We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Week in Ireland”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hillcrest View Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 8 Kilrush B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 22, 2013

Spent July 6th-13th in Ireland. GREAT TIME! GREAT PEOPLE! 1st night was at the Hillcrest. It was a fantastic intro to Ireland. It was one of the better b&b we stayed at. Kilrush was great and the Proprietor, Ethna was a very gracious Host! Good beds and quality within the house. Enjoy!

Room Tip: We stayed at the top flr. it was good for us.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Thomas M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (143)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

63 - 69 of 143 reviews

Reviewed July 21, 2013

Stayed here three nights. Ethna is lovely and warm and hospitable. The room and beds were very nice and comfortable. The shower has great pressure, but at the price of listening to the pum, and the towels have a strong scent I do not like, but everything is very clean and the breakfast was great.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sandra-Leigh S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 22, 2013

We recently returned from our 10 day stay in Ireland. We stayed at a different B&B every night so we feel we can easily say which ones were great and which ones were not. All eight of us agree that Hillcrest View in Kilrush was amazing!!!! The host, Ethna, went above and beyond for all of us. She made us feel like we were visiting an old friend. Her home was beautiful, spotless, warm, friendly. Her breakfast was delicious. An important recollection I have of our stay were the sheets that Ethna uses on her beds. They were the softest, silkiest sheets I have ever slept in. To make my point even better, during this trip, we stayed at Dromoland Castle, and their sheets didn't come close to the quality of Hillcrest Views!!! We all agree that when we go back to Ireland, we will definitely stay with Ethna at Hillcrest View. The Knight-Healy party.

Room Tip: All rooms were exceptional!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Patricia K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 12, 2013

Stayed here for recently for 2 nights while working in the area. Excellent house with lovely rooms and a fantatic breakfast. Tne homemade porridge was great and the poached eggs with smoked salmon was a treat that I have never seen before at any other B&B. I was also able to turn in the heat in my room which was great as May was freezing. Wifi was a bonus and very useful. Well done Ethne.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tevezr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 12, 2013

We needed to stay in the Clare region to research our ancestors and this B&B served us well for the 2 nights. The house is large and comfortable with a good sized bedroom and the best shower we have had in 7 weeks of travelling. The owners were so warm and generous and left us with nothing bad to say about this place. One disappointment was not being able to access wifi in our bedroom as we were doing a lot of research and despite being able to sit in their lovely sitting room we do like to have wifi in our room.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lightw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 9, 2013

Stayed here for 3 nights. Was given a family room which was a good size. We came with other families & it was nice to have the TV room to sit, drink (wine glasses available to use) & chat after dinner. Host was very hospitable and nothing was too much trouble. She even took out some board games for my kids & very helpful when my daughter had a nose bleed. She even offered to wash my daughter's clothes. We would come back again.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jsltan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 1, 2013

This is a gem of a B&B. I stayed here four nights and found the location extremely convenient to explore all parts of Clare. Ethna was a delightful and conscientious host and keeps the place immaculately clean and inviting. The breakfast has an impressive list of choices and her husband is a great cook. The home is absolutely beautiful with wood flooring and modern fixtures everywhere. I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bigskymj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kilrush
22 mi away
Falls Hotel & Spa
Falls Hotel & Spa
#1 of 1 in Ennistymon
1,063 reviews
0.6 mi away
Crotty's Pub B & B
Crotty's Pub B & B
#2 of 8 in Kilrush
199 reviews
0.7 mi away
Buggle's Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Innwood House
Innwood House
#3 of 8 in Kilrush
20 reviews
0.6 mi away
Katie O'Connors Holiday Hostel
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hillcrest View Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hillcrest View Bed and Breakfast

Address: Hillcrest Hillcrest 67) Doonbeg Road (off N, Kilrush, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Clare > Kilrush
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Kilrush
Price Range: $34 - $61 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hillcrest View Bed and Breakfast 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Hillcrest View Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hillcrest View Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing