We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Best of trip” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Iturregi

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Iturregi
Ranked #5 of 5 Hotels in Getaria
Certificate of Excellence
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
22 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Best of trip”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2012

This hotel is really over the top. Hard to find but what a reward. Never stayed in a place we liked this much. Felt like a Duke living in a manor house. The staff was superb. Reserved for one night but stayed four nights because off season and available. Views breathtaking. It sits on a hill overlooking the sea. So quiet and peaceful. Only a few rooms so book early. Probably jammed in the summer. Appears that many of the quests drive down from San Sebastian or France. We were there late October. Although they don't have a regular restaurant they serve a wonderful breakfast at 9 AM, and they have an "honor bar" in the sitting room. They can also do cold cheese and meat trays for room service in the evening. It was fun to roam Getaria and watch fishing boats unload. We drove to Bilbao one day, saw the Guggenheim museum and were back in the evening. About two hours each way.

Room Tip: Room with a view. And get good directions from the hotel. Hard to find. Signage is poor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Evan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

149 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    130
    17
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
13
116
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012

Beautiful, luxurious, tasteful and a whole heap more adjectives don't even come close to describing this hotel. I'm not prone to hyperbole but this place is special. Warm, professional and personal service and lovely rooms. Make sure you get one with a sea view, it is so worth it. This is very much a boutique hotel in the truest sense, so don't expect hordes of staff etc. Do expect a tranquil environment that is a pleasure to be in, set amongst the rolling hills of the Basque country within easy striking distance of Getaria, San Sebastian and all the many highlights of the area.

(PS Go to the Balenciaga museum!)

Room Tip: Sea view, do it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank surfingonsinewaves
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
currumbin
Level Contributor
70 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2012

Just had 2 nights, was so peaceful and the views are amazing, we loved the place, breakfast was more than plentiful and they catered for my allergies which made a difference. The view from the room was breathtaking and the sunrise spectacular. Eating out for dinner no real problem though not many open on a Sunday night but the one we stumbled upon served the most amazing cheese ice cream, so good in fact that we had an extra serve! The grounds of the hotel are beautifully maintained, the pool area would be great in summer, we did jump in but it was cold, hard to resist though. We would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: One with sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank pixi46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Essex, England
Level Contributor
141 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2012

Smart building in spacious grounds with great views. Building is chalet style with a luxury finish, very smart but with an open, relaxed feel. It feels away from it all among the farms and vineyards but is only a few minutes drive from the town of Getaria, or about 30 minutes walk along the Pilgrims' Way (Camino de Santiago). Entrance on left along a single track lane is via electric gates operated by card or intercom. A limited room service menu is available for supper.

Getaria is a working town with a small fishing port and cannery. It is also a small beach resort and it's restaurants specialise in barbecued fish (" a la parilla"). The promenade between Getaria and the next town East, Zarautz, is very popular with walkers and runners of every kind.

Room Tip: Hotel website provides good descriptions of each room. We were delighted with "Jaizkibel"...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Heraldthewake
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
146 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2012

The Basque country is very special - almost alpine with its green pastures, mountains and chalet-style architecture. Getaria is a cute seaside village with a very pretty family beach, good restaurants and a very friendly buzz. And Hotel Iturregi is 5 mins drive away in the hills, with amazing views across vineyards and fields to the sea (and at night the fireworks in San Sebastian if you're here during semana grande).

It's only got 8 rooms so feels small and intimate, but with enough space downstairs to have your own space and peace and quiet - 2 terraces and plenty of spaced out sofas and tables inside. Rooms are very big and comfortable, with huge beds and all elegantly designed. The swimming pool is round the back where the old farmhouse used to be and again is well designed and extremely nice. For an 8 room hotel the breakfast is very good and generous, and for lunch the sandwiches are tasty. I also like anywhere with an honesty bar, another nice touch. There is a limited room service menu in the evenings also.

The whole hotel is peaceful, stylish, charming and friendly, so why only 4 out of 5? It's got so much right but a few little things wrong. Only having room service in your room in the evenings seemed very odd indeed - plenty of room on the terraces and less chance to make a mess (especially with young children), cost of babysitting (and lack of explanation of cost per child and travel costs, which we asked for repeatedly), no high chairs, awkwardness around certain requests, etc. there was flexibility in somethings but not others and that just seemed odd and out of place.

Don't get me wrong, it's lovely hotel and we will return.

Nick

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank NickiG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Connecticut
Level Contributor
66 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2012

This is a stunningly beautiful small hotel of 8 unique, special rooms. The hotel is elegant and peaceful with spectacular views of mountains, sea and land. The property is exquisitely maintained with beautiful gardens and infinity pool.
Beautiful breakfast room with a healthy, elegantly served breakfast.
The town of Getaria is charming with wonderful restaurants. We stayed with our 16 year old son and he loved it also. It is a peaceful place to return to after a day outdoors and sightseeing.
We will return here.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ldjsue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2012

This is a lovely hotel. It is intimate in size, very peaceful, very stylish and in a glorious location. The rooms are extremely nice, comfortably 5 star and with great bathrooms. As people have mentioned it doesn't serve dinner but you are within a short drive of some great restaurants. Its only 30 minute drive to San Sebastian which is a must really if you are here. Its definitely a couples place as it is quiet. I wouldn't recommend it for families or single groups. The view of the surreounding countryside and the coast and the vineyards are really phenomonal and for the price this a hotel that vastly over delivers versus more expensive international 5 star accomodation. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: The rooms at the front are away from the pump room for the pool, and also have a sea view. This come...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jdn2002
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Getaria
0.5 mi away
Hotel San Prudentzio
Hotel San Prudentzio
#1 of 5 in Getaria
4.5 of 5 stars 146 reviews
1.1 mi away
Saiaz Getaria Hotel
Saiaz Getaria Hotel
#3 of 5 in Getaria
4.5 of 5 stars 261 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel Rural Gaintza
Hotel Rural Gaintza
#4 of 5 in Getaria
5.0 of 5 stars 103 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Casa Rural Jesuskoa
Casa Rural Jesuskoa
#1 of 4 in Zumaia
5.0 of 5 stars 284 reviews
11.0 mi away
Mercure Monte Igueldo
Mercure Monte Igueldo
#17 of 50 in San Sebastian - Donostia
3.5 of 5 stars 1,043 reviews
12.5 mi away
Hotel Maria Cristina, a Luxury Collection Hotel, San Sebastian
Hotel Maria Cristina, a Luxury C...
#1 of 50 in San Sebastian - Donostia
4.5 of 5 stars 1,349 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Iturregi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Iturregi

Property: Hotel Iturregi
Address: | Barrio Azkizu, 20808 Getaria, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Basque Country > Province of Guipuzcoa > Getaria
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 5 Hotels in Getaria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Iturregi 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
iturregi is a small luxury hotel located in Getaria, a beautiful village from the Basque Country.Surrounded by Txakoli vineyards and with a spectacular view of the coast and Getaria's lighthouse; built over the ruins of an old farmhouse, Iturregi offers a space for peace and tranquility.Every detail has been carefully prepared with special interest, offering our clients spacious rooms,plenty of natural light and wonderful views.A very special place to rest, relax and enjoy the silence. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Iturregi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing