We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotel Itxas Gain Getaria
Nearby Hotels
Hotel Rural Gaintza(Getaria)(Great Value!)
$121
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Iturregi(Getaria)
$234
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Saiaz Getaria Hotel(Getaria)(Great Value!)
$122
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Bar/Lounge
Hotel Norte(Zarautz)
$55
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$50
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Landarte(Zumaia)(Great Value!)
$81
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Zarauz(Zarautz)
$67
$53
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Hotel San Prudentzio(Getaria)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Beachfront
Reviews (311)
Filter reviews
311 results
Traveler rating
196
99
14
1
1
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
196
99
14
1
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsone starstar hotellovely hotelfresh orange juiceold towncamino walkroad noisefantastic terracebreakfast terracefree parkingterrace overlooking the seasurf beachbars and restaurantsglass of winecamino del nortebeautiful townnext morning
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
54 - 59 of 311 reviews
Reviewed August 1, 2014

Whereas in the old part of Guetaria (great city), the hotel is super uncomfortable to access. Good luck with your luggage and parking the car in the summer. Avoid rooms facing Ouest (the ocean) in case of bad weather, you will have to be locked in. There are much better options

Room Tip: Avoid facing west if you will have bad weather (50% of time)
  • Stayed: August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PURCHASING E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 28, 2014

Just back from a European tour and started with 4 nights here in June. Lovely family who run the hotel and bend over backwards to help.
Our highlight was the fantastic view from the breakfast area, over a bay, almost perched on a cliff edge. The home made cake at breakfast was really tasty, first time ever I've had cake at breakfast!

Room Tip: We didn't but should have taken the balcony room overlooking the bay.
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank rustyman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 17, 2014

Fantastic two day stay here, our room had a balcony with a view down the little street. The family who run this hotel are very friendly and helpful, breakfast was served on the terrace overlooking the sea,fabulous, fresh orange juice, lovely ham and cheese, homemade tortilla and cake to follow. would definitely stay here again. We managed to park nearby but can imagine parking in the hight of the season would be tricky.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank 434Teresa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 8, 2014

Stayed 2 nights in this family run hotel. Warm welcome and lovely room with balcony. Fantastic views from the breakfast terrace. Great location in this pretty fishing village. Will come again next year.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank She155
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 10, 2014

In May, 2014 we stayed 3 nights at the Itxas Gain hotel in Getaria. WHAT a find and we wished we could have stayed longer. Its located in the heart of old town Getaria and is run by the Silvetti family who give wonderful service including an excellent breakfast, and often home-made breakfast cake will be served. Yum!
The owners speak only Spanish, but their son Javier is on site and he speaks good English and he gives great tips on the town and of local sights in the surrounding area..
We had a lovely decorated non-smoking room with a very large balcony that gave a superb view of the ocean below....a perfect spot for sunset relaxation enjoying the local white wine produced there in Getaria.
The town itself is delightful and has historic sites and many cafes/restaurants serving good food and tapas. On our 1st evening in town we were delighted to see BBQ's set up right at the entrance of many eateries. They grill right on the spot whatever you order of the fresh caught fish of the day, or grill up chicken, lamb, or pork. Whatever you chose, the aroma and flavor was super! Besides these small cafes, we can recommend dinner at the Mayflower Hotel and the Bogo-Bogo restaurant in town. They both serve very good food. And at the Mayflower, they make a wicked Irish Coffee!

There is an incredible find right in town even IF you aren't a big fan of the haute couture world of fashion and design. Cristobel Balenciaga was born in Getaria and became a world renowned designer who many considered better than presentations put out by the House of Dior, Chanel, and other houses of fashion.
The town has built a magnificent museum in his honor where you see displayed (behind glass) the actual dresses from many of his collections he presented to the fashion world. My husband is not into fashion but surprising to me, he actually enjoyed the hour or so it took taking it all in.
To get to the museum, you take an escalator ( right near the hotel) that takes you right up the hill to the Museum's entrance. The entrance fee was nominal and its really and truly worth the visit
.
If we ever get back to this northern part of Spain again we certainly will revisit this town and stay at this hotel once again. Its terrific place and location!
Penrose, Colorado


.

Room Tip: Balcony rooms are so worth the extra money. You overlook the ocean and at night can hear the ocean..... and the room is larger and we never heard other guests....so we loved the quiet of the hotel. oh...they do have an elevator to take you upstairs.
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Alice R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews