We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Maybe the best place in the world?”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Marataba Safari Lodge
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Thabazimbi
Certificate of Excellence
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Maybe the best place in the world?”
Reviewed September 10, 2010

We went to Marataba last month for the first part of our honeymoon and it was absolutely fantastic. We stayed for 6 nights which we felt was the perfect length of stay. It gave us the best possible chance to see as many animals and to enjoy everything else there is to offer. The lodge is absolutely beautiful, the service is first class, the rangers are brilliant, the scenery is amazing and the food brilliant! We were blown away by the attention to detail and would recommend Marataba to absolutely anyone!

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank amyjdey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

348 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    319
    24
    2
    2
    1
See reviews for
83
192
12
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (77)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
pretoria
1 review
Reviewed August 10, 2010

beautiful surroundings made even more special by excellent food and service, good wine selection and wonderfully private rooms... one of the best priced lodges in south africa!

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tombiPretoria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 20, 2010

We had a lovely stay at the Marataba, which is a fantastic safari lodge set in the heart of a beautiful game reserve. The game drives were excellent as the rangers always tried their hardest to find the animals we wanted to see that day. Even if we did not see very much they made up for it by imparting their extensive knowledge of the local flora and fauna.

It is not only the animals and the setting which make this place so special, but also the smaller touches, like the personalised menus and the fact that everyone knew your name and wanted you to enjoy your stay as much as possible. Nothing seemed to be too much trouble for anyone and if you wanted to be left to relax on your own you were not interrupted. The whole emphasis of this hotel is relaxation and relax we most certainly did. The only downside being the food was so incredible that we put on weight during our 5 night stay!

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank techylaslammer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
172 reviews
71 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 121 helpful votes
Reviewed April 25, 2010

This place is amazing. The most beautiful rooms, welcoming staff, wonderful food and great game viewing. The location is stunning, a max of 30 people at any time and only 6 there when we stayed so we never saw another vehicle whilst we were on a game drive. very civilised winter programme, up at 7 for breakfast before game drive 8:30-11:30, evening game drive 4-7. This was our first safari and whilst you don;t get the standard savannah/plains type viewing you do see amazing game in a really pristine and private area. Highlight was seeing four female lionesses on on a kill, elephants and rhino too. The food is great, and you get fed all the time! Alcohol is good priced too considering you are captive and this can lead some places to charge more. 500ml beer about 170R (£1.70) and wine from 95R (£9.50). We had 4 days here and left feeling totally chilled. I also love the fact that you can buy the decor, items used in your room/public area in the hotel are on sale in the gift shop - and at better prices than in tourist shops in South Africa.
I would not hesitate to recommend anyone to stay here, it's wonderful.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank minikitten
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Somerset, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed December 5, 2009

My husband and I stayed at Marataba at the beginning of November and had the experience of a lifetime. All the staff were amazing - nothing was too much trouble and they were all so cheerful and welcoming. I cannot speak highly enough of them. The food was delicious and plentiful(!) In the 3 days we spent there I must have put on half a stone! The morning we left after a huge breakfast we were even presented with two bottles of water and some cookies for our drive back to Jo'burg. Our tent was pure luxury with a view to die for and the walk to the lodge was exciting as we were unsure of what animals we would encounter! A Ranger always escorted us in the dark. On one of our safaris we were even charged by an elephant which added to the excitement - the Ranger was excellent and handled the situation very well - he received a huge round of applause when he drove us safely away from the situation. The whole experience was amazing I felt very emotional when we had to leave. If I had to give a negative comment it would be that we failed to see any of the cat family. We heard the lions on the first night of our stay but unfortunately didn't see them unlike other safaris we have been on but that's the chance you take every time you go out - the animals after all can come and go as they please. I would definitely like to return to Marataba it is an experience I will never forget thanks to the animals, accomodation, staff and their 5 star service.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pajan2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Galway, Ireland
Level Contributor
31 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed November 24, 2009

Stayed for 3 nights in marataba in late sept, must say it was without doubt the most beautiful place we have ever stayed. it is a good distance from joburg but was definitely worth it. The surroundings are truly magical with mountains for a backdrop and you feel totally isolated and away from civilisation. The tents, lodges, service and food are all 5 star. In particular the lodge is fabulous and the service excellent.

With regard to the actual safari part the guides were very knowledgeable and we saw plenty of animals, unfortunately we didn’t see any cats which was a disappointment however.

I would recommend not going on safari twice a day as it can be tiring getting up at 6am every day instead soak in the beautiful scenery from a hammock with a glass of wine and a book.

In conclusion i would highly recommend for a secluded peaceful break in the bush

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank p1976
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aylesbury
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 14, 2009

We arrived at Marataba after dark and were welcomed by 2 handsome bull elephants on the side of the road, although we had been in SA for 10 days this was the first time we truely felt and knew we were in Africa.
Marataba is one of the most beautiful places we have ever been. The lodge and the rooms are 5* plus ,beautifully laid out in these amazing grounds and wonderfully decorated.
The staff who man this stunning place are exceptional, their attention to detail is second to none. They have it perfectly balanced, they are warm and friendly yet also know when you want to be left alone to soak up the beauty of your surroundings.
The food is remarkble you do not expect the level of fine dining that you are spolit with meal after meal.
The Rangers amazed us with their knowledge not just of the game but of the birds, bugs, flora, rocks and general surrondings.
This really is a special place and depending on the numbers of people staying at the lodge the programmes change. If you go anywhere in SA go here we are glad we did.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BucksAylesbury
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Thabazimbi
12.7 mi away
Nedile Lodge
Nedile Lodge
#1 of 1 in Welgevonden Game Reserve
5.0 of 5 bubbles 185 reviews
15.0 mi away
Mhondoro Game Lodge
Mhondoro Game Lodge
#1 of 16 in Welgevonden Game Reserve
5.0 of 5 bubbles 130 reviews
18.5 mi away
Kololo Game Reserve
Kololo Game Reserve
#2 of 36 in Vaalwater
4.5 of 5 bubbles 379 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
18.3 mi away
Makweti Safari Lodge
Makweti Safari Lodge
#2 of 16 in Welgevonden Game Reserve
5.0 of 5 bubbles 140 reviews
17.1 mi away
Marula Cottage Guest Lodge
Marula Cottage Guest Lodge
#1 of 11 in Thabazimbi
5.0 of 5 bubbles 76 reviews
25.4 mi away
Soul of Africa Lodge
Soul of Africa Lodge
#1 of 14 in Thabazimbi
5.0 of 5 bubbles 54 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Marataba Safari Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marataba Safari Lodge

Property: Marataba Safari Lodge
Address: Rooiberg Road | Marakele National Park, Thabazimbi 380, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Limpopo Province > Thabazimbi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Thabazimbi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Marataba Safari Lodge 5*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Marataba is a malaria-free 23000 hectare private concession within the Big5 Marakele National Park (Limpopo, South Africa). Just four hours from Johannesburg, this is a sanctuary where busy people can find themselves again by connecting with nature. We were rendered breathless by the dramatic Waterberg mountains, vast plains, rich animal diversity and winding rivers cutting through the landscape of the Marakele National Park. Rich red mountain rock meets lush green plains (where you will find yellowwood and cedar trees, 5m high cycads and tree ferns). All of the large game species from elephant and rhino to the big cats, as well as an amazing variety of birds (including the largest colony of endangered Cape vultures in the world, with more than 800 breeding pairs) have settled here. Marataba Safari Lodge is a simple extension of the natural environment beyond its walls - rich, bold, organic and patently magnificent. Whether you prefer your own company or that of new-found friends, there are a number of spots from which to soak up the view - hammock, pool lounger or grassy patch. On the menu for your pleasure is a smorgasbord of activities from which to choose. Whether game drive, walking trail, sunset river excursion on Miss Mara, or a private dinner for two, there is never enough time to exhaust the many ways there are to love this place. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Travelocity, Cancelon, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Agoda and HRS so you can book your Marataba Safari Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marataba Safari Company Hotel Waterberg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing