We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Lovely garden retreat in a beautiful village”
other travelers have booked this property

Review of Acorn Lodge

A quite gated garden location
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
A quite gated garden location
private deck area The old brick path
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Very good
28 reviews
A quite gated garden location
private deck area
The old brick path
Family bathroom
Light & bright
42' TV & Wifi
Open plan lounge
Spacious bedroom
Comfy bed
Sofa bed
Stylish dining
Kitchen area
Frinton-on-sea for Greensward, Beach, Golf, Tennis, Cricket & Shopping
High St Thorpe-le-soken
St Micheals Church
The Crown Thorpe-le-soken
Harry's Bar Thorpe-le-soken
Lots to do in Thorpe-le-soken
Life House Spa For a touch of pampering
Life House Spa Thorpe-le-soken
The Bell Thorpe-le-soken & Olive Branch Restaurant
Single sprung sofa bed
Single sprung sofa bed
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Barn -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 5
Thorpe le Soken, Essex, England

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 28 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Dutch first
English first
Any
English first
HazeArch
Fife, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Lovely garden retreat in a beautiful village”
Reviewed June 18, 2017 for a stay in June 2017

Great location next to 4 pubs - all with food - and a Chinese takeaway which was very good, as well as a Tesco Metro.
House was very nice and comfortable but the fact that there were 3 velux windows and a another small window to the outside in the bedroom, all without blinds, made sleeping in summer difficult.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kate5291
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Clean and comfortable”
Reviewed June 9, 2017 for a stay in May 2017

We went here for a short break. It was clean, comfortable and well equipped. The drive is exceptionally narrow. Big cars would find it very difficult. There are a couple of nice pubs locally and handy shops nearby.
We visited Flatford Mill and Clacton while we were there. I probably wouldn't go again but it was quite nice.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BucksBrow...
Bucks, UK
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Quiet location, larger than expected - great for a family”
Reviewed April 17, 2017 for a stay in April 2017

We enjoyed our weekend here in the Easter holidays for a family of 5. Quiet, clean, well equipped with all the things you need for a weekend away. The rooms were larger than we expected by looking at the pictures.

The double bed and single sofa bed upstairs were very comfortable, the double sofa bed downstairs we great for kids but may be less comfortable for adults. Kitchen had a small fridge/freezer, oven & hob with some basic kitchen equipment.

A squeeze to get our car (a Kia people carrier) through the gates but plenty of parking by the house.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Apr 24, 2017
Thank you for the wonderful review and hope you will visit again soon
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 15, 2017 for a stay in April 2017

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
dan P
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Fantastic stay !!”
Reviewed January 2, 2017 for a stay in December 2016

We Turned up Friday afternoon at around 2.30pm got the Keys and was very surpised at this Lodge, well hidden off the main High Street.
The owner Kim and George where fantastic Host's very welcoming and made us feel very very welcome.
The property is very clean and very spacious had a kitchen with oven enough for me to cook with over the New Years eve weekend for my wife and Uncle.
George brought us down a bottle of champagne on New Years eve which was a lovely surprise for us.
We will be booking again over the next few months. Highly recommend to all that want to stay here or in the area.

Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 29, 2016 for a stay in December 2016

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
rkenn1
milton keynes
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Perfect”
Reviewed October 22, 2016 for a stay in August 2016

Travelled to a family event in Thorpe le Soken. This Lodge was ideal. Perfect location. Clean and very very comfortable and with a local Tesco nearby to pick up provisions. We had a problem with the wi-fi and knocked at the owners door to ask about it and they got somebody out to look at it straight away. Very accommodating. Would definitely recommend

Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing