We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good hotel, worth to stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Tokachigawaonsen Daiichi Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Tokachigawaonsen Daiichi Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
25 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Good hotel, worth to stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2014 via mobile

Our room is spacious with the view of Tokachigawa River. We choose buffet dinner during this stay and it was wonderful. The buffet spread featured a few live cooking stations including prawn tempura, grill beef steak...etc.
We missed the free shuttle bus then took taxi from Obihiro station to hotel, it's only ¥2400, still affordable.....

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Otto P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

239 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    112
    105
    20
    1
    1
See reviews for
117
63
9
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2014 via mobile

The town/hotel provides a free return transfer from Obihiro station which was really convenient. The rooms were big and modern with a great view. Wide variety of food available at meals and service was first-class. The hotel also provides a shuttle to the Tokachigawa Sarinka. Will return again!

Stayed February 2014
Helpful?
Thank Melissa-G87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2013

Our first place to stay in Hokkaido after we arrived. Then we pick up our car and take our wonderful lunch in Chitose Ramen shop. After drived almost 3 hours, then we reached the hotel. First we a bit worry about the hotel because all the long way was quite downtown style. But once we reched the hotel, it's so wonderful place and nice onsen....... but too bad we was reached there the sky already dark although is 6pm only. Dinner buffet is good, not much choice but just nice. Breakfast same too

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank wesley531
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
40 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2013

This is a hotel suggested by our agent and we didnt expect much from it.

However, its room, amenity, onsen, meals and service were all well beyond our expectation.

We especially like its room though not very big. Its tone and design simply made me feel comfortable and at ease. Our rooms were on the top floor (just one flight below the onsen), sharing the same view (greenland and the bridge) with the onsen. There was a balcony with table and chairs where you could enjoy a pleasant outdoor chat, but we were advised not to open the door to the balcony to prevent from bugs and mosquitos. What an irony!!

I do not know if the Daiichi Hotel in Osaka in the vicinity of Osaka Station belongs to the same hotel group of this one, if it is the case, then I am quite impressed by this group and it may become my attention when i plan my next trip to Japan.

Room Tip: I think western-Japanese style room is better
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kingcolt2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
77 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013

Our tour group stayed in this hotel for one night, and all of us had the Japanese style rooms. The room size is OK. Surprisingly, the toilet and the bathroom are separated. Similar to other onsen hotels we have stayed, the room is neat and clean. I enjoyed the onsen bath. The buffet dinner was very good, with plenty of choices. It was a pleasant stay.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank suathong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
91 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 167 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2013

During our trip in Furano, we stayed here for two nights so we were able to fully immerse ourselves in its facilities. Check-in was quick with group tours although the reception was pretty empty at the time and we proceeded to our rooms swiftly.

We stayed in a Japanese-style room with tatami flooring and small tea area. While it was small it was clean and very well furnished. Toilets were modern and worked well and there were sufficient amenities. My only qualm is how the toilet and the bathtub/washing sink are separated. It isn't that much of a problem but it is a bit of a hassle. Sleeping was alright.

Our dinner at the dining hall was good. It was a Japanese-style dinner with crab and curry. I remember they ran out of one of the dishes (beef I presumed) and had to substitute it with egg. It was nothing too extraordinary but managed to satisfy. That dinner was special though because we were (coincidentally) filmed by the national Japanese broadcaster, and since it was Christmas, the hotel made a good impression by sending out someone impersonating Santa to entertain the kids. Credit to the service staff for that.

The real highlight was the hot springs. They were located a bit far from the lobby but it was still accessible. The hot springs were divided into different temperatures with varying sizes. There was an indoor hot spring, a hot spring with a jaccuzi, and outdoor hotspring and some cold water outlets. While it was somewhat run-down it was still well-maintained and amenities were aplenty. My recommendation is to go for the outdoor hot spring: even though you have to endure going through the cold weather for a while, the experience is euphoric.

Breakfast was good. What I liked was how they had implemented a system whereby customers can indicate whether the table was taken, obviating the possibility of one's seat being taken. The selection was a bit lackluster but was alright. Juices were pretty good.

Service staff on the whole were pretty friendly. I recall an elderly Japanese staff, possibly the manager, who struck a conversation with me. He was very friendly and spoke sufficient English for us to communicate. The wi-fi signal in the lobby was poor, but given Hokkaido standards it was alright. There was a handy convenience store located within the hotel that provided Hokkaido goods and other miscellaneous items. There was also a spa that we never tried.

On the whole, the hotel was very good, especially in terms of the hot spring. Location-wise it is a bit far from the town centre but otherwise accessible. If one is seeking a hotel room from SGD$150 - $225 per night, I would recommend this hotel for its facilities and overall experience.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Alexander G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Honolulu
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2013

I had a western style room with private onsen. There was a living room area with couch, coffee table and flat screen TV. They also provided a CD player with a couple CDs. The balcony had two chairs and a small table overlooking an open field and a river in the distance. The bathroom had double sinks and assorted body wash, lotion, shampoo, etc in large pump bottles that were also provided in the glassed in shower just off the bathroom and adjacent to the private onsen located on a deck outside the bathroom. The view was great and yet private with hot water constantly flowing into your pool. There was even a foyer when you enter your room with slippers awaiting you prior to stepping up to the wooden floor leading to your living area.

Everything was immaculate and they thought of everything to make your stay comfortable----Keurig coffee maker, nail clippers and yukata in various sizes in different drawer.

The proprietress even greeted us on our arrival and was out to bid us farewell when we left. Domo arigato gozaimas for a fabulous stay!

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank citygirlHonolulu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Otofuke-cho
Hokkaido Hotel
#1 of 37 in Obihiro
4.5 of 5 stars 300 reviews
Obihiro Station
Hotel Nikko Northland Obihiro
Dormy Inn Obihiro
#4 of 37 in Obihiro
4.5 of 5 stars 170 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Obihiro Station
Tokachi Gardens Hotel
Tokachi Gardens Hotel
#6 of 37 in Obihiro
4.0 of 5 stars 140 reviews
Tokachigawa Onsen
Kangetsuen
Kangetsuen
#2 of 11 in Otofuke-cho
4.0 of 5 stars 133 reviews
Tokachigawa Onsen
Sanyoan
Sanyoan
#3 of 11 in Otofuke-cho
4.5 of 5 stars 79 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tokachigawaonsen Daiichi Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tokachigawaonsen Daiichi Hotel

Property: Tokachigawaonsen Daiichi Hotel
Address: 12 Tokachigawaonsenminami, Kato-gun, Otofuke-cho 080-0263, Hokkaido
Location: Japan > Hokkaido > Kato-gun > Otofuke-cho > Tokachigawa Onsen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#1 Onsen Hotel in Otofuke-cho
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Tokachigawaonsen Daiichi Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 111
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, JAPANiCAN, Agoda, Orbitz, Rakuten, Travelocity, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Tokachigawaonsen Daiichi Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tokachigawaonsen Daiichi Onsen Hotel
Tokachigawaonsen Daiichi Hotel Hokkaido, Japan - Otofuke-Cho

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing