We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Enjoyable stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Iturregi

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel Iturregi
Ranked #5 of 5 Hotels in Getaria
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Enjoyable stay”
Reviewed June 17, 2013

We stayed here after our wedding in June 2013. We loved the setting in the Basque countryside surrounded by vineyards. It was very peaceful with lovely scenery. The room was spacious and clean with all the required amenities. The staff at the hotel were very helpful and friendly and gave some advice on restaurants in Getaria, directions and best places to park.
We hired a car and drove to San Sebastian and to Bilbao - both were within easy driving distance.
The breakfast was great - we had it in the breakfast room and also had it delivered to our room one morning. We ordered some room service and were impressed with the quality. The only issue at this hotel is that food can only be ordered in the evenings (after around 630pm) and there are no other shops in the immediate vicinity. We were hungry and tired on the afternoon we arrived and were looking forward to relaxing in our room with some food, but ended up waiting until 630pm to order.
Of course, you can find wonderful food in this region so are likely not to have a problem for the majority of your stay. Overall, I would definitely recommend a visit to this wonderful hotel.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ansi441
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

169 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    150
    17
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
16
132
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Jersey City, New Jersey
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed May 28, 2013

...but, it deserves a review.

Absolutely the best. I cannot stress enough how wonderful this place is. My husband and I stayed for three nights on our honeymoon last July and it was our favorite accommodation. We cannot wait to go back for our next special occasion.

We had looked to stay in San Sebastian, but weren't too impressed with the hotels there. We wanted something special and Iturregi was, by far, the best choice. It is definitely worth the trip to/from San Sebastian (or Bilbao).

Your first drive up to the hotel is a little off-putting (steep, unpaved roads), but once you arrive, you're in heaven. The hotel and the grounds are immaculate. Each room and the common spaces are beautifully designed. The staff is wonderful - extremely helpful with recommendations, reservations, etc. The breakfast is so fresh and delicious.

The towns of Getaria and Zarautz are also worth wandering through. Don't miss the local fresh grilled fish in the Getaria harbor.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lszimmer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sweden
Level Contributor
81 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed May 6, 2013

This is the place I have been looking for.

Excellent location for those who want to explore both san seb and bilbao.
Rooms are spacious and beds are super comfy.
Interior still looks new and this place is well taken care off.

The community areas are more the great, big sofas, large bar area, very nice patio,

Only seven, eight rooms and a quiet litlle secret.
Breakfast is very good for being Spain,
I wanna go again and again!!!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nicklas W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed April 4, 2013

All the superlatives lavished on this place by other reviews are by no means hyperbole.

I could not recommend this place enough as a perfect rural boutique hotel.

Set in stunning grounds, with magnificent views of the sea it is a chic oasis of calm from which to explore the Basque Country - only half an hour from San Sebastian and just over an hour from Bilbao.

While it looks very rustic from the outside, the inside is very stylishly decorated, as are the rooms.

With only 8 rooms, it really is a boutique hotel and you almost feel part of the family with the staff and other guests. Get a sea room if you can as the views truly are spectacular but the views from the back are also great, looking on to the bijoux pool and mountain.

Are the rooms, each with a distinct style, are extremely tastefully and stylishly furnished, with great bathrooms, comfortable beds, and beautiful furniture.

The breakfasts are just what you need - with fresh orange juice, fresh fruit salad that feels like it's just been made rather than been sitting in the fridge, delicious pastries, cereals, bread etc.

The staff are extremely friendly and helpful, doing their utmost to help with planning trips, restaurants etc.

There isn't a restaurant (some limited room service in the evenings) but with so many great restaurants nearby, not just in San Sebastian but even in nearby Getaria, which the staff will recommend and book for you, you really shouldn't be staying in anyway.

I just couldn't recommend this place more. With only 8 rooms, it deserves to be full all year round. Having been back only 2 days, I already miss it.

Room Tip: Get a sea view if you can, but the other views are still wonderful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tassthegreek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
214 reviews
76 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
Reviewed March 19, 2013 via mobile

There isn't much to add to previous reviews. This hotel is stunning. It is stylish, tranquil, spotlessly clean, welcoming... Just utterly wonderful. There is no restaurant, which means a drive or taxi ride to eat, but they recommended excellent restaurants to us. So what is there to criticise? All I can come up with is the glass toilet door in our room; not everything's for sharing. But that's it. A very, very special hotel.

Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank CCP1967
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
26 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed February 24, 2013

Iturregi was a bit of a treat during a two week holiday, after a few days in San Sebastian we escaped to the hills in our car (you need a car!), and what an escape it was.

A beautiful building, with stunning gardens....we arrived to a warm welcome and retired to relax in our beautiful room. The rooms a lovely, with huge bathrooms....you don't want to leave them. The pool area is stunning and the perfect place to squirrel yourself away and do some serious reading!!!

The staff are charming, helping to book dinners and on hand for anything you need, they recommended some quite off the beaten track places which was great fun, as we love exploring.

The surrounding area is lush and green, we decided to borrow bikes and cycle around, a word of caution, the hill on the way back is a nightmare in the heat!!! There isn't lots and lots to do in the immediate surrounding area - but exploring the local villages, and checking out the scenery is plenty - as this is the type of place where you want to spend all your time enjoying the hotel's ambience and location.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 365dayholiday
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
23 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed November 10, 2012

This hotel is really over the top. Hard to find but what a reward. Never stayed in a place we liked this much. Felt like a Duke living in a manor house. The staff was superb. Reserved for one night but stayed four nights because off season and available. Views breathtaking. It sits on a hill overlooking the sea. So quiet and peaceful. Only a few rooms so book early. Probably jammed in the summer. Appears that many of the quests drive down from San Sebastian or France. We were there late October. Although they don't have a regular restaurant they serve a wonderful breakfast at 9 AM, and they have an "honor bar" in the sitting room. They can also do cold cheese and meat trays for room service in the evening. It was fun to roam Getaria and watch fishing boats unload. We drove to Bilbao one day, saw the Guggenheim museum and were back in the evening. About two hours each way.

Room Tip: Room with a view. And get good directions from the hotel. Hard to find. Signage is poor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Evan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Getaria
0.5 mi away
Hotel San Prudentzio
Hotel San Prudentzio
#1 of 5 in Getaria
183 reviews
1.1 mi away
Saiaz Getaria Hotel
Saiaz Getaria Hotel
#3 of 5 in Getaria
290 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel Rural Gaintza
Hotel Rural Gaintza
#4 of 5 in Getaria
128 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Casa Rural Jesuskoa
Casa Rural Jesuskoa
#1 of 4 in Zumaia
370 reviews
11.6 mi away
Iriarte Jauregia Hotel
Iriarte Jauregia Hotel
#1 of 1 in Bidania
380 reviews
13.3 mi away
Hotel Villa Soro
Hotel Villa Soro
#2 of 50 in San Sebastian - Donostia
743 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Iturregi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Iturregi

Property: Hotel Iturregi
Address: | Barrio Azkizu, 20808 Getaria, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Basque Country > Province of Guipuzcoa > Getaria
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 5 Hotels in Getaria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Iturregi 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
iturregi is a small luxury hotel located in Getaria, a beautiful village from the Basque Country.Surrounded by Txakoli vineyards and with a spectacular view of the coast and Getaria's lighthouse; built over the ruins of an old farmhouse, Iturregi offers a space for peace and tranquility.Every detail has been carefully prepared with special interest, offering our clients spacious rooms,plenty of natural light and wonderful views.A very special place to rest, relax and enjoy the silence. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Iturregi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing