We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A royal experience” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Castel Clara Thalasso & Spa

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Castel Clara Thalasso & Spa
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Bangor
Certificate of Excellence
Modesto, California
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“A royal experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 3, 2014

An ultra-luxurious hotel located on an island off the coast of Brittany. Incredible views, gourmet dining, first class spa, cycling, and hiking. Our room was located above the terrace with a great view of the bay . Huge seafood buffet for lunch. If you love fresh seafood and oysters, this is the place. Very friendly staff. Casual atmosphere. A great place to relax and enjoy being pampered.

Room Tip: Get a view of the bay if possible. Nice to watch the fishing boats and sailboats come and go.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kent f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

604 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    402
    153
    37
    10
    2
See reviews for
109
371
28
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Swiss
Level Contributor
50 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 1, 2013

We spent 6 nights in this wonderful Hotel on the magnificent Belle-Île.
There were many things that we really liked a lot:
- Excellent rooms, lot of space (both the Superior sea view and the garden view)
- One of the best breakfast buffets we ever experienced (fresh juice straight from the oranges, fantastic homemade bread and jam, pancakes and crêpes, wide choice of cakes etc.)
- Fantastic view, from the room, from the breakfast terrace and from the dinner terrace
- Good infrastructure (outdoor pool, indoor pool, well-equipped gym, rental bikes including e-bikes etc.)
- Friendly staff

It actually could have been an easily gained "5" rating if there would have not been a few things that were not up to the expectations
- On arrival we were told that they were expecting us 1 day later... The problem was solved professionally, but this is an obvious mistake that could have turned ugly...
- On arrival we requested some help with the luggage, but after some 10 min waiting we brought the luggage in our rooms ourselves...
- While the dinners in the Gourmet restaurant were all very good (we were in half board), there was little variation of the main course. The fish (always delicious) was cooked and presented in practically the same way (for 6 dinners). In this type of restaurants customers want to be surprised.... (special mention for the creative desserts, though)
- Lunch menu, drinks and other extras in general were quite expensive
- While we can't blame Castel Clara for the hottest July on the Belle-Île since 1951, it's a fact that the absence of air conditioning in the rooms really spoiled the overall experience. As we had to keep the windows open and our room was just above the breakfast terrace (also used in the evening for the buffet dinner), we were ultimately denied of the absolute peace and quiteness we were expecting
- On departure there was a mistake on the bill (laundry service charged twice)

None of these issues in isolation would have stopped us from giving the top rating to Castel Clara, but all together they left an impression that there is room for improvement

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lupoch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
306 reviews
94 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 136 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 27, 2013 via mobile

We spent the day at the Spa because it was raining. Massages are wonderful, atmosphere so zen. There is hamman, sauna, and light room. They offer you tea and apple. We ate at the bar some delicious club sandwich. À great place to go when you want to have a treat.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Aureliamilleret
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
39 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 11, 2012

- the countryside is great, vast hills and the sea, you can walk for hours, alone!
- the building has no interest
- gastronomic restaurant for dinners is OK (although the one of the lady waitress smells very bad!)
- thalasso is just a joke: don't book it!
- spa and massage is OK
- housekeeping is not very good
- everything is extra: don't buy or rent anything, it costs a fortune! (bicycle, lunch, water etc).

Room Tip: You MUST ask for a room with a DIRECT sea view, in the 2nd BUILDING.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank travelaurent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bangor
0.2 mi away
Le Grand Large
Le Grand Large
#3 of 3 in Bangor
4.5 of 5 bubbles 290 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hotel La Desirade - Relais du Silence
19.8 mi away
Carnac Thalasso & Spa Resort Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.1 mi away
Sofitel Quiberon Thalassa Sea & Spa
22.8 mi away
Miramar La Cigale Hotel Thalasso & Spa
4.6 mi away
Citadelle Vauban Hotel Musee
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Castel Clara Thalasso & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Castel Clara Thalasso & Spa

Property: Castel Clara Thalasso & Spa
Address: Port Gouphar, 56360 Bangor, Belle-Ile-en-Mer, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Brittany > Morbihan > Belle-Ile-en-Mer > Bangor
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Bangor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Castel Clara Thalasso & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 63
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Overlooking the ocean, but immersed in the heart of unspoilt nature, the Castel Clara Thalasso & Spa offers a unique stay in an exceptional setting. Combining luxury, elegance and a warm ambiance that are his signature , this Relais & Châteaux is also the only one with a thalassotherapy center and a Spa, inviting you to fully enjoy the marine benefits . ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Prestigia, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Castel Clara Thalasso & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Castel Clara Hotel
Castel Clara Thalasso & Spa France/Bangor, Brittany

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing