We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Simple, achingly fresh fish served with a view over the harbour”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of The Mayflower

The Mayflower
Ranked #5 of 26 Restaurants in Getaria
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Kids, Families with children, Scenic view
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
186 reviews
156 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
“Simple, achingly fresh fish served with a view over the harbour”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 26, 2012 via mobile

Very high quality fish dishes served with passion - very very inexpensive for the standard of food and size of portions

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Adam F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

708 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    256
    309
    81
    24
    38
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Essex, England
Level Contributor
153 reviews
73 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
“Authentic fish asador”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 20, 2012

Quality fresh fish cooked over an open barbecue grill. Service well organised and pleasant. Viiew over port and bay. We went first time as it was one of the few restaurants in Getaria open on a Sunday evening. We liked it so much we returned the next night and were not disappointed. It was very popular both nights.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Heraldthewake
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bruxelles
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“PERFECT”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 11, 2012

really good service, fast, serious, good food, fresh fish every day.. except monday... beautiful grill meat!

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank CSanvicente
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham
Level Contributor
33 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“food for all(well most) budgets”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 10, 2012

It is perched near the harbour overlooking the bay. You have to get there early or make a reservation for the outside restaurant tables but the tables for raciones are more easy to get in the evenings. We ate there twice once on the racione list and once in the restaurant. Both time the food was very good with a great range of fish choices. Service was friendly and attentive. It is a bit cheaper than some of the restaurants in the town but it was hard to see how you could cook turbot better than this.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank Phil B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helsinki, Finland
Level Contributor
44 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Dinner-solo”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 4, 2012

Red mullet was OK,cheese for dessert local and OK,I asked for a glass of port- english-speaking waiter (son of the owner)-in a great hurry to get the table free for waiting customers-- didn´t know what it was,so I got sherry Tio Pepe,even Manzanilla woud have been OK. The place is full after 20.30 pm,so they were in a hurry to get me away:I took one table for myself,there was a place for four. I stayed in Getaria 10 days,so I never went back this place.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank KnowSnow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Mayflower also viewed

Getaria, Province of Guipuzcoa
Getaria, Province of Guipuzcoa
 
Getaria, Province of Guipuzcoa
Getaria, Province of Guipuzcoa
 
Getaria, Province of Guipuzcoa
Getaria, Province of Guipuzcoa
 

Been to The Mayflower? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing