We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“WOW !!! Have you experianced their menu?”
Review of Thaba 'Nkwe Lodge

Thaba 'Nkwe Lodge
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Thabazimbi
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Thaba 'Nkwe Lodge
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Thabazimbi
Reviewed July 9, 2009

Now, whats better than to make a quick break away to recharge your internals?And to be able to have a haven that makes you feel like going home to family, makes me realize how honored I am to have discovered Thaba Nkwe.This is the kind of place where the term "staff" becomes meaningless and "going back to visit my FRIENDS" becomes part of your planning for next month.And boy that steak!!!! It is addictive!!! But so they say is the rest of the menu.I've had the steak and let me tell you,having been around, THERE AIN'T NO BETTER. For the rest of the menu,I'll keep you posted,for I am going back to visit MY friends.
When taking a game drive through that harsh Thaba bushveld,it opens your eyes to how difficult it must be to develop an area like that. Then again,everybody knows,"Afrika is nie vir pissies nie".Never the less,well done guys!
So to conclude,in my personal experience,the Thaba Nkwe experience is a must for everybody.To my friends there at Thaba Nkwe, thank you guys,for my home away from home and see you soon!
Wimpie & Elna

  • Stayed: June 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank original_koekemoer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (18)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

15 - 18 of 18 reviews

Reviewed August 11, 2008

My family and I spent a weekend at Thaba Nkwe for the Landbou Skou and thoroughly enjoyed our experience. We found the staff friendly and helpful. My children had a great time going on a horse ride and a game drive. All in all it was a relaxing and fun filled weekend. Thanks to all the Thaba Nkwe staff!

  • Stayed: August 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank bithbith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 4, 2008

We returned 4 May 2008 from Thabazimbi Game and Tourism Expo. We thought we were booked in at Thaba Nkwe from 30 April to 4 May 2008 but the incompetant receptionist didnt have us listed on the reservations loose papers. We have anticipated more professionalism from frontline personnel, when we later discover how this lady was sitting at the bar making drinks with her friends. We were exhibitors at the Expo, and left at 7 in the morning returning after 7 at night. First morning we discovered that there was no water, and we were requested not to use the toilets because they are blocked. Some of the other campers inisiated to "stook die ketel" keep coals burning when or if water returned for us to have a little warm stream at least. Showerheads was blocked anyway leaving you jumping for the few drops that fell, to be able to get wet. Because of overbooking we returned to discover campers invading our little space on the frontstoep with there tents, they were loud and kept us awake till 3 in the morning. The facility couldnt cope with the electricity usage and occationally blacked out. Other complaints were aired with regard to unlockable cabins, with doors that does not shut.
It is a shame to have experienced Thabo Nkwe at this state and we are utterly dissapointed by the neglect of the owners. This is no truely South African pride, i would refer to it as greed.
I would never refer any of our international clients to them, they are not living up to the standards we anticipate from any such facility.

3  Thank matulutulu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 31, 2015
Google Translation

  • Stayed: December 2015, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank FrameSteve
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Thabazimbi hotels
14.7 mi away
Marataba Safari Lodge
Marataba Safari Lodge
#1 of 2 in Thabazimbi
394 reviews
3.5 mi away
Marula Cottage Guest Lodge
Marula Cottage Guest Lodge
#1 of 11 in Thabazimbi
89 reviews
12.9 mi away
Soul of Africa Lodge
Soul of Africa Lodge
#1 of 14 in Thabazimbi
56 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Boschfontein Guest Farm
Boschfontein Guest Farm
#10 of 14 in Thabazimbi
6 reviews
0.0 mi away
Komma Nader Guest House
Komma Nader Guest House
#6 of 11 in Thabazimbi
3 reviews
0.0 mi away
Danitholo Game Lodge
Danitholo Game Lodge
#5 of 14 in Thabazimbi
4 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Thaba 'Nkwe Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Thaba 'Nkwe Lodge

Address: Lephalale Road R510 | 5kms from Thabazimbi Mall, Thabazimbi 0380, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Limpopo Province > Thabazimbi
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Thabazimbi
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
FACILITIES: Chalets, Swimming pool, Restaurant and bar with big screen TV, wooden deck and facilities for meetings. Hiking and mountain biking trails for all ages together with spectacular night skies for star gazing. Animals to be seen Impala, Kudu, Zebra and other smaller mammals and birds. Sleeps 34 guests in various units: 5 x SELF CATERING UNITS: have two semi detached rooms with a double bed and an en-suite bathroom, kitchenette and bunk beds for two. Each unit has parking, braai facilities and veranda. 7 x WOODEN CABINS: sleep two people and consist of a double bed or two single beds, with a fridge, kettle, braai/verandah and both ladies and gents ablutions. CAMPING /CARAVAN with rustic ablutions/hot water donkey ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing