We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Fantastic stay !!”
other travelers have booked this property

Review of Acorn Lodge

A quite gated garden location
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
A quite gated garden location
private deck area The old brick path
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Very good
34 reviews
A quite gated garden location
private deck area
The old brick path
Family bathroom
Light & bright
42' TV & Wifi
Open plan lounge
Spacious bedroom
Comfy bed
Sofa bed
Stylish dining
Kitchen area
Frinton-on-sea for Greensward, Beach, Golf, Tennis, Cricket & Shopping
High St Thorpe-le-soken
St Micheals Church
The Crown Thorpe-le-soken
Harry's Bar Thorpe-le-soken
Lots to do in Thorpe-le-soken
Life House Spa For a touch of pampering
Life House Spa Thorpe-le-soken
The Bell Thorpe-le-soken & Olive Branch Restaurant
Single sprung sofa bed
Single sprung sofa bed
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Barn -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 5
Thorpe le Soken, Essex, England

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 34 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Dutch first
English first
Any
English first
danP1875
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Fantastic stay !!”
Reviewed January 2, 2017 for a stay in December 2016

We Turned up Friday afternoon at around 2.30pm got the Keys and was very surpised at this Lodge, well hidden off the main High Street.
The owner Kim and George where fantastic Host's very welcoming and made us feel very very welcome.
The property is very clean and very spacious had a kitchen with oven enough for me to cook with over the New Years eve weekend for my wife and Uncle.
George brought us down a bottle of champagne on New Years eve which was a lovely surprise for us.
We will be booking again over the next few months. Highly recommend to all that want to stay here or in the area.

Date of stay: December 2016
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 29, 2016 for a stay in December 2016

Date of stay: December 2016
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
rkenn1
milton keynes
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Perfect”
Reviewed October 22, 2016 for a stay in August 2016

Travelled to a family event in Thorpe le Soken. This Lodge was ideal. Perfect location. Clean and very very comfortable and with a local Tesco nearby to pick up provisions. We had a problem with the wi-fi and knocked at the owners door to ask about it and they got somebody out to look at it straight away. Very accommodating. Would definitely recommend

Date of stay: August 2016
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 27, 2016 for a stay in September 2016

Date of stay: September 2016
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
Sep 28, 2016
Thank you for your review and we look forward to seeing you in the future when coming to the area again
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Jackie F
Stevenage, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“lovely stay”
Reviewed May 30, 2016 for a stay in May 2016
1
person found this review helpful

would highly recommend staying at acorn lodge, it had everything we needed, and was clean and well maintained.it was set away from main road, with electronic gate access.A lovely place to go for a chiled break away.
many thanks kim!! Hope to return again at some point.

Date of stay: May 2016
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tenerife...
Tenerife, Spain
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Comfortable, clean and well equipped accommodation in a pleasant little town.”
Reviewed December 13, 2015 for a stay in December 2015
1
person found this review helpful

When we arrived we found the lodge to be clean and well equipped, providing everything that we needed for our visit. We have lived in Tenerife for the past 30 years and were concerned about being cold in such a property during December, but we need not have worried as the central heating system worked very well and we found the accommodation to be cosy and warm.
It was very nice to see that a decorated Christmas tree had been put in the lounge to welcome us, which was an enjoyable bonus when our two young grandchildren came to visit and found a couple of early presents from Santa under the tree.
The property is located in a very pleasant little town, with supermarket and excellent restaurants and pubs within easy walking distance.
We will be staying again if this property is available for our future visits to see family in the area.

Date of stay: December 2015
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Cosy and warm accommodation fduring a winter stay.
Liked least: Difficult and tight access for a large Range Rover, but ok for normal cars.
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 65+
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Dec 29, 2015
Thank you for your kind comments. Best wishes for a Happy New Year and we look forward to having you stay in the future.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ruby S
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Lovely lodge for a couple (or two) in a really nice location”
Reviewed September 10, 2015 for a stay in September 2015
1
person found this review helpful

The lodge was really great to stay in, well furnished and attractive. The only thing we were lacking was a freezer, but apart from that all the cooking utensils and everything else was provided. Good wifi. Parking space. Comfy sofas and bed. A local tesco and pub, what else could you ask for! Highly recommend the chinese restaurant within walking distance (especially on thursdays and sundays as its a buffet on those days!). Frinton on sea (beachy) and Walton on the naze (more walky) 15 minute drives away, both lovely locations.

Date of stay: September 2015
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 18-24
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing