We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Worthy Cause”
Review of Hotel Taselotzin

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel Taselotzin
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 15, 2012

We stayed in one of the private rooms that they call a "cabana." Our room was in a small building adjoining another room a short distance down the road from the main hotel. Breakfast (not included) was very good; dinner, not so much. The place had a very positive energy from all of the university students who were staying in the hostal portion of the hotel. We enjoyed this. The hotel is conveniently located in a residential area close to the bus station. We tried the reasonably priced temazcal bath which we really liked and appeared to the "real deal" as opposed to one we tried a few years ago in another city. Our room was clean and comfortable. At $680 MP/night, it was a bit overpriced and higher than advertised on their website ($580.) Still, we were happy to support this organization which appears to be highly regarded in Cuetzalan.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Oaxacacat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (67)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

12 - 18 of 67 reviews

Reviewed August 23, 2012

There are so many great things to say about this hotel.

First off, the staff are incredible. They are incredibly kind and really try to ensure visitors are well attended and taken care off.

The rooms are perfect and are always clean. They feature beautiful views of the lush and serene garden. At night the crickets serenade you to sleep (unless you prefer to shut the windows to keep the sound out). They also provide little bars of soap which are made on site with rose petals. They smell incredible, are wonderful for washing, and you can even buy them to bring home.

The food at Taselotzin was AMAZING. The tortilla soup, potato & cilantro soup, and hotcakes were just a few of the favorites of our group. They also serve a delicious orange blossom tea that tastes amazing. It is some of the best food I've had in Mexico and I miss it already after having been treated to it for a week.

Lastly, it was a great opportunity to support a local organization and one that supports the maintenance of indigenous culture. While there, I was able to learn a bit of Nahuát from the staff and also purchased a book from their store about Nahuát grammar & language.

I would absolutely, 150% recommend Taselotzin. It's a wonderful place with authentic and kind people you don't want to miss.

Room Tip: All of them are great!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jennifer D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 16, 2010

I've stayed twice here and would highly recommend it. On both of my trips I stayed in the women-only hostel part of the hotel, but I've seen the rooms, too, and they looked quite nice. The hostel has bunk beds, benches for your stuff, and showers. The bathrooms are outside, attached to the outer part of the building. Towels, bedding, and handmade soap are provided. The staff are all women (with the exception of the night watchman) and are very friendly and helpful. The night watchman even took my mom and I on an hour-long walk to help us get to a nearby waterfall.

The hotel also offers a restaurant, which has very tasty food, and a temazcal (a traditional steam room) and massage service. The temazcal is an interesting experience if you're looking to try something new.

My only complaint would be that the single blanket they give you in the hostel is usually not warm enough (depending on the weather, of course), but if the hostel is partly empty, you can always take the blankets off the other beds!

  • Stayed: December 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank madrutravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 1 week ago
Google Translation

  • Stayed: November 2017, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Juan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taselotzin C, Gerente at Hotel Taselotzin, responded to this reviewResponded 6 days ago
Google Translation

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 8, 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: October 2017, traveled with family
Thank Jessica O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 29, 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: March 2017, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank ana293
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taselotzin C, Director de Recepción at Hotel Taselotzin, responded to this reviewResponded September 6, 2017
Google Translation

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 8, 2017
Google Translation

Room Tip: El temazcal y el café son de excelencia
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank SASIAGNES
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cuetzalan del Progreso hotels
0.3 mi away
Aldea San Francisco De Asis
Aldea San Francisco De Asis
#1 of 13 in Cuetzalan del Progreso
11 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel La Casa de Piedra
Hotel La Casa de Piedra
#1 of 22 in Cuetzalan del Progreso
118 reviews
0.3 mi away
Posada El Volador
Posada El Volador
#3 of 22 in Cuetzalan del Progreso
13 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Reserva Azul
Reserva Azul
#2 of 13 in Cuetzalan del Progreso
21 reviews
2.1 mi away
Villas Cuetzalan Hotel
Villas Cuetzalan Hotel
#3 of 13 in Cuetzalan del Progreso
43 reviews
1.2 mi away
Cabanas Quinta Real Cuetzalan
Cabanas Quinta Real Cuetzalan
#8 of 13 in Cuetzalan del Progreso
24 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Taselotzin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Taselotzin

Address: Calle Yoloxochitl SN, Cuetzalan del Progreso 73560, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Central Mexico and Gulf Coast > Puebla > Cuetzalan del Progreso
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 22 B&Bs / Inns in Cuetzalan del Progreso
Price Range: $32 - $45 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Taselotzin 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Taselotzin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing