We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Tranquil and beautiful accommodation”
other travelers have booked this property
Gold Award accomodation
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Gold Award accomodation
 view from all front windows of cottage view from lounge & kitchen of cottage
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
21 reviews
Gold Award accomodation
view from all front windows of cottage
view from lounge & kitchen of cottage
early morning view from cottage
master bedroom
lounge
lounge
kitchen/diner
kitchen/diner
kitchen/diner
kitchen/diner
patio outside kitchen
sunset from back of cottage
evening & a beautiful sunset view from bedroom of cottage & garden
stunning walks along the leeds to liverpool canal are less than 5 mins drive from the cottage
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Rental Home -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Thornton-in-Craven, Skipton, North Yorkshire, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 21 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Sue S
Wakefield, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Tranquil and beautiful accommodation”
Reviewed July 26, 2017 for a stay in July 2017

Pauline was a lovely host. The accommodation was clean tidy and everything we needed. The flowers and fruit were a lovely addition. The views were exceptional.Would definitely recommend.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jul 28, 2017
Thank you Sue. It was a pleasure to have you both as guests.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miriam L
Plymouth, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Perfect holiday home in stunning surroundings.”
Reviewed June 12, 2017 for a stay in June 2017

Fernside cottage is so comfortable and welcoming. It is very well equipped and comfortably furnished. The views over the countryside are peaceful and picturesque. Despite this being a return visit we still found much to do and see in the area that we haven't done before. Fernside cottage is the ideal location for a holiday or short break and I am sure we will be back again.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jun 14, 2017
Thank you Miriam. It was good to see you again and I'm thrilled you enjoyed your stay so much you have become a regular visitor
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christoph...
Surbiton, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“A little bit of Paradise!”
Reviewed May 20, 2017 for a stay in May 2017

We were looking for a self catering cottage near Skipton and the Dales for a few days hiking and relaxation. Having found Fernside Cottage, we will most definitely come here again. It is an ideal place for two people, fully equipped with state-of-the-art kitchen, bathroom and very comfortable double bed, all furnished with impeccable taste. And then there are the views, from the sitting room, a broad panoramic vista of the Dales in front of the village whilst the view of the sunsets from the bedroom had us running upstairs with cameras almost every night. Fernside Cottage is located in Thornton in Craven,some 15 minutes drive from Skipton. There are no shops or pubs in the village but you can stock up on everything you could possibly need at the Keelham Farm Shop on the outskirts of Skipton. There is a bus service to Skipton, but a car is indispensable. The cottage is run by Pauline, a wonderful and friendly hostess who has made a tremendous effort to provide a real home from home for her guests at the cottage.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
May 21, 2017
thank you so much for your wonderful review. It was a great pleasure to have you both stay at the cottage and I look forward to meeting you again in the future.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jules B
2 reviews
“The perfect base for exploring North Yorkshire...”
Reviewed March 15, 2017 for a stay in March 2017

Beautiful countryside, amazing walks, immaculately clean and extremely comfortable accommodation - what more could you ask for!?
Fernside Cottage is bright, spacious, comfortable, tastefully decorated and very comfortable. Having the private outside area was a huge bonus to sit in the early spring sunshine.
Pauline is very knowledgeable about the area and her advice was invaluable to us as first time visitors. Pauline is the perfect host, very happy to help but only there when needed.
I definitely recommend Fernside Cottage and hope that it we will be able to return another time. Thanks Pauline!

Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Mar 16, 2017
thank you for your kind review and I'm so pleased you enjoyed your stay. Looking forward to seeing you both again soon
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LindaMcc3...
Donaghcloney
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Wonderful cottage”
Reviewed August 27, 2016 for a stay in August 2016

We had the pleasure to stay at Fernside Cottage on two occasions during the summer while we were house hunting in the area. The standard of accommodation is very high and far exceeded our expectations. The cottage is beautifully decorated, comfortable and was spotlessly clean. On arrival there was fresh milk, tea, cookies, fruit and a lovely bunch of flowers. A great location with wonderful views and ideally placed to explore the dales, Skipton and Ilkley.

Pauline is a friendly host and nothing is too much trouble; I have no hesitation in recommending this cottage.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The views from the lounge
Liked least: Can't think of anything I didn't like
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Aug 28, 2016
thank you Linda. It was a pleasure to have you stay at the cottage and I wish you every success with your house hunting and your new job.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Janet P
Perth, Western Australia, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Cosy little cottage to go home to each evening”
Reviewed August 14, 2016 for a stay in July 2016

Just had 11 nights at Fernside cottage, a delightful cottage not far from Skipton. The views from the cottage were sensational. The cottage had everything you could possibly want and was our little home from home. Pauline, the owner was there to greet us upon arrival with a basket of fruit, biscuits and flowers. Very clean, cosy and private. Convenient location for Skipton and many of the attractions nearby. Would definitely stay there again.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Quiet, private and out of town.
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Aug 15, 2016
It was lovely to meet you both and so pleased you enjoyed your stay.
I look forward to meeting you again in the future.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Us B
1 review
“A fabulous cottage.”
Reviewed May 19, 2016 for a stay in May 2016

We have just spent a week at Fernside Cottage. From the wonderful welcome of fresh flowers, fruit basket and biscuits our holiday has been first class. Have no hesitation in recommending this cottage - from the location to the fabulous scenery.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location and amenities.
Liked least: There was absolutely nothing that we liked least.
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
May 20, 2016
Thank you for your kind review. It was a pleasure to have you stay at the cottage. I hope we can welcome you again sometime in the future
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing