We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unforgettable!!”
Review of Restaurante Elkano

Restaurante Elkano
Ranked #1 of 27 Restaurants in Getaria
Certificate of Excellence
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Kuala Lumpur
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Unforgettable!!”
Reviewed April 23, 2013

They are really good and passion with what they serve. The best char-grilled rodaballo and kokotxa that we ever had, pair well with the local txakoli too. Decent price for quality food, a place that you will definitely come back again and again.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank shirleychinita
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

793 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    582
    145
    46
    12
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Great seafood restaurant”
Reviewed April 4, 2013

Great food and service. The owner takes care to take you through the different fish options and everything is as fresh as a daisy.
Definitely try the red mullet, the fish soup, the crab, the scorpion fish. All cooked on their huge outdoor grill out the front.

Only disappointment was that when we went back to try the hake they were closed.

Something to go back for.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank tassthegreek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zumaia, Spain
Level Contributor
37 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Amazing place for fish and seafood”
Reviewed March 18, 2013

This place serves traditional seafood and fish dishes with a great, but relaxed service and for moderate prices. Especially the wine selection was decently priced compared to most places in spite of the upmarket niche of the place. We had lobster and the most traditional dish, which is grilled rodaballo (turbot). Both were fantastic. I can warmly recommend the place.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ambulanzen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
50 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“Best seafood in 45 years”
Reviewed January 19, 2013

There is nothing but praise for Elkano. For years, my wife and I have made a pilgrimage to Getaria to enjoy the wonderfully bbq cooked Sea bream which is so unique to that part of the Basque Country. We always ate at one of the fine establishments overlooking the picturesque harbor and thoroughly enjoyed the atmosphere whilst sipping local txakoli. This year we decided to change venue and went for Elkano as a result of some great reviews I had read.. So, after an intercontinental flight and a short hop to Bilbao, we jumped in the rental car and drove straight away towards Getaria... And patiently waited for the opening of Elkano. And what a reward it was!!! Not only did the owner took great care of us by suggesting wonderful dishes, but also he took the time to explain the way they were prepared. The outcome: the best kokotxas ever and the best sole I've ever tasted in my entire life. And the fish soup..... Sublime. We didn't order a bottle of wine but opted for some glasses of lovely Albariño for which we were charged 1.50 euro per glass, a price far lower than what you pay at the most average pub in Spain!!!
I can only say that Elkano is the place to beat for the most wonderful sea food. We shall return!!!

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Rafaelstravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“The best fish you will ever try!!!”
Reviewed November 5, 2012

Aitor is the maximum exponent of the grilled fish. If you want to have the best go to el kano. Unique at this level

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Fcollell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Restaurante Elkano also viewed

Getaria, Province of Guipuzcoa
Getaria, Province of Guipuzcoa
 
Getaria, Province of Guipuzcoa
Getaria, Province of Guipuzcoa
 
Getaria, Province of Guipuzcoa
Zarautz, Province of Guipuzcoa
 

Been to Restaurante Elkano? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing