We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Kingfisher Retreat

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Fordingbridge
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Kingfisher Retreat
Ranked #1 of 14 Fordingbridge B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Paris, France
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Excellent”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 20, 2012

Chrissy and Martyn are wonderful hosts. The Kingfisher Retreat is just beautiful - the decor, the surroundings and the welcome are just amazing. I could move in here tomorrow! Incredibly comfortable accommodation, beautifully decorated and a full English breakfast when you wake up in a very peaceful, quiet and relaxing environment. What more could you ask for? Definitely worth a visit.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank samc64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

156 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    150
    6
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
11
130
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Basingstoke, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 31, 2012

We stayed in the chauffeurs lodge above the garage,this was a lovely ,we were very impressed with the personal touches ,lovely thick fluffy towels ,proper name brands in shampoo/conditioner/shower gel ,soap and even hand/body lotion ,also was spotlessly clean .The 6ft bed was to die for ,lovely bed linen and pillows ,had very good sleeps .The gardens were beautiful and a pleasure to walk around and to sit in watching the ducks on the pond and the cats taking it easy .Chrissy and martyn maded us very welcome and nothing was to much trouble if we required anything Their breakfast was amazing from the homemade jams ,and bread ,to the greek yogurt that i fell in love with and will be adding to my shopping list .Would highly recommand and hopefully will be returning again .

Room Tip: if have difficulty with stairs then the chauffeur lodge would nt be ideal ,but if love the idea of h...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank juliemarsh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ipswich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 26, 2012

Location - idyllic/tranquil
Chauffeurs Lodge - perfect in every way! - we loved Martyn's car collection, especially Daisy!
Hosts - highly professional, very friendly and lovely people
Weather perfect!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Deborah P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Margate UK
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 20, 2012

A really superb Bed and Breakfast, with easy access into the New Forest. Quiet, beautiful and secluded.5 minutes from Fordingbridge
We had booked the Chauffeurs Lodge, not knowing what it would be like (no information about this room is given on the web site).Before leaving home my wife had spoken to Chrissy, just to find out some further details, during the conversation Chrissy mentioned that the Gardeners Lodge would also be available for the majority of our stay. She kindly said that she would leave both keys for us to choose which room we would prefer.
On arrival we decided to look at both rooms before unpacking the car.The Gardeners Lodge, was well positioned with views over the Gardens and Pond (more of a Lake actually).
On entry everything was well laid out,stylish, roomy and clean. We decided to compare it with the Chauffeurs Lodge, which was above the Garages. (Housing Martyn's Classic car collection).We oppened the door to be greeted by a spacious room, again well laid out, stylish, clean and with the bonus of a 6 foot wide bed.This room certainly does have a bit more room than the Gardeners Lodge.
Although on the first floor we decided to choose the Chauffeurs, I think the Larger bed swayed our decision.
Chrissy and Martyn were not at home when we arrived, so we unpacked and settled in.
When they arrived home we went to introduce ourselves, and it was soon clear that they were a very very pleasant couple.
After a good nights sleep, we went to the house for Breakfast, everything was superb, Cereal, fresh fruit, yogurt ,a superb freshly cooked full english breakfast,homemade bread/toast,fresh homemade Preserves, orange ,Coffee and Tea.
As the week went by,it became clear that Chrissy and Martyn were very attentive and friendly which made for a very relaxed atmosphere.
Great base for sightseeing with most places close at hand, walking or shopping it is not to far away.
If you like birds of the feathered kind try Blashford lakes with several hides (woodland and lake) for viewing.
We have stayed several times in the New Forest, but thanks to Trip advisor we found the Kingfisher Lodge, now we do not need to look any further.
Cant praise it more highly.
"Thankyou"
There was one downside. "" The English weather "" But this couldn't spoil the Kingfisher Lodge.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank oscarbaby1uk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 3, 2012

Myself nd my husband spent 2 nights here, was lovely. Both chrissy and Martin made us so welcome. Breakfast was amazing, great place to stay :-)

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jodi G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
82 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 17, 2012

We were warmly welcomed. We stayed in the Gardener's Lodge, the view of the pond, the gardens and the ducks were so relaxing. It was VERY clean and comfortable. Usually we end up with back aches from the beds, we were pleasantly surprised that we did not!!! Breakfast was fresh, even the toast was served hot. After 2 nights, we both felt so re-charged as it is quiet and relaxing.
I would HIGHLY recommend a stay here, as we will return!!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Deanna39
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 30, 2012

This place is better than a 5 star hotel -

Their attention to detail, style and quality is the beyond exceptional.

You will not go wrong booking this place!!!

Thank you Chrissy and Martyn.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Kevin H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Fordingbridge
10.8 mi away
Cottage Lodge Hotel
Cottage Lodge Hotel
#1 of 11 in Brockenhurst
4.5 of 5 bubbles 982 reviews
6.9 mi away
Burley Manor
Burley Manor
#1 of 2 in Burley
4.5 of 5 bubbles 280 reviews
8.7 mi away
The Crown Manor House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.6 mi away
Balmer Lawn
Balmer Lawn
#3 of 11 in Brockenhurst
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,527 reviews
2.1 mi away
Augustus John
Augustus John
#2 of 14 in Fordingbridge
4.5 of 5 bubbles 121 reviews
0.5 mi away
Cypress Log Cabins
Cypress Log Cabins
#1 of 15 in Fordingbridge
5.0 of 5 bubbles 256 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kingfisher Retreat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kingfisher Retreat

Property: Kingfisher Retreat
Address: Kingfisher Cottage, Blissford, New Forest National Park Hampshire, Fordingbridge SP6 2JH, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > New Forest National Park Hampshire > Fordingbridge
Amenities:
Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 14 B&Bs / Inns in Fordingbridge
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We have 2 outside lodges overlooking the spring fed lake. They have china, cutlery, 2 easy chairs, dining table and chairs with shower en-suite. Plus 1 bedroom with shower en-suite within the beautiful thatched farm house. Superb gardens around the lake. Breakfast is served in the dining area overlooking the lake, traditional full English breakfast plus a choice of fish dishes, buffet table, with freshly prepared fruit, homemade preserves and homemade bread. Dry cured bacon and sausages from our butcher and eggs from our own chickens. Truly a breakfast to enjoy. A retreat with instant access onto the forest. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Kingfisher Retreat Hotel Fordingbridge
Kingfisher Retreat Fordingbridge, New Forest National Park Hampshire, Hampshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing