We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a location!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel De Bretagne

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel De Bretagne
Ranked #2 of 11 Hotels in Le Palais
Certificate of Excellence
Royal Leamington Spa, England
Level Contributor
19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“What a location!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 26, 2014

This hotel is right in the front , overlooking the port , where the ferry comes in, so always something to watch. The rooms were good value, clean and comfortable. The restaurant was in a lovely sunny position , with great service and good food. Would not hesitate to stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MsHelen11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

277 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    74
    147
    44
    6
    6
See reviews for
59
147
20
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Paris, France
Level Contributor
28 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 27, 2013

I booked this hotel for a 2 night stay in July as the cheapest option available on short notice. I was pleasantly surprised with the quality for the price (71 euros for a single room). The room was spotless, although the furnishings were not of high quality, they were more than adequate (wardrobe, vanity table, desk, bed and side tables) with a new and clean, fully functional bathroom (including a functional hairdryer which can be a rarity in small French hotels). Given the season, Wednesday night there was noise outside until around 1am (not a problem) and of course given its central location noise can start fairly early (8ish) from the hustle and bustle. That didn't bother my sleep nearly as much as the sunlight... Overall for the price I would definitely stay here again. The staff was really quite friendly and helpful (it was rarely the same person twice, but they answered all my questions and provided what they could quite cheerfully).

Room Tip: I had room 3, with view on the port.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cali_girl_kara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
aalst
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 19, 2011

good things: the hotel is located just across the ferry harbour. That is excellent if your boat arrives late or departs early (public transport is limited in belle-ile!). The rooms are cleaned everyday. You are in the heart of the touristic center with pubs, restaurants and a lively ambiance. Breakfast is highly limited but that is normal in France (no eggs or bacon, only baguette+coffee+jam+yoghurt)
bad thigs: the room is worn off with stained carpet on the walls (!) and damaged laminate that has been layed rapidly over the previous floor covering. no quilts but old fashioned dusty blankets. old wooden windows with paint flaking off, no double glazing. The building gives an overal outdated, worn off impression. no elevator and a steep stair case = only for fit people or people without lugage.
The hotel is acceptable if you are on holidays, do not have high expectations and prepared to stay up late. There is noise from early in the morning (the ferry arrives early and trucks drive under your window, everyday there is a market close by) until late in the evening (bars, drunken people in the streets).
It was not acceptable for my wife and I as we were on belle-ile to walk 'le cotier sentier' around the island and had to be fit to walk a long way every morning. People from 'France randonné' and 'Te Voet' are warned.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ilovebucht
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ann Arbor, Michigan
Level Contributor
98 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 9, 2010

The hotel is in a very handy location only a few steps from the ferry dock. Our room was in an annex behind the actual hotel. The room was small, but quite clean, and had a great view of the harbor. There was no elevator and we were not offered any help with our bags. We had ordered half-board, but discovered upon checking out that we were charged extra for whatever we ordered off the special menu. The food was all right. I was unable to book our room over the internet and needed to make a long distance phone call. The hotel does accept credit cards.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tudomany
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Le Palais
4.6 mi away
Le Grand Large
Le Grand Large
#3 of 3 in Bangor
4.5 of 5 bubbles 307 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Le Saint Amant
Hotel Le Saint Amant
#9 of 11 in Le Palais
4.0 of 5 bubbles 40 reviews
3.8 mi away
Hotel Aux Tamaris
Hotel Aux Tamaris
#1 of 3 in Sauzon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 237 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Vauban
Hotel Vauban
#5 of 11 in Le Palais
4.0 of 5 bubbles 110 reviews
0.2 mi away
Citadelle Vauban Hotel Musee
3.3 mi away
Hotel La Desirade - Relais du Silence
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel De Bretagne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel De Bretagne

Property: Hotel De Bretagne
Address: Avenu Carnot,, 56360, 56360 Le Palais, Belle-Ile-en-Mer, France
Location: France > Brittany > Morbihan > Belle-Ile-en-Mer > Le Palais
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 11 Hotels in Le Palais
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel De Bretagne 2*
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Hotel De Bretagne reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel De Bretagne Le Palais, Belle-Ile-En-Mer, France

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing