We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely pub, great setting, will revisit”
Review of Rose and Thistle

Rose and Thistle
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Breakfast, Delivery, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Description: The Rose and Thistle a beautiful 16th Century thatched pub is nestled in the picture postcard village of Rockbourne on the outskirts of the New Forest. Outside is a lovely cottage garden to while away sunny days and watch the world go by. Inside is the perfect place to spend any time of year with the traditional interior of beamed ceilings, carved wooden benches and cosy log fires in the winter. Colin Beck our head chef works with local suppliers to create a traditional menu sourced locally and seasonally where possible. Our beef and pork come from the New Forest and our game is from the village, with Manor farm pheasant, pigeon and rabbit together with venison from the local game keeper. Fish is delivered directly from the south coast and vegetables are from local suppliers. The menu changes regularly but always includes favourites such as our famous home made steak and kidney pudding and slow cooked pork belly along side seasonal specials. We also offer a good range of bar snacks and lighter meals including Welsh Rarebit, Sausage and Mash as well as The Rose and Thistle sandwiches including rare roast beef, smoked salmon with watercress and the famous RAT burger with smoked bacon, emmental and hand cut chips! The Rose and Thistle, built around 1580, was originally 3 cottages and became a bakers which then later started to retail liquor. The first listed landlord was Richard Pope in the early 1890's whose photo can still be found on the gentleman's toilet door. The pub has had several colourful landlords over the years one of whom is rumoured to still haunt the building. In the 1970's the place was made famous for its seafood by Pete and Pam Reid and people flocked from all around to taste the lobster. A consortium of villagers then purchased the pub who later sold to Tim Norfolk all who maintained the places great reputation for food over the last 20 years. Tim retired in June 2008 when Kerry arrived, taking the pub from strength to strength. In late 2014 Chris took over the reins, with his friendly attitude and fantastic team you can always be guaranteed a warm welcome and delicious freshly prepared food.
Reviewed January 20, 2013

We had a family lunch here in December, it's a great spot and very pretty pub. The menu is varied and interesting, and we all thoroughly enjoyed our meals. Unfortunately part of my meal wasn't served to me, and although I did not notice (too busy chatting) the staff did realise and so this was reduced on the bill which was lovely - although It is a shame that no one chose to talk to me about this, as I might have still preferred to have had the missing part because my meal was a little light. The roast looked particularly good, and everyone cleaned their plates.
The only other comment I would make is that it was very cold in the pub - the fire was lit but it wasn't quite enough to warm the room, and I accept that it is a very old building with a high ceiling, but it really was a little chilly.
Otherwise, a very good experience, we will definitely return. I am looking forward to a visit in the summer to enjoy the seating in the front garden.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Ciarasmummy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
roseandthistle2011, Owner at Rose and Thistle, responded to this reviewResponded January 26, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to write such a nice review. I am pleased you will still return even though we made an error with your meal. Sorry about the temperature - unfortunately as you say we are an old building and even with the heating on full blast and the fires lit it is difficult to keep the heat in. If you are booking in the winter again I would advise asking for a table by the fire so we can try and get you as warm as possible! Otherwise I will look forward to seeing you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (527)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

442 - 446 of 527 reviews

Reviewed January 20, 2013

First visit to this friendly pub. After good walk in the snow covered countryside around Rockbourne,our Sunday lunch experience was second to none. Warming log fire, very friendly staff, and delicious food. Great choices on the normal menu but could not resist the draw of the haunch of venison on todays specials and all 4 at our table devoured every last morsel. Excellent traditional puds with custard to follow. The men enjoyed all 3 beers they tried and also good selection of wines by the glass. We will definitely return and highly recommend to all.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Newforest9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
roseandthistle2011, Owner at Rose and Thistle, responded to this reviewResponded January 26, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to write such a lovely review. I am so pleased that you enjoyed your lunch with us last Sunday and a walk in the snow as well!!! We will look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 19, 2013

This charming country pub with its lovely log fires is well worth a visit. Service is efficient and friendly whilst maintaining a brilliant atmosphere. The pork belly and sticky toffee pudding are an absolute must!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank FlossyPro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
roseandthistle2011, Owner at Rose and Thistle, responded to this reviewResponded February 2, 2013

Thank you for your review and lovely picture of the RAT in the snow - thankfully it has melted now! I am very pleased you enjoy visiting us and hope that we will see you again soon for a sticky toffee pudding!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 16, 2013

If you are in Rockbourne or surrounding areas please visit the Rose and Thistle, the food is second to none. The staff are brilliant, you will not be disappointed.

Thank sonoltay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
roseandthistle2011, Owner at Rose and Thistle, responded to this reviewResponded January 17, 2013

Thank you for your lovely review. It is great that you so highly recommend us and I hope we will see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 12, 2013

This pub is a gem - always friendly and equally good whether you just want a leisurely drink in a pretty pub on a midweek evening or a three course meal on a Saturday night. We've eaten at the Rose & Thistle many times, the menu always spoils you for interesting choices and the food is consistently delicious and good value for money. There are daily specials depending on the chef's recommendation for the day and most ingredients are locally sourced.
Rockbourne is a picture book village and this thatched pub and well kept garden with friendly staff make this our number one choice.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Katie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
roseandthistle2011, Owner at Rose and Thistle, responded to this reviewResponded January 17, 2013

Thank you for your very kind review. I am so pleased that you have enjoyed our pub on more than one occasion and hope that you will continue to in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Rose and Thistle also viewed

Fordingbridge, New Forest National Park Hampshire
Fordingbridge, New Forest National Park Hampshire
 
Fordingbridge, New Forest National Park Hampshire
Fordingbridge, New Forest National Park Hampshire
 
Lymington, New Forest National Park Hampshire
Milford on Sea, Lymington
 

Been to Rose and Thistle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing