to this review, June 26, 2013
Thanks for taking the time to write a kind review. I am very pleased that our food lived up to your expectations once tasted - sometimes its hard to make a good home made steak and kidney pud look pretty on a plate! If you are ever back in the area it would be great to welcome you back again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ferndown, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
147 reviews
78 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
“Old fashioned charm with superb food”
Reviewed June 24, 2013

We visited the Rose and Thistle last weekend with friends and family on recommendation, and whilst its a bit off the beaten track - its very worth the effort. Most iomportantly you have to book - there are only a few tables and you don't want to be disappointed. We had all three courses, soups to start then steak and kidney pudding with all the trimmings - and the vegetables were so fresh and included beetroot, my favorite. And to be perfectly honest we were really too full up for pudding - but the home made sorbets tempted us - I had rhubarb sorbet and I thought I had gone to heaven - sublime !! They serve a very nice selection of wines and they are not pricey - and real ales - which the boys in the group were delighted about. Its a very cosy delightful atmosphere - wooden beams and cushions. In the winter they have real log fires - we will be going back to check that bit out. We will definately be going again. The food was so good we bought the chef a pint and he popped out to say thank you - now how nice is that ! Absolutely delightful

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank busy1954
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
roseandthistle2011, Owner at Rose and Thistle, responded to this review, June 26, 2013
Thank you for your very kind review - I am so pleased your table enjoyed your meals - I know the chef enjoyed his pint! Looking forward to seeing you again in the winter to check out our fires - if not before!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Very pleasant find”
Reviewed June 21, 2013

We came upon the Rose and Thistle simply because we were walking in the area. We popped in for lunch, hoping for a nice sandwich, and ended up having the most delicious meal we've had for a long time!

The regular menu sounds lovely but it was a couple of specials that tempted us. We had rillette of pork and a fish platter to start; then fillets of turbot with brown shrimp, samphire, capers, nut butter and new potatoes and a crab, crevette and samphire salad with hot buttered new potatoes. All absolutely delicious! And then shared a chocolate brownie ice cream sundae to finish.

Friendly staff, lovely garden, quaint old pub inside. Would highly recommend it and well worth a drive to find it.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank jo_ho
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
roseandthistle2011, Owner at Rose and Thistle, responded to this review, June 26, 2013
Thanks for taking the time to write such a nice review. It really is very gratifying for us when people pop in for a sandwich but then realise what else we have on offer and go on to enjoy it as much as you seemed to. Hopefully if you are in the area we will see you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Rose and Thistle also viewed

Fordingbridge, New Forest National Park Hampshire
Fordingbridge, New Forest National Park Hampshire
 
Fordingbridge, New Forest National Park Hampshire
Fordingbridge, New Forest National Park Hampshire
 
Lyndhurst, New Forest National Park Hampshire
 

Been to Rose and Thistle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing