We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent at Manor Farm Cottage, Chinnor”
Review of Manor Farm Cottage

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Chinnor
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Manor Farm Cottage
Ranked #1 of 1 Chinnor B&B and Inns
Reviewed December 6, 2011

Stayed here whilst walking the Ridgeway National Trail. A little bit further away from the path than advertised, but well worth the walk. Excellent place to stay. Really old comfortable and welcoming Farmhouse. Jean was very friendly and welcoming. The room was massive, the bed was massive and the Breakfast was massive. Lovely place and very good value.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Pollydg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (47)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

34 - 40 of 47 reviews

Reviewed September 12, 2011

We can only echo all of the praise given by other reviewers. Quite simply the best B&B we have ever visited - a warm welcome, nothing too much trouble for the hosts, lovely surroundings, fantastic breakfast. Our stay there made a good weekend even more memorable.

Room Tip: Two rooms, both excellent, so book early!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank chinalady732
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 19, 2011

It is a simple formula - that of complete thoughtfulness, cheerfulness, attention to detail and most of all, a terrific breakfast that would be hard to better, with the freshly squeezed orange juice playing a starring role - oh yes, and proper, meaty sausages! Jean and Trevor Dixon's quintessentially English 400-year old cottage cannot ever be an example of glossy 21st century minimalism, but it is so much the better for that. Quirky but eminently comfortable with all you could require in the way of add-ons to complete the package. Having read the other reviews on Trip Advisor, it is extremely hard to invent superlatives which correctly describe this B&B and its truly lovely owners. I just wish we could be invited to another social event in the area which would require us to travel from the Scottish islands to stay for a few nights!

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Geunda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 7, 2011

All 5 star hotels should take page from this B&Bs book.The smallest but vital detail that marks a perfect holiday taken care of.Home from home but better.Comfortable clean welcoming and above all genuine hosts that knows what a holiday maker needs and provide it

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank willowthewisp-11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 15, 2011

We visited UK for a wedding in Notley Abbey, allthough we arrived late, the owners welcomed us very friendly, we stayed two nights, slept very well, had a very good breakfast, nice, clean and comfortable rooms. We hope to visit this B&B again with our three children by our next visit to UK

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bedandbreakfast07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 5, 2011

We stayed here after one of our group completed a nearby triathalon. Upon arrival one is very pleased by the very pretty look of this 400 year old cottage. Inside is just as lovely with beams and wonky walls giving so much character. The bedrooms are beautiful and light with the most comfy of beds. Jean and Trevor Dixon are fantastic hosts - very accomodating, always there wehn you need or expect them to be but not in the slightest intrusive.

We popped our bags in the room and no sooner had we done then Jean arrived with freshly chilled water in an old fashioned bottle and a thermos of fresh milk for our tea. It is the little touches here that really make it stand out - the range of hot drinks, kitkats, biscuits, fruit, robe, cotton pads, toiletries.... all very thoughtful.

After a great nights sleep in very luxurious beds the breakfast was the best I've ever had. Beatifully presented, so much choice and cooked to perfection. Ours was a lazy affair, not rushed in the slightest by our lovely hosts and kept us full up till tea time!

Overall, this place is hard to find any fault with - it is excellent value for money. Stay here and you will not be disappointed. The pub down the road is great too for dinner and both the pub and this b&b are dog friendly. Perfect.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank travelqueenUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 6, 2011

We arrived off the Ridgeway, which we were walking, and were made comfortable immediately - cold milk for tea, biscuits, kit-kats and bottle water all available. The owners made their whole house our home for the night and were interesting and interested hosts as well.The house is beautiful and quiet and the garden delightful. The room was light and clean. The bed, made with crisp sheets, gave us the rest we needed after our exertions. The breakfast in the morning of a very high standard and the packed lunch was delicious. Shower and towels were of the same standard as the rest of this charming house. There is a pub down the road within an easy walk for evening meal. This b and b is one of the best we have stayed in

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank zenovya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chinnor
3.7 mi away
Mercure Thame Lambert Hotel
4.3 mi away
Travelodge Thame Hotel
0.2 mi away
The Peacock
The Peacock
#1 of 1 in Henton
225 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.9 mi away
The Oxford Belfry
The Oxford Belfry
#2 of 2 in Milton Common
1,758 reviews
5.0 mi away
The Oxfordshire Golf Club & Hotel
3.9 mi away
The Swan Hotel
The Swan Hotel
#1 of 3 in Thame
67 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Manor Farm Cottage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Manor Farm Cottage

Address: Henton, Chinnor OX39 4AE, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Oxfordshire > Chinnor
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Chinnor
Number of rooms: 2

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing