We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A Marvellous Experience”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel La Desirade - Relais du Silence
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Bangor
Certificate of Excellence
Stockbridge, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A Marvellous Experience”
Reviewed September 10, 2013

My wife and I stayed at La Désirade for the first time from 1-5 September. Everything about our stay was perfect. The decor and atmosphere are beautifuly understated and the owners, Pierre and Bénédicte Rebour, are charming, as are all their staff. Breakfast is first class and dinner was fantastic. We'll be back!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ian C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

489 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    428
    54
    4
    3
    0
See reviews for
88
329
8
7
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Brussels
Level Contributor
65 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed September 9, 2013

Excellent hotel, very quiet and peaceful. only 2 minutes away from the sea. Staff is extremely friendly and very helpful. Beautiful garden with a swimming pool. The bedrooms were quite large and the bathroom very big compared to other French hotels. this was extremely pleasant
Restaurant is nice, good menus, good wine list.
We did not take the breakfast though as we thought it was a bit too expensive for a breakfast (17 € per person) and we were not that hungry.
Overall impression: excellent and would definitely recommend it to someone travelling to Belle-Ile.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Samcath
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed August 31, 2013

Our cottage, spa and gourmet restaurant were in the middle of pastureland, half hour walk to the stunning cliffs. (climbing up and down them to the beach is another issue.) The interesting fortifications and museums at the Vauban fortress in la Palais can be reached by bus and The kind staff at the Desirade can tell you how. they will try and usually find the int. Herald or Guardian for your petit déj. The pool is a dream. If you like fish, this is the place with a good selection of whites to go with. The lobster feast an orgy of flavor! Best travel experience in years.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FriscoLady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guernsey, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 30, 2013

Very peaceful and tranquil. Heated swimming pool was relaxing, clean and very well maintained. As was the room, which was cleaned daily, together with fresh towels. Very comfortable beds. French breakfast was excellent with probably the widest choice seen anywhere in France. All the staff and the owners were extremely helpful and friendly and spoke either good or very good english. We will definitely return and would have absolutely no reservations in recommending to our family and friends.

Room Tip: All rooms are the same excellent quality.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lynnette S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gex, France
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed September 25, 2012

I stayed at La Desirade for two nights with my daughter. Although the room had a musty smell, the owners/staff were very pleasant and hospitable and the separate restaurant lovely. It's also a great spot to be away from the towns and bike or walk along the rugged coast. It's also right next to a bus stop.

Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank kmccusker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
morlaix
Level Contributor
16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed May 18, 2012

We spent five nights relaxing on Belle Isle, courtesy of the friendly staff at La Desirade. Our room, in a little traditionally designed cottage, was very comfortable, and the gardens well tended with a beautiful swimming pool.
The choice for breakfast was extensive and the food served in the restaurant excellent. You must try their amazing orange crepe souffle - extraordinary. It had the whole restaurant buzzing with excitement and oh la laas!
Belle Isle is a super place to go, quiet, not much traffic, some great beaches and walks, and with some interesting places to visit. La Citadell in Le Palais was enjoyed very much.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Elisabeth Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
29 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed August 10, 2011

We had DINNER at the Desirade and did not spend the night there. The hotel part looks nice, but I cannot comment on it otherwise.

My wife and I had dinner at La Desirade, following the advice of a friend. The only way to desccribed the staff when we arrived is "confused". The restaurant is divided in 2 parts: one for hotel guests, another for diners-only. We were seating in the second section. The waiter forgot about us for about 15 minutes.

We ordered 2 starters (langoustines and mille feuille crab). 2 main courses (pavé de bar and filet de saint pierre). Only the langoustines were good. They were perfect, in fact. The fish was horribly overcooked and the saint pierre was accompnied by overcooked, watery and brown cabbage (!!!!) in a verrine. Pathetic. When I mentioned this to the waiter, he explained that the chef was away and that a trainee was taking over. Well....
We ended with a crepe suzette that was too thick and took 20 minutes to prepare.
With a half bottle of sancerre (nice) and a coffee, the bill was 120 euros. I miss them...

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank NewportEnzo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
conlie, Propriétaire at Hotel La Desirade - Relais du Silence, responded to this review, August 20, 2011
Dear Guests,
-we obviously failed to meet our n°1 objective which is an enjoyable experience of our guests at our place. We sincerely want you (and the friends who recommended our restaurant) to accept our apologies.
-You made the choice of “anonymous public punishment”: we are not convinced that this is the most productive way of feedback and we try to provide the option of direct feedback, with our active presence (the owners) almost every evening in our restaurant.
-The facts mentioned in your comment led us to think that your dinner happened on July 13th (?). We were here that evening: we might have unconsciously skipped your table, we might have forgotten your feedback … but we clearly know that the disaster you describe is far from the experience of other guests this evening. It is difficult to imagine but we have to trust your judgement and accept that we have concentrated mistakes on your table. Again, sorry for that!
-Facts (if our assumption of the date of your dinner is correct):
. Our Chef is never on rest on a Wednesday … and anyway, when he is away, our team of 5 people is led by the Second de Cuisine, who has been working with him for the last 6 years
. Crêpes Suzette, which has been a key success of our place for now 7 years, are realized in front of guests. They are obviously the longest desert to be prepared and served, for instance if several tables ask for them at the same time. was it the case that evening? I do not know. Nevertheless it seems that it could have been longer than usually, since our team decided to offer them to you.
. we were ourselves not 100% satisfied with the side dish of the sea bass and, following constructive suggestions of several guests, we modified it 3 or 4 weeks ago.
. your comment is also helpful to us in another way: after the reading of other opinions on this site about our restaurant, it reminds, for those who still ignore it, that cooking will never be a precise science, that mistakes are part of our universe and that we can only work harder and learn every day to limit them and further satisfy our guests.
But we can only finish this answer with the re-iteration of our very sincere apologies.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bangor
1.3 mi away
Le Grand Large
Le Grand Large
#3 of 3 in Bangor
4.5 of 5 bubbles 317 reviews
1.2 mi away
Castel Clara Thalasso & Spa
3.5 mi away
Citadelle Vauban Hotel Musee
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.2 mi away
Hotel Le Cardinal
Hotel Le Cardinal
#3 of 19 in Belle-Ile-en-Mer
4.5 of 5 bubbles 456 reviews
3.6 mi away
Hotel Aux Tamaris
Hotel Aux Tamaris
#1 of 3 in Sauzon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 242 reviews
6.2 mi away
31 Residence Marie Galante
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel La Desirade - Relais du Silence? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel La Desirade - Relais du Silence

Property: Hotel La Desirade - Relais du Silence
Address: Lieu Dit petit Cosquet, 56360 Bangor, Belle-Ile-en-Mer, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Brittany > Morbihan > Belle-Ile-en-Mer > Bangor
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Bangor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel La Desirade - Relais du Silence 3*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The staff is ready to do its best to offer a high quality service, meeting customers expectations, respecting the 3*** rating and the demand of the independent hotel associations to which it belongs: Relais du Silence, Hôtels de Charme et de Caractère en Bretagne, Alastair Sawday’s Special places to Stay.. Beyond this commitment, La Désirade offers a genuine and individual welcome, leaving triviality aside to focus on the essential: the guests'well-being. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, Expedia, HRS, Priceline, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Hotel La Desirade - Relais du Silence reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel La Desirade - Relais Du Silence France/Bangor, Brittany

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing