We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful sand with coral gardens in an attractive sea”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Isla Jardin del Mar Resort
Ranked #1 of 5 Glan B&B and Inns
Reviewed July 5, 2012

This resort is about 55 kilometres from General Santos City.

WhileI hired a taxi for the day at P3000 and also visited other establishments in the other direction from the city, I gather that a one way taxi fare might be about P1500. There would be multicabs (V Hires) available for far less to Glan although if using these vans, only the front seats offer reasonable legroom.

The resort is approximately two to three kilometres off the main coastal road on a partly concreted, partly gravel and at times steep road that might be difficult to negotiate after heavy rain.

The resort offers 27 fan cooled basic Nipa huts with an included basic bathroom including what I assume is a cold water shower(P1300 a night) and 10 airconditioned Nipa huts at P2000 a night.

All have excellent views of the stunning sea with the beautiful white to slightly yellow sands (not corally, but quite fine). At low tide at 1400 hours I observed some tropical fish among many corals although far more coral is apparently offshore, further than I ventured as I had forgotten my snorkel.

I did not stay but instead enjoyed a delicious Lapu Lapu (grouper) fish lunch cooked in sweet and sour with accompanying fried rice, including vegetables.

The resort is two years old and has a convention hall.

A banana boat operates at a cost of P500 for 15 minutes.

The resort has its own modern full sized bus to take guests to and from General Santos.

Manager Sydney has excellent English: his parents lived in Sydney, Australia at one stage.

As the previous poster commented, this resort may be basic but it is arguably located on one of the top 20 - perhaps top 10 - strips of sand that I have seen in Philippines and so deserves to be better known. Don't stay if you want Boracay, Phuket or Bali style nighlife and frenzied activity. Do come if you enjoy snorkelling in pristine waters and kicking back with a flavorsome San Migue beer or fruit juice.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Victorianlad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (57)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

54 - 57 of 57 reviews

Reviewed June 8, 2011

This is the 2nd time I stayed here. Takes about 90 minutes to drive from GenSan and well worth the trip.

The resort is fairly basic with few facilities - which is part of the attraction. It's ideal for either a romantic getaway or a family outing. Rooms are high-end Nipa huts, some with aircon. The rooms have basic facilities, i.e. a bed and a bathroom (shower only). There are no TV's and no phones. Mobile phone reception is poor (for Smart) and ok for Globe.

Room are literally on the beach and a couple of meters from the water. The sea is clean and warm.

Deluxe room costs around P2000 per night (for aircon) and includes breakfast. There are also outside huts that are a lot cheaper.

Food at the resort is very good.

Weekends can get a little noisy there because of families having a day out and staying overnight.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank TonyB_au
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 21, 2016 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: April 2016, traveled with friends
Thank Frank J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 18, 2015
Google Translation

Room Tip: bungalow fronte mare vicino al ristorante. Di notte la illuminazione è minima per cui i bungalow più...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2015, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Luigi522014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Glan
23.8 mi away
Greenleaf Hotel Gensan
Greenleaf Hotel Gensan
#2 of 15 in General Santos
193 reviews
23.4 mi away
East Asia Royale Hotel
East Asia Royale Hotel
#4 of 15 in General Santos
73 reviews
23.4 mi away
Stonewood Hotel
Stonewood Hotel
#11 of 15 in General Santos
5 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
23.9 mi away
Hotel San Marco Gensan
Hotel San Marco Gensan
#3 of 15 in General Santos
39 reviews
94.3 mi away
Alu Hotel
Alu Hotel
#14 of 52 in Davao City
58 reviews
15.9 mi away
London Beach Resort and Hotel
London Beach Resort and Hotel
#28 of 47 in General Santos
30 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Isla Jardin del Mar Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Isla Jardin del Mar Resort

Address: Manando, Gumasa Sarangani Province, Glan, Mindanao, Philippines
Location: Philippines > Mindanao > Sarangani Province > Glan
Amenities:
Beach Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Glan
Price Range: $24 - $29 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 21

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing