We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Welcome hospitality”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Berrychone Chambres d'Hotes
Reviewed March 29, 2013

We stayed at Berrychone on our way south after a nightmare ferry journey and then a drive through snow, so were more than ready for the warm welcome we received from Jonothan and Claudette. It was good to relax with an aperitif before the tasty dinner (of local produce) eaten "en famille" in the cosy kitchen. I was fascinated by my tour of the cellars where Claudette showed me her store of homemade preserves - jams, chutneys and vegetables - and gave me some pointers on how to do this myself. Unfortunately i didn't get to meet the small resident bats as they were out for the night! The house is very clean and full of interesting artefacts and our room was comfortable. Would definitely stay there again if passing that way.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank elliemay991
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
barrychone, Owner at Berrychone Chambres d'Hotes, responded to this reviewResponded April 30, 2013

Hello again, thank you very much for your kind review. We hope to meet you again

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (96)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

34 - 40 of 96 reviews

Reviewed March 24, 2013

My freind Bas and I were travelling to the south of France and had to stop for the night. A real French-British welcome with kind people was presented to us. A nice and tidy room with good shower. Further on a faboulous evening-dish and breakfast! Especially all the nice homemade jams and jelly's from Claudette are worth a try...
Greetings,
H

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hans L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
barrychone, Owner at Berrychone Chambres d'Hotes, responded to this reviewResponded April 30, 2013

Hello Hans
Thank you for the review. Hope to see you again

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 20, 2012

My wife, Ellie, and I stayed here two nights on our way to and from The Dordogne River Valley. Johnathan and Claudette greeted us warmly with an aperetif after Johnathan showed us our room, which was just as we saw it on their web site. This is a very convenient stop for anyone who is travelling from Paris to the Dordogne, Bordeaux, Lot or anywhere else in the south west of France. And, although it is only about three kilometers from the A20 motorway, it is very quiet and peaceful. Ellie and I opted on both nights to take the evening meal and we are very glad that we did. The first night we had Beef Bourgognione. Scrumptious! And the second night, on our way back to Paris, a roasted veal dish. Even better! Claudette is a truly gifted cook, using fresh ingredients and just the right spices. If you stay here, please treat yourself to one of her marvelous dinners.

All in all, a delightful stay. clean room, comfortable bed, and great home cooked meals.

Room Tip: The upstairs rooms might not be good for someone with mobility issues; steep, narrow stairs
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bahamasjunkie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
barrychone, Manager at Berrychone Chambres d'Hotes, responded to this reviewResponded April 30, 2013

Thank you for your review, we are sorry for the delay in replying to you. With regard to the stairs, we do try to ask all guests if stairs will be a problem as indeed we asked you for your second nights stay, we do understand that some people with mobility issues might find them difficult which is why we have a large double bedroom on the ground floor.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 15, 2012

excellent place to stay, very warm welcome, lovely hosts, lovely food, very comfy beds, the perfect place to go after a very early ferry crossing !! ( on that point, it would be nice if check in could be earlier that 5pm )

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank fatbid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
barrychone, Manager at Berrychone Chambres d'Hotes, responded to this reviewResponded April 30, 2013

Hello again. Thank you for your review and kind words. The reason that we have an after 5-00pm check in during the busy summer months is that we have to clean 4 bedrooms and bathrooms and make sure our home is acceptable and clean to that nights guests as well as the previous night guests, on the day you stayed we finished all of the cleaning at about 4-30pm which is why we ask guests to arrive after 5-00pm We do hope you will come stay with us again and we wish you good health.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 14, 2012

Well worth a detour, we stayed here on our way south and very restful it was. Our hosts were attentive and friendly, the food was plentiful and excellent. The accomodation is newly built and of a good standard.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Brian P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
barrychone, Owner at Berrychone Chambres d'Hotes, responded to this reviewResponded April 30, 2013

Hello Brian, thank you for your kind words

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 6, 2012

Can not say enough good things about Berrychone. Jonathon and Claudette made this the best stay on our trip through Europe. Jonathon and Claudette made us immediately feel at home. The evening meal made with vegetables from the garden was great, and the breakfast with fresh bread and homemade jam was a wonderful start of the day. Everything was clean and comfortable. Jonathon has really dome an outstanding job redoing the three hundred years old house to a modern house and still keeping the details and atmosphere of the original.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Randi S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
barrychone, Owner at Berrychone Chambres d'Hotes, responded to this reviewResponded April 30, 2013

Hello Randi, thank you very much for your kind words, it was great meeting you and your family all the way from Norway. We do hope that if you pass through France again you will call in to say hello (and perhaps stay!) Best of health to you all

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 15, 2012

We were made so welcome by Jonathon and Claudette. With the place being so close to the A20, this was so easy to find. We were also close to Argenton for a quick vsit.The house is lovely and nothing was too much trouble. Food - home grown and prepared with love - excellent. Real value for money. Would recommend to anyone.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank solney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
barrychone, Owner at Berrychone Chambres d'Hotes, responded to this reviewResponded April 30, 2013

Hello again, thank you for your kind words and we do hope to see you again. Good health to you

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Argenton-sur-Creuse hotels
1.6 mi away
Manor de Boisvillers
Manor de Boisvillers
#2 of 2 in Argenton-sur-Creuse
86 reviews
1.6 mi away
Le Cheval Noir
Le Cheval Noir
#1 of 2 in Argenton-sur-Creuse
165 reviews
2.5 mi away
Camping Les Chambons
Camping Les Chambons
#1 of 1 in Argenton-sur-Creuse
5 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Berrychone Chambres d'Hotes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Berrychone Chambres d'Hotes

Address: 4 Le Petit Vavre, 36270, Argenton-sur-Creuse, France
Location: France > Centre-Val de Loire > Berry > Indre > Argenton-sur-Creuse
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Argenton-sur-Creuse
Price Range: $68 - $71 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Berrychone is an established Chambres d'Hôtes/B&B, an old farmhouse built on the edge of Le Petit Vavre, a small hamlet of just twelve houses. Berrychone was originally the mairie of Le Petit Vavre over three hundred years ago. Indeed, when we were renovating the living-room, under several layers of wallpaper some as thin as cigarette paper, we found an old notice of a modification of a by-law dated 1816! Over the years it became a family farm and then was divided into two houses. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Berrychone Chambres d'Hotes reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing