We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“We felt like personal guests” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Mas Bellonte

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Fuilla
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Mas Bellonte
Ranked #1 of 1 Fuilla B&B and Inns
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“We felt like personal guests”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 3, 2010

Mas Bellonte is in a beautiful peaceful setting. The wide valley is ringed by mountains, with countless possible walks and a huge variety of interesting places within easy reach.
The apartment is spacious and private, extremely well furnished with high-quality equipment and immaculately clean.
Lynn and Malcolm are exceptional hosts. Friendly and hospitable (though never intrusive) they are very interested in the history of their house and the area and are always available for advice on activities or help when necessary.
Their thoughtfulness, including the generously provided home-made meal on arrival and fruit and vegetables from their garden, made us feel like their personal guests. A very special place.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank psj10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

28 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    28
    0
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
1
24
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Hemel Hempstead, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 14, 2010

Mas Bellonte has to be the best hidden place in the south of France, in such a tranquil part of the world, offering amazing walks in the foothills of the surrounding mountains. You get an element of rural French living with the little boucherie's and fine local wine. The local towns offer great open French markets with some amazing foods to try.

Both Malcolm and Lynn make staying at Mas Bellonte an amazing experience with such hospitality and open friendliness, our stay was made that more enjoyable spending time hearing about the history of the property and getting great advice of places to go see. If all owners were like Malcolm and Lynn then going on holiday would be a pleasure from start to finish. The apartment was so nice and being self contained allowed us to relax and soak up the sun and absorb our surroundings which are so amazing, you can't help but relax.

Thanks to everything Malcolm and Lynn done for us from our arrival to our departure we had a lovely week spent in great company enjoying the beauty of everything the South of France has to offer. Thank you for making the trip so memorable I would recommend this to everyone I know and to any one that reads this review. I hope you enjoy it as much as we did.

Kieron

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kieron-welch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derbyshire
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 16, 2009

We have just come back from Mas Bellonte and it is the most beautiful house set in the most magnificent area, breathtaking views from everywhere you stand in the 8 acres of land. It is an excellent area for skiing (when in season), walking, cycling, fishing and climbing activities we found out are not too far away.

The apartment is just lovely with everything in you will ever need, it is extremely clean, airy, cool in the hot sun, and a pleasure to stay in. The other bedroom within the house is equally as beautiful with an ensuite.

The terrace is private with loungers, table and chairs just perfect for relaxing in the sun and staring up at the mountains, or as we did one night looking up at the clear sky at shooting stars, or simply just having a bbq.

Lynn and Malcolm are the most thoughtful, caring, hosts we've ever met. Nothing was too much trouble for them. The welcome pack was lovely, both in thought and taste!!
They would even supply you with fresh vegetables from their own garden when you required them.

Can't wait to go back.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Susanna010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kent, England
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 10, 2009

Simply lovely quiet location, with the welcome provided by Lynn and Malcolm fantastic! Sparklingly clean rooms, thoughtfully furnished, with everything having been thought of. The whole experience, from Malcolm's email answering my questions about my approach route, through the 'welcome pack' (home cooked food to keep us going over the weekend), including the helpful sightseeing advice, both oral and written, to the drink and chat before we left; all this made for a truly memorable, relaxing break. A lovely couple, restoring a stunning building in a glorious landscape. A holiday we will always remember. And I'm the sort who never writes these reviews!

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank philKent_England
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 1, 2009

We had a spectacular two-week holiday in the gorgeous, relaxing setting of Mas Bellonte. Malcolm and Lynn are magnificent hosts, providing guests with warm congeniality, superb travel advice, and fabulous good cheer. Guests have their own lovely private tereace, where we enjoyed long, wonderful meals (including barbecues), took in the sun, and enjoyed reading our books. We also enjoyed several delightful social meals with our hosts and their friends, and we also learned to play boules with them!. The grounds of Mas Bellonte are gloriously beautiful and peaceful, with a river running through it and fantastic views of the mountains. Fresh vegetables appear magically from the garden. The local villages and walking paths are extremely inviting, and Mas Bellonte is a fine jumping off point for day trips to vineyards, Cathar country, the sea, mountainous abbeys and romanesque churches, and so much else. The guest apartment is very nicely appointed and comfortable. We wish we could have stayed on and on, and we can't wait to return to this Paradise in the Pyrenees.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LondonGregorio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peterborough
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 15, 2009

Malcolm and Lynn really made us feel like part of their family during our week stay. Even with 8 acres to look after, (hay making while we were there) they found time to chat .Everything we needed was provided, including fuel for the log-burning stove if chilly. Lots of useful advice on where to go, places to see etc. in a folder. Very peaceful location to stay in, but many interesting places to visit within 30 mins drive. Andorra 2 hrs away. Will go for two weeks next time!

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MohicanCub
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boulder, Colorado
Level Contributor
119 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 3, 2008

You are in for a treat if you love mountain sports, the history of the Cathars, French wines, or just finding the lost secrets of France.
Malcolm and Lynn Preedy are perfect hosts and they have done a beautiful job restoring this historic stone home .
There were 6 of us and a dog travelng together. We were so happy to find out that they could accomodate all of us. 2 couples had rooms upstairs in the main house and our dog and us had a small apartment with a tiny kitchen. downstairs.
Malcolm and Lynn are such a superb source of knowledge about the area. If it's hiking, biking, climbimg, skiing, touring or restng up, this is the perfect place.

  • Liked — Friendly hosts, beautiful mountain setting, comfortable beds and more.
  • Disliked — Need little tables by the side of sofa in guest apartment...small detail.
  • Stayed April 2008, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank BeebzAbroad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Fuilla
1.1 mi away
Hotel Princess
Hotel Princess
#1 of 4 in Vernet-Les-Bains
4.0 of 5 bubbles 152 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel Le Mas Fleuri
Hotel Le Mas Fleuri
#2 of 4 in Vernet-Les-Bains
4.0 of 5 bubbles 98 reviews
1.4 mi away
La Chataigneraie
La Chataigneraie
#1 of 2 in Sahorre
5.0 of 5 bubbles 57 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Camping L'Eau Vive
Camping L'Eau Vive
#3 of 4 in Vernet-Les-Bains
3.5 of 5 bubbles 25 reviews
1.0 mi away
Les Balcons du Canigou
Les Balcons du Canigou
#2 of 4 in Vernet-Les-Bains
3.5 of 5 bubbles 58 reviews
0.5 mi away
Les Hirondelles
Les Hirondelles
#1 of 2 in Fuilla
5.0 of 5 bubbles 10 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mas Bellonte? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mas Bellonte

Property: Mas Bellonte
Address: Chemin du Mas Bellonte | Fuilla du Haut, 66820 Fuilla, France
Location: France > Occitanie > Pyrenees-Orientales > Fuilla
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Fuilla
Number of rooms: 1
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A beautiful granite and rose marble Mas, built by French aviator, Maurice Bellonte. Set in grounds of over 8 acres and nestling in the foothills of the Pyrenees, it is ideally situated for mountain bike and road cycling, walking, sightseeing or just chilling out. A self-contained apartment for two people which is equipped for four should two couples wish to holiday together, incorporating a bedroom and private shower room in the main house. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing