We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Don't waste your time and money elsewhere” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Iturregi

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel Iturregi
Ranked #5 of 5 Hotels in Getaria
Certificate of Excellence
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Don't waste your time and money elsewhere”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 8, 2014

In a word, impeccable. We took the only available room and to my understanding it was the smallest. It was gorgeous. No detail overlooked. Extremely comfortable and accommodating on every level. Simply gorgeous. The breakfast was one of the finest "free" breakfast experiences we've ever experienced. I wanted to buy the whole property and move in forever. The views are outstanding - you can see three lighthouses all the way down the coast.

Room Tip: We stayed in "Zuaretz"
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jconleyoung
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

166 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    147
    17
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
15
130
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Adelaide, South Australia
Level Contributor
49 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 15, 2013

Never wanted to leave this beautiful hotel which felt like home. Staff were friendly, our room was quiet and serene .. loved that I could open the french doors to look out on hedges of hydrangeas - the sun filtering through in the late afternoon. Truly bliss. We arrived by public transport from Bilbao and without a car, quite happy to walk into Getaria each day - takes about 30 minutes .. along part of the Camino de Santiago and was the original Roman road. Great fish restaurants in Getaria and do not miss the Cristobal Balenciaga Museum. We also walked to Zumaia on another day. It truly was one of those wonderful moments when on holiday that everything was as we expected and more. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: We had a mountain view room which was more than adequate.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JaRMaC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rio de Janeiro, RJ
Level Contributor
246 reviews
72 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 171 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 14, 2013 via mobile

This charming small rural hotel is nestled in the countryside near the fishing town of Getaria. This is a tranquil setting with great views of the hills and the sea. We were welcomed by Diane who was great, she gave us wonderful tips for exploring the region and of some local restaurants. We specially liked her tip on the restaurant in Getaria called Iribar, excellent. The hotel is well decorated in the Provence style, nice overstuffed sofas create great reading/sitting areas. Our room, called Zarautz, was well furnished and very comfortable. Great spacious shower, large window with beautiful views and all the creature comforts you might need. The hotel works like a house, you have a key to the main gate so you can come and go as you please. The pool area is quite nice, unfortunately it was too cold for swimming. The gardens are very well kept with beautifully manicured lawns, worth a stroll, there is even a small golf course. Breakfast was excellent, very well prepared... I recommend the scrambled eggs. The service and staff was great at all times. The only drawback was the wifi, which was temperamental and barely worked while we were there. We highly recommend this hidden gem in the Getaria countryside.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Guilherme R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 8, 2013

We absolutely loved Iturregi - the sun finally came out as we approached the hotel and spent the whole time shining during our stay.

The welcome was friendly with a tour of the hotel and great restaurant suggestions. The girls were always smiling and helpful with bringing drinks / booking taxis etc. The wine and drinks are really well priced (not the usual fleecing you get from boutique hotels) and it is about a 10euro taxi to Getaria for dinner should you not want to drink and drive.

Our room (Zumaia) was stunning with a huge bathroom and bedroom. It is one of the cheaper ones so I can only imagine how huge the others are!

Pool area is great (although even with hot weather the water was freezing - I only saw one person brave enough to get in it!) we spent a few happy days by the pool, walking by the beach to work up an appetite and enjoying drinks befor dinner in the porch. If you want somewhere to chill out with lots of space but still explore the Basque countryside before the madness of San Sebastián (Getaria is a lovely town and Zarutz is an amazing beach walk) this is the place for you!

Oh and breakfast was beautiful, we never felt rushed so just enjoyed our coffees looking at the view and took our time.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rgardiner2707
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 29, 2013 via mobile

Nice place and good price. A very attention staff. Lucì is the best!
The breakfast is nice too.
A beautiful view from the ocean and good location. Close to places like Bilbao and San Sebastian.
You must stay to understand!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Luiza S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamburg, Germany
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 23, 2013

Hotels I ever stayed in. Worth the price. Very quiet location, spectacular view, calm and frendly personell. A "honesty bar" where they really do trust you and a sweet spot to be discovered in the garden.

Room Tip: Seaview is seaview.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Petrolux W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow, Russia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 3, 2013

First of all, I'd like to agree with all the good reviews about scenery and design of the hotel. Service is also quite good, staff is trying to do all their best.
Now it comes the question "how the real boutique hotel should look like?". What do you expect when choosing boutique hotel against a large wedding-cake or an international chain?
My expectations are more than simple comfort and convenience, I want to be positively surprised, I want to see and talk to the owner (at least his main representative), to get to know his interests and wisdom (expressed by the books, magazines, antique things from different parts of the world), I want to know the history of the place...
I believe that what distinguishes boutique hotels from standardized hotels is the connection that hotel guests experience with the owner/ members of the hotel staff.
I believe that boutique hotels shouldn't be boxed into standards or rules like "you are not allowed to eat your food outside, only in your room" (especially when there's no restaurant at the hotel, your child doesn't feel well to go out for a dinner, and your room doesn't have a balcony or at least a table and you have to eat on the bed like a pig).
So it's all about expectations...we, people, choosing boutique hotels expect creativity (e.g. if the hotel offers not a kind of continental or buffet breakfast, why not to offer a-la carte menu instead of making guests guess what could be served according to their tastes), warm atmosphere, authentic place with a personal stamp.
I travel quite often and for the last 3 years my family and I stayed at least at 8 smart hotels. They were different, meanwhile this experience helped me to define my "taste". My absolute favorites are Casa La Concha (Marbella, Spain) where I spent one perfect month with my family (there were everything: elegance, unique french asian fusion in design, by which the owner Marie-Helene expressed her knowledge, interests and vision of life; there were anticipation of my interests and needs of my family (e.g. an opportunity to use owner's kitchen, BBQ equipment, etc.), there were talks, advices, true warmth...and feeling that you are really at home instead of that you just help to do business and earn money for the owners...
Also Melenos Lindos (Rhodes, Greece) was perfect in spite of being a part of a chain (SLH): the owner Melenos met us every morning to wish us a good day, in a room we found letters with greetings and even explanation of why he offers to use special bath cosmetics, the rooms were furnitured with the things he gathered all around the world, a-la carte breakfasts were the best one could imagine...
Another very important from the mentioned above smart hotels favourites - people really love children in contrast to Iturregi or Sa Pedrissa (Mallorca, Spain) which just promote their child-friendliness, but meanwhile ask you not to leave children toys near the pool (Sa Pedrissa) or to stop your kids laughing in a voice (Iturregi), " 'cause other guests may not like this" (!)... and teddy-bears on the bed could hardly protect you from the feeling of extraneity at such places.

P.S. Dear Tripadvisor, your ranking criteria are not quite sufficient for assessing the whole impression from a stay in a boutique hotel. There should be a separate criteria in addition to location/service/room/VFM, it should be WOW-factor or joy-factor (a must for boutique hotels).

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank sonyapea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Getaria
0.5 mi away
Hotel San Prudentzio
Hotel San Prudentzio
#1 of 5 in Getaria
5.0 of 5 bubbles 178 reviews
1.1 mi away
Saiaz Getaria Hotel
Saiaz Getaria Hotel
#3 of 5 in Getaria
4.5 of 5 bubbles 283 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel Rural Gaintza
Hotel Rural Gaintza
#4 of 5 in Getaria
5.0 of 5 bubbles 122 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Casa Rural Jesuskoa
Casa Rural Jesuskoa
#1 of 4 in Zumaia
5.0 of 5 bubbles 358 reviews
11.6 mi away
Iriarte Jauregia Hotel
Iriarte Jauregia Hotel
#1 of 1 in Bidania
4.5 of 5 bubbles 377 reviews
13.3 mi away
Hotel Villa Soro
Hotel Villa Soro
#2 of 50 in San Sebastian - Donostia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 730 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Iturregi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Iturregi

Property: Hotel Iturregi
Address: | Barrio Azkizu, 20808 Getaria, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Basque Country > Province of Guipuzcoa > Getaria
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 5 Hotels in Getaria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Iturregi 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
iturregi is a small luxury hotel located in Getaria, a beautiful village from the Basque Country.Surrounded by Txakoli vineyards and with a spectacular view of the coast and Getaria's lighthouse; built over the ruins of an old farmhouse, Iturregi offers a space for peace and tranquility.Every detail has been carefully prepared with special interest, offering our clients spacious rooms,plenty of natural light and wonderful views.A very special place to rest, relax and enjoy the silence. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Iturregi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing