We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“memories” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Lakawon Island

Lakawon Island
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“memories”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 31, 2013

we went to lakawon island long long years ago way back in my senior years in college ,i think 25 years ago, yeah hahaha! that was a long time, but the memories are still there and it always put a smile on my face,,, we only had a day trip, i was with my friends/classmates in college when we took that boat trip to lakawon, its an island from cadiz, thats usually under the sea on high tide and an awesome beach on low, the sand is white, the water crystal blue, snorkelling was fun,if you love to stay under the sun this is the place for you, there was nothing there 25 years ago only its natural beauty,,, i would love to go back and see and reminish the old feeling, yes! why not....

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
4 Thank clarizza_lapaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

83 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    14
    31
    18
    7
    13
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Manila, Philippines
Level Contributor
181 reviews
36 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 175 helpful votes
“A Good Day Trip to the Island”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 21, 2013

This resort is only good for day trip. From Cadiz, it is only about 25 minutes away via a small boat (wearing a life vest is OPTIONAL! haha!). We were there first week of July and the weather was fine going to the island. Late afternoon, it rained hard but we already enjoyed the beach by then.

We stayed overnight and the rooms are so, well, neglected. Too bad. This place got lots of potential. If you are visiting, their food is yummy. Friendly and helpful staff. We ordered chicken inasal and grilled squid.

The beach is very photogenic. Relaxing. If you go to the left side part of the beach, wear slippers as you may encounter some broken glass or bottles.

If you plan to stay the night, bring mosquito net, bug spray, bug repellant, your own toiletries and lots of patience specially when it is bath time. The water pressure is disappointing (they provided a roll of tissue paper, a pail and a tabo), no mirrors. The rate is a bit high for this type of accommodation. You pay almost twice the rate for a room with air-conditioning (understandable as they use a generator. electricity would only come from 7PM-10PM).

They have a very smart, friendly (and loyal) dog named Buddy who was with us all the time. he even guarded our room from the outside. He's such a darling.

So how will I rate this island? Beach - very good. Accommodation - so-so. get a room with air-conditioning if you're not on a budget. Food - superb. Staff - very good. from the boatman down to their dog :P They also serve different beer brands (in huge bottles. see photos).

Overall, my stay would have been better if only I brought a mosquito net with me. If you are from Bacolod and want to get away from everything for one day. Consider this place. 24-hour parking is available from the port. Waiting time for the boat & boatmen to come is about 30 minutes. Entrance fee is Php5.00 per person. Total bill from the resort is Php3,156 for 2 persons (Breakdown: Php600 boat rental. Overnight stay. Non-AC room Php1800, chicken inasal with rice lunch and 7 pieces grilled squid with rice dinner Php688 for 2 persons, service charge Php68).

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
12 Thank wrkshy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington
Level Contributor
153 reviews
24 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“Beautiful (and very warm) day trip”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 26, 2013

A 30 minute crossing through the Visayan Sea on a bamboo catamaran from Cadiz City will lead you to Lakawon Island. It is a fairly small island with white sand and shelters for rent to hide from the dominating January sun.
We packed our own food and a large cooler full of supplies on board the catamaran for a great lunch on the island. We had arrived mid morning and the skies were overcast. Just before noon, the clouds disappeared and the sun was perfect for tanning. The heat around this time can be a little bit unbearable, the rented shelter and a quick run to swim/soak in the ocean was the perfect remedy.
We didn't stay overnight, but I think there are a few guest bedrooms available for rent? there is a restaurant on the island but we brought our own food and drinks.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
5 Thank Heretix
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manila, Philippines
Level Contributor
14 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“day tripping”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 3, 2013

taking this trip step by step would go this way...

the travel going there wasn't too much of a hassle since we brought our own vehicle. but its about 50kms from bacolod city, arriving at cadiz viejo, you'd find a typical beach community of the philipipnes.

it would then take you a 20 min boat ride to the island.

the beach is fair enough. its the closest nice beach in bacolod so its good enough. you can now start enjoying. occupy a beach front open cabana for your foods and drink. and you sit back and relax, sooo, all is well, then its time to go back home.

here it gets a bit shocking. 150 for the boat ride, 100 for the entrance, you brought food, thats 50 corkage, you used the cabana, thats 1000.

these amounts are quite reasonable, but with what you get, its a bit over charging. well, its good enough for a day trip from the city, but not something you'd really crave for.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
7 Thank pedalb0y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
138 reviews
25 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Good for day trip”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 28, 2012

Beach was nice on the tourist side but had trash in the side where the locals live.
Water was warm and clear (we were there in September) but not much to see while snorkeling. We had crabs and squid prepared any way you want, which were good. The massage by Nene was excellent, 300 pesos per hour. The overnight cottage had ants and spiders, not well insulated, curtain rods falling, screens not in good shape. The generator was on from 5:30 pm to 7 am, so we had air conditioning and light during those hours. It is a 20 minute boat ride from the town of Cadiz.
I would recommend going there for a day picnic and massage, but would not recommend staying overnight, until they improve the cottages.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
7 Thank Golangnggo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Lakawon Island also viewed

Bais City, Negros Oriental
Sipalay, Negros Occidental
 
Kabankalan, Negros Occidental
 

Been to Lakawon Island? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing