We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfect!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Kingfisher Retreat

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Fordingbridge
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Kingfisher Retreat
Ranked #1 of 14 Fordingbridge B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
United Kingdom
Level Contributor
41 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Perfect!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 2, 2013 via mobile

This was our second visit and this time we brought friends so that they could see why we enjoyed it so much! We have stayed in the Chauffeur's Lodge and the Gardener's lodge - both very clean, comfortable and private. Chrissy and Martyn couldn't be more friendly and accommodating, offering lots of helpful advice and local tips. We had a fabulous meal at The Forresters - go there if you can. We are sure to return.

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Mrs S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

159 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    153
    6
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
11
133
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Basildon, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 24, 2013

The very best! we spent 2 nights in the gardeners lodge and what can I say perfection in everything from the hospitality shown to us by Chrissy and Martyn to the immaculate and comfortable way the lodge is presented. The setting is idyllic and the surroundings all you could wish for with great pubs and eateries within easy walking distance, We read some reviews before we booked and wondered if it was as good as they suggested and i can confirm that a holiday at Kingfisher Retreat will leave you with a massive smile on your face . It was our first time in the New Forrest and we will definitely return after being looked after so well. Thank you both

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Emilios19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Walton-on-the-Naze, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 8, 2013

Having stayed in the Chauffeurs Lodge for 7 nights Aug/Sep we can understand how justifiably proud Chrissy and Martyn are of their beautiful home. We felt so relaxed and wonderfully cared for, with every comfort we could wish for. The breakfasts were amazing (daren't get on the scales) and Chrissy and Martyn were perfect hosts who just got everything so right.

With the lovely garden and lake, the forest on our doorstep and plenty of interesting places to visit, we had a brilliant time - AND we met Chrissy's smiley Mum! Our stay was like the weather, wonderfully sunny and warm. Hope to return some day. Our thanks, Carole and Colin.

Room Tip: Chauffeurs Lodge has a lovely BIG bed in a light, spacious room separate from the main cottage.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Carole H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 7, 2013

The property was beautiful with a lovely lake you can walk around (alongside their cute little cat, Poppet!)

There is no noise or light pollution so it's very peaceful and you get a great view of the stars at night time.

We stayed in the Gardener's Lodge which was spotless, cosy and the perfect temperature. The shower was hot and powerful, and there is tea, coffee, a refrigerated jug of milk, and biscuits for your use.

We didn't get to meet the hosts Chrissy and Martyn until the next morning, which was a shame because they were extremely sociable, chatty and very friendly! Martyn even fixed our windscreen wiper for us when it came off as we were leaving.

We weren't able to access wifi anywhere in the property on our mobile phones, so if that's a big problem for you, this is something to consider. The TV in the room has great reception and a good selection of channels.

The Lamb pub was recommended in the list of places to eat (which was conveniently emailed to us upon booking so we could plan in advance), but we wouldn't recommend it as the staff largely ignored us!) However, another place on the list - The George, with a quaint waterside setting - provided nice service and nice food.

Location is great with easy driving access to everywhere in the New Forest.

Kingfisher Retreat is a dream cottage with an enviable garden and lake. So if you're looking for a quiet and relaxing base (with a wonderful home cooked breakfast and super friendly hosts) from which to explore the New Forest, then give this a shot.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HollynTom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
stafford
Level Contributor
20 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 1, 2013

Just spent 2 lovely nights in the Gardeners Lodge here . Really fabulous place and Chrissy and Martyn are helpful with lots of tips and info to make sure you get the most from your stay . Highly recommended .

Room Tip: We loved the privacy of the Gardeners Lodge but would have been happy anyway . The house is beautifu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gillchalder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bedford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
279 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 175 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 29, 2013

We spent the August Bank Holiday Weekend here in the Cottage Room which is in the main house. The location is lovely, so peaceful and Chrissy and Martyn were so accommodating.

The cottage room was cosy and well furnished with a small shower room ensuite. Breakfast was delicious and given some notice Chrissy was happy to accommodate special requests.

Being able to relax in the garden was a treat as this is a lovely spot. The only thing that might be an issue is that the house is in the dip between two hills and for there is no footpath if you want to go for a walk, so be careful.

Definately one to be recommended. Martyn and Chrissy are lovely hosts.

Room Tip: We booked fairly late so had the Cottage Room which was fiine, another time would try to get one of...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sharpe26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Basingstoke, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 30, 2013

Once again we were not disappointed ,we stayed in the gardeners lodge this yr which had its own garden ,Chrissy and Martin were just like last year welcoming ,friendly and nothing was to much trouble , we had a lovely time ,everything was clean and spotless with nice personal touches ,they have spoilt us from looking anywhere else for next year .a real must home from home .julie and Trevor

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank juliemarsh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Fordingbridge
6.9 mi away
Burley Manor
Burley Manor
#1 of 2 in Burley
4.5 of 5 bubbles 299 reviews
10.8 mi away
Cottage Lodge Hotel
Cottage Lodge Hotel
#1 of 11 in Brockenhurst
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,001 reviews
2.1 mi away
Augustus John
Augustus John
#2 of 14 in Fordingbridge
4.5 of 5 bubbles 126 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.3 mi away
The Compasses Inn
The Compasses Inn
#1 of 1 in Damerham
4.0 of 5 bubbles 110 reviews
0.6 mi away
Cypress Log Cabins
Cypress Log Cabins
#1 of 15 in Fordingbridge
5.0 of 5 bubbles 256 reviews
11.2 mi away
Daisybank Cottage Boutique Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kingfisher Retreat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kingfisher Retreat

Property: Kingfisher Retreat
Address: Kingfisher Cottage, Blissford, New Forest National Park Hampshire, Fordingbridge SP6 2JH, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > New Forest National Park Hampshire > Fordingbridge
Amenities:
Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 14 B&Bs / Inns in Fordingbridge
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We have 2 outside lodges overlooking the spring fed lake. They have china, cutlery, 2 easy chairs, dining table and chairs with shower en-suite. Plus 1 bedroom with shower en-suite within the beautiful thatched farm house. Superb gardens around the lake. Breakfast is served in the dining area overlooking the lake, traditional full English breakfast plus a choice of fish dishes, buffet table, with freshly prepared fruit, homemade preserves and homemade bread. Dry cured bacon and sausages from our butcher and eggs from our own chickens. Truly a breakfast to enjoy. A retreat with instant access onto the forest. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Kingfisher Retreat Hotel Fordingbridge
Kingfisher Retreat Fordingbridge, New Forest National Park Hampshire, Hampshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing