We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Location, location location”
other travelers have booked this property

Review of Le Martin-pecheur

Le Martin Pêcheur; Dinan
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Le Martin Pêcheur; Dinan
Le Martin Pêcheur; Dinan Living room
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Very good
10 reviews
Le Martin Pêcheur; Dinan
Le Martin Pêcheur; Dinan
Living room
Living room
Living Room
Dining area overlooking the river
Outside Terrace overlooking the river
Kitchen
View from the house towards the river
Double bedroom 1st floor
Twin bedroom ground floor
Double bedroom , ground floor
Bathroom , ground floor
Second terrace overlooking the river
Exterior
The port of Dinan, a very short walk from the cottage
River Rance and towpath
Pavement café, the port of Dinan
Medieval Dinan
Dinan historic centre
Swimming pool and beach,Dinard
Sandy beach, on Brittany's North coast
Ruined castle overlooking the river Arguenon
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Rental Home -
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Lanvallay, Dinan, Cotes-d'Armor, Brittany

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 10 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
rayglyn
welshpool
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“Great If you like Being in a Goldfish Bowl”
Reviewed September 29, 2015 for a stay in September 2015

We booked this following reviews but were very disappointed with some aspects of the property and service provided. Firstly when we made enquiry regarding availability of the internet we were assured it was "fairly reasonable." Having been disappointed in the past where they promised internet we made a point of checking. This is important to us so we could contact grandchildren via Skype, access websites to check events in the area etc but we found that most days the speed was so slow around 0.8 that we were barely able to get our emails. Also we thought the glass conservatory/dining room would be lovely however after a while we felt we were on display with people in the boats and on the tow path "gawking" at us. The gite has three bedrooms but since there were only two of us we only needed one and used the one on the top floor, which was just as well because the bedrooms on the ground floor smelled very damp and mould could be seen inside the wardrobe. It is not surprising because the bottom half of the back of the gite is underground.
We did find the room we used fine although the bed was small and a wardrobe would have been better than just some coat hangers on a few hooks. The shower upstairs was good and worked well.
The lighting and provision of sockets was good. The TV provided was small but did have Sky basic channels satellite system but the remote was so old you had to guess because the letters and numbers were wiped off with use! There was also an SFR French channels box but because the internet was so slow you could not use it.
Also we found the charge for towels and linen a bit excessive at €35 The bath towels were small and the duvet cover badly creased as if it had not been ironed.
Needless to say we will not be returning because we have seen better places at a lower price.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked least: lack of suitable internet and being on display
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Oct 3, 2015
Thank you for your feedback , internet speed is normally very good at the house , so we were surprised by your comments, and can only assume it was a one off. No other guest has complained about connection problems.
As internet speed and using a computer seemed to be the most important part of your holiday, and you did ask for financial compensation which we declined to give you, this perhaps influenced your other negative comments about the house . The vast majority of our guests love the house and many return year after year, but I think this is a case of 'you can't win them all'
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford
Reviewed April 22, 2015 for a stay in April 2015

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location!
Liked least: Sofa/armchair/TV area
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
Apr 23, 2015
Very glad you enjoyed the house and had a good holiday ,thanks for the feedback on the specifics - we'll certainly have a look at the points raised in the review inc the heating on the ground floor and the lack of side lamps.
Hopefully we'll see you again next Spring!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Pete10111...
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Amazing house with a couple of drawbacks”
Reviewed November 2, 2014 for a stay in October 2014
1
person found this review helpful

We have just come back from a wonderful holiday here. The house itself is delightful. Spacious, comfortable and well equipped. Lovely views of Dinan and the river. Two concerns; one minor, one which really may concern some holiday makers. Firstly the minor- the steps from the kitchen balcony down to the parking area are dangerous. One of us tripped up at night, ruining a new pair of trousers as there are no working outside lights and the steps are slippy and poorly made. My daughter slipped in the day time and fell into a protruding metal spike which grazed her quite badly. Secondly, and most importantly, there is a really strong smell from the septic tank in the bottom two bedrooms and especially the bathroom. I think it was coming up from the sink hole. I'm sure you can imagine what that may smell like, but it was highly unpleasant. At first it really put us off sleeping down stairs, but we did get used to it. This would need sorting out- if possible, for us to stay here again. We would love to though, as it's such a magical spot. If you have a blocked nose or poor sense of smell, you would give this 10/10!

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Nov 13, 2014
Thank you for your feedback, and we're very glad you enjoyed the house, we've had very good feedback from our previous guests over the last couple of years.
We'll certainly have a look at the steps and make sure these are clean and moss free , and also remove any possible hazards. The house does have a fosse septic, and these do produce minor odours from time to time, so we're surprised at your comments about a persistent smell - no other guest has raised this as a major problem. We did visit the house yesterday to check , and there was no smell at all. We can only put this down to a one-off, and we'll monitor this closely to ensure there is no repetition.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fredBlogg...
Bromley
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Fantastic”
Reviewed October 22, 2014 for a stay in October 2014
1
person found this review helpful

We had a lovely time at this property and planned on giving it a terrible review to dissuade others from staying here so that we could come back at any time! It is a lovely place to stay and we are already working out when to come back. We hope to book again very shortly. There is so much to do and see here. We ate at a local restaurant - superb - called L'Ami Louis and visited Mt Saint Michel - not sure we will do that again, visited St Malo - great, although the parking was difficult - Dinard - great, and walked into Dinan several times - great - steep hill to climb but well worth it. Almost a perfect holiday with great weather, well done, Brittany! The house is excellent with all the facilities and with great character. Quiet and secluded but really close to Port Dinan. Try the local bakery - perfect.

I would recommend this property. Perfect to us - two couples. The dining area is amongst the best I can imagine with such a lovely view. Thank you. As Arnie would say - we'll be back!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location - perfect for us.
Liked least: Nothing
Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hexham
Reviewed May 9, 2013 for a stay in April 2013
1
person found this review helpful

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: the glasse kitchen/dining area
Liked least: the steep stairs
Traveling group: Other
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed November 12, 2012 for a stay in August 2012
2
people found this review helpful

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: location and style of house
Liked least: nothing
Traveling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing